Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blind Guardian's best album...., 15 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
Well..BGs have done it again and this time in more style and diversity. The 'Imaginations..' album is truley a standout when it comes to excellent albums but 'Nightful..' is beyond..way beyond. Brilliant riffs, mind-blowing solos, magnificent lyrics and super production, this album has it complete in all matters. The sound is crystal clear and Hansi's voice is as haunting as ever and sounds more mature and confident with each BG album. The drumming is perfect and as hard as it can ever get. The 2 guitarists exchange riffs in superb manner and solos in stunning precision, which became a BG trademark over the years. This is a classic album if I may call it so and a classic it is by one of the best metal bands outthere. Standout tracks in this album are 'Nightfall' , 'Mirror Mirror' & 'Time stands still'. Actually I feel a bit guilty mentoning only 3 songs cause all the songs are great. If I may also recomend another album by BG I'd go for 'Imaginations..' & 'Somewhere far beyond'. Blind Guardian need not be reviewed really so if you want to capture the intensity & power of BG then get any of their albums cause none will fail to deliver. You'll know what I mean when you listen to this album. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ranks no.1 out of all my albums....and boy do I have a few!, 9 Aug. 2001
By 
plebon@hotmail.com (Leicester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This album is simple unbelievable!! I am a power and epic metal fan, however, I do believe if you listen to any other genre, you can still appreciate the beauty of this album. Hansi Kursch's vocals are amazing....he is telling the tale of The Simarillion, a J.R.R Tolkien book, what a great concept!! Sometimes he (Kursch) takes the role of different characters, hence the change in vocals- What a range!!! I would also recommend...Imaginations from the other side, and Iced Earth's Horror Show!!!
Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece!, 2 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This album is about J. R. R Tolkien's book "The Silmarillion". It is not as fast and hard as the previous albums but it is still fast enough. There are many dialogue tracks between the songs. This is very helpful if you don't know the story. There are enchanting melodies, quick drum beats, great vocals (Hansi with his own style has a powerful voice), nice guitar riffs. To be honest with you i was not expecting such a great album after Imaginations. The first time i listened the album a big "Whoa!!" came out of my mouth. Nice work guys. I look forward to buying your next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning, 24 Dec. 2002
Oh my, where to start with an album this great. Hansi Kursch vocal range is amazing throughought the whole album, along with the guitars and drumming also being excpetional.
This album is based off Tolkein's "The Silmarillion," this is being a *concept album* (back to the 70's/80's we go), but not quite. With an up-to-date sound, Nightfall In Middle-Earth is hard to faulter.
The only problem I can see is that they hire a bassist when they record albums, and don't have a permenant one. This may not seem like much of a problem, and it really isn't, but it does show through on a couple of songs.
I don't think this band/album can be generalised easily, but, it seems to be epic/power/fantasy metal, if there is such a thing. Although power doesn't quite belong, because the lyrics are more fantasy based.
If you've heard this band before and don't own this album, every proper song that's on it is a masterpiece in its own right. I say "proper" song because every other track or so there's an interlude which tells the story of The Silmarillion, and helps you somewhat to know what is going on. (Although, it's obviously easier if you've read the book.) You shouldn't be disappointed if you've heard any Blind Guardian before.
If you haven't heard Blind Guardian before this would be a good starting spot. I started with Imaginations From The Other Side by hearing it at a friends' house, and this was the first Blind Guardian album I bought, and I wasn't disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blind Guardian succeed again with their winning formula!, 18 Mar. 2000
By 
Mr. Paul Hoffmann "Shathal" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After the comparably darker "Imaginations from the other side", this album is somewhat lighter in its general feel. It's a theme-album, and has been somewhat overdue, as old Blind Guardian fans know. Going through the first parts of Tolkien's "Silmarillion", this fantastic epic metal album is the most orchestral and musically complicated to date. It all adds up to a ride that is enjoyable time after time. Give the album the credit it's due - listen to it when you have time, and can enjoy the effort that these german lads have put into it. In my oppinion, it's a classic. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant timeless power!, 25 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
It didn't take me long to get into this inspired album, and I play it endlessly and still haven't got bored with it. It's a great mix of powerful guitar and drums, fast riffs and choral vocals. The songs are alternated with eerie spoken interludes, but luckily they're short enough not to be too annoying after the umpteenth time. I like the variety in the songs, and the choruses are fantastic though I do end up singing them all day... It's all very melodic so I recommend it if you like power/speed (Helloween, Iced Earth) but not if you're a Misery Loves Co. fan!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best power metal album ever - no contemporaries!, 9 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Nightfall In Middle Earth (Remastered) (Audio CD)
There are no shortage of power metal bands today in this over saturated part of the metal market, and a handful of bands which lead this large pack, Blind guardian are one of those bands-along with Helloween, Gamma ray, Rhapsody and hammerfall. Each possessing very commanding and impressive catalogues perfectly justifies why they have been so successful. Blind guardian's- Nighfall on middle earth is the singular and most important album since sliced bread in fact. And being my first introduction to Blind guardian it was the perfect way to be overwhelmed by it's sheer musical heaven, and unlike many power metal albums where repeated listens are required before the beauty can be finally witnessed, the impact here was strong and apparent straight away - you know from the first note that this is gonna be good.

