Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every CD collection should have a copy!!!
I bought this CD in June of this year as we tend to have quite a few parties round our house. After everyone laughing at me buying it, it has now ended up as THE most requested CD in the house! It contains all the favourites such as Gertcha!, Ain't No Pleasing You, Margate, and Stars Over 45 (which includes Any Old Iron!). We even had "In Sickness & In...
Published on 13 Nov 2001

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Utter cockney madness
What can you say about Chas and Dave?
I defy anyone to put this CD on and keep a straight face and a leg that will sit still as you tap away to the stream of quality knees up material on this compilation.
Of course it's cheesy, underproduced and perhaps in the case of one or two songs, downright silly, but all in all it's brilliant fun.
As Chas and Dave...
Published on 20 May 2003 by Mr. M. L. Hawes


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every CD collection should have a copy!!!, 13 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Chas & Dave (Audio CD)
I bought this CD in June of this year as we tend to have quite a few parties round our house. After everyone laughing at me buying it, it has now ended up as THE most requested CD in the house! It contains all the favourites such as Gertcha!, Ain't No Pleasing You, Margate, and Stars Over 45 (which includes Any Old Iron!). We even had "In Sickness & In Health" played at my wedding reception in August. Will really bring back the memories of the old East End Knees up so if you are having a Xmas party then make sure you buy it - ITS A CLASSIC!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars chas and dave c.d., 8 Sep 2012
By 
A. Grundy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Chas & Dave (Audio CD)
i had only heard the odd track by chas and dave, but they always seemed upbeat and cheerful. the c.d. lives up to my expectations. a hearty laughalong series of songs,with the odd more serious ones for contrast.i enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 April 2012
By 
Joe Joe "Ego Joe" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Chas & Dave (Audio CD)
Just saw Chas and No Dave in concert, so bought this as a memory - it has all the classics on there so is a must for those who want the trip down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real classic!, 2 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Best of Chas & Dave (Audio CD)
From the minute you put this CD on, you'll know why many people are hailing it the greatest of all time. "Margate" is a classic song as it lifts you up higher than the sun. Then "Snooker Loopy" brings you back down to Earth again with a thump. Then, the masterpiece, "Rabbit" will literally send chivers up and down your spine. The song is that good. Other favourites include: Gertcha!, Any old Iron and In Sickness & In Health, pure quality!
As is the rest of the album. Never have so many emotions been jampacked into 1 CD. Simply stunning.
"Doun to Margate, you can stick ya costa brova..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All The Best - Altogether, 24 Jun 2001
This review is from: The Best of Chas & Dave (Audio CD)
Great collection of Chas 'n' Dave - especially "Snooker Loopy"! All the old faves are here too - Rabbit, Margate, Ain`t No Pleasing You.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great But Could Be Better, 9 Sep 2004
This review is from: The Best of Chas & Dave (Audio CD)
This is a great compilation but what really lets it down for me is the sound quality on the sideboard song which sounds very harsh, all the other tracks sound great. The other reason I didnt give 5 stars is because two great tracks have been left off, Thats What I Like and Strummin, Gutted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More rabbit than Sainsburys..., 28 July 2004
This review is from: The Best of Chas & Dave (Audio CD)
Charles and David's knee tapping best all rolled into one album....quite superb. Clearly many of these songs are lyrical masterpieces using the language of the common cokney sparra' to make some insightful comments on today's society.
In Sickness and in Health "My dinner's always cold when I come home from up the pub...", Rabbit "You've got beautiful eyes, you've got beautiful thighs..." and Snooker Loopy "Old Willy Thorne, his hair's all gone and his mate's all take the rise...".
What great modern-day wordsmith's these two are. Irony, symbolism, inuendo and rhyme...they have it all and will surely go down as East End legends.
Marvellous...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Utter cockney madness, 20 May 2003
By 
Mr. M. L. Hawes "Mitchmusic" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Chas & Dave (Audio CD)
What can you say about Chas and Dave?
I defy anyone to put this CD on and keep a straight face and a leg that will sit still as you tap away to the stream of quality knees up material on this compilation.
Of course it's cheesy, underproduced and perhaps in the case of one or two songs, downright silly, but all in all it's brilliant fun.
As Chas and Dave would say, Gertcha! Gertchaself a copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Chas 'N' Dave (MP3 Download)
too much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Chas 'N' Dave (MP3 Download)
great buy this is a great album, great music a must buy for everyone, l would recommend that you buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Chas 'N' Dave
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews