Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2010
An excellent (and cheap!) option to start exploring the bluegrass style, with three CD's comprising 60 original recordings by pioneers like The Stanley Brothers, Flatt & Scruggs or Bill Monroe.

Don't expect exhaustive liner notes and recording details, but the sound and tracklists are excellent. If you hate the sound of banjos, avoid it. If you dig vintage American music, this is for you.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
Bluegrass is my music. I have 700 to 800 bluegrass CDs in my library so why did I buy this when I have all of the tracks already? Two reasons. One; it gathers together in one collection many, many bluegrass standards and favourites so I am not having to search lots of albums for them. Two: the ridiculously low price.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
This is a good selection of bluegrass and excellent value for money if it is your first CD. Many of the songs are on other CDs, however, and if you already had e.g. "Essential Bluegrass" you would find a lot of duplication. The quality is good and as a stand-alone you could not fault it at the price.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
This is a fine collection of Bluegrass music superbly played by the Masters.

Who could want more?

Mel.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
True old time Bluegrass-----,toe tapping specials, featuring the original artists, amazing value for money, some great instrumental numbers included,along with some old favourites, you won't get robbed with this deal---- Yee Ha
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
Arrived in quick time great nice music players well good. Ended up buying a few more as enjoyed this one
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
It's a totally essential purchase if you like bluegrass music. excellent value for money 3 CD,s with a mixture of instrumental pieces along with the vocals. if you enjoy vintage American music then this is the one for you, I can't say much more, I love this CD
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Very good value, brilliant collection full of familiar bluegrass classics. Very nice instrumental tracks too, some I haven't heard before. CD1 has incorrect track listing, but that doesn't bother me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
Another of my favourite genres of C & W music. I have one or two tracks on other albums but this selection is really good. If you need an introduction to Bluegrass, then this is the CD for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
This is Flatt & Scruggs! What more do you need as a recomendation? The greatest bluegrass band of the 50s and 60s incorporating the greatest Banjo player!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)