And even more amazing is that 'Nighfall' is actually a concept album, something of an extreme rarity to my knowledge, something i thought was frequent in the similar but never-the-less detachable "Progressive metal genre." Still, quite a unique an ambitious undertaking the core of 'Nighfall' is a musical interpretation of "Tolkiens" classic book storytelling "the simarillion." Conducted with expert precision the story is told from both first and third person perspectives, never getting self indulgent or too in depth. Having said that in order for the story to be told effectively the band have chosen to include 11 short interludes out of the 22 track strong listing in 'Nightfall' to give the album this concept feel, of which all are less than a minute are necessary to perfectly add the atmosphere and brilliance to the other 11 full length songs, whilst containing little more than the sounds of battle, eerie winds and ancient folk talk do the album an immeasurable amount of credit and a very good decision on their part.

The other 11 songs on "Nightfall" remain, of which all of them are amazing. The musicianship is of the very very best available, all are extremely melodic, complex and very very technical at the same time. Especially "Into the storm, Nightfall and the curse of feanor" which probably just have the edge over the rest. Shining with absolute brilliance, special care has been evidently given to the album in the production department, even before the remaster series, i have the original 1998 edition! and are of the highest standard by the 90's level. Vocally, what can be said... Fantastic in every sense of the word "Hansi Kursch" was always a unique and gifted vocallist before this album - a voice ranging from the what... almost like shouty singing to soft soft in-tune whispers, complete with well executed back up vocals, here the guy is on legendary form, reaching heights where no vocalist has gone before.

The rarest of rare in elite music, this album has no flaws and detractors in my detailed observations. An unbelievable but quite literally very true statement, every song is bursting with ideas, interesting and performed to the best ability in metal. I can tell you i have around 1600 CD's in my collection, of which a good deal are metal and this one is the very best one i own. It's an absolute pleasure to write this review and one i have been meaning to write for a long time, it will be no surprise to you that i'm recommending this album on the very highest of merits. I guarantee you will have not heard anything like it before and probably after you acquire it, absolutely sublime and i am confident when you hear this album you will understand why i'v given it the glaring review i think it rightfully deserves.

20/10 BUY NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blind Guardian - Nightfall In Middle-Earth, 7 Oct. 2009
By 
Michael (Hastings, England.) - See all my reviews
Having just finished listening to this yet again, I thought it'd be a good idea to write a review for it, it's such a great album, it seemed rude not to. Every time I go to listen to Blind Guardian I always choose this album to listen to and it's no wonder. A great story (The Silmarillion), even if you haven't read the book or know anything of it, the songs here tell the story nicely and misses out all of the boring bits, backed up by fantastic music (obviously).
Hansi's vocals are as rich as ever and show off his excellent vocal talent. Lots of catchy choruses with the guitars weaving in and out and around, the drums and the bass holding everything tightly together.
Choirs, backing vocals, raw emotion, these songs have it all! There may be twenty-two tracks but there's really eleven songs, the other eleven are short narrative passages to keep the story flowing. Clocking in at one hour and five minutes, I'd say that's one hour and five minutes of your life very well spent! It doesn't ever get dull or boring after reapeated listens like other albums do. A great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 Dec. 2005
This album is great, every song is incredible. The curse of feanor is amazing and the one i would recommend for a sample, that or mirror mirror. I am writing this review on the assumption that if you have come this far, you could not possibly be stupid enough not to buy this album. It is absolutely mint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Like Power Metal, Don't Like Tolkein... LOVE This Album!, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightfall In Middle Earth (Remastered) (Audio CD)
This is just unbelievably good, and frustratingly I can't quite put my finger on what makes it so. I've tried other power metal, I've tried other Blind Guardian, but nothing lives up to this masterpiece.

It's very unusual. The guitars are quite low in the mix, often out of focus. Placed front and centre are the huge, explosive choruses and frankly ridiculous vocal harmonies. I think what makes it so good is, while this album is epic and ambitious in scale, it retains a gritty, earthy toughness that elevates it beyond the often cheesy and wimpy sounds of their contemporaries. This is no harp-wielding bard music, prancing about a king's court, this is tankard-slamming tavern music, sung by soldiers. Check out the swaying chorus of "Nightfall" or the bellowing chants of the stunning "Time Stands Still at the Iron Hill" to find out what I mean.

Almost every single chorus on here makes me want to drink ale out of a huge metal tankard with one hand while groping a busty tavern-wench with the other. "Mirror Mirror" isn't great, but beyond that and the ones I've covered we have "War of Wrath", "Blood Tears", "Noldor", "Thorn" and "When Sorrow Sang" to name but a few. All of them make me want to stand tall with my hands on my hips and lead a group of warriors in bawdy singalongs.

And really, I can't recommend it more highly than that, can I?

PS. If anyone knows of an album that might be up my street in the same way this one is, I am all ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nightfall In Middle Earth (Remastered)
Nightfall In Middle Earth (Remastered) by Blind Guardian (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews