Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 8 August 2004
I love Brian Eno and Harold Budd's music. The drifting effect of ambient music is soothing yet interesting to the ear and it really does create an atmosphere in the space in which you are playing it.
The Pearl is mostly treated piano and has that distant, other-worldly sound of ambient music that tends to make one pensive. The first cut, Late October, has that sweet sadness of autumn sensibility and is my favorite on the album.
Many people compare "The Pearl" to "Ambient 2: The Plateaux of Mirrors"-- the second of the four Ambient series that starts with the famous "Music for Airports." I think this is similar, but perhaps a touch more structured, though that could be a very subjective opinion. I think this is possibly one of his best albums, one I reach for as a kind of musical tranquilizer or just when I want to strike a mood and play something thoughtful. Highly recommended.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2000
It really doesn't matter whether you are 18 or 80, this CD is a must for everyone. We all treasure our quiet moments, whether relaxing in the bath (complete with candles!), enjoying a daydream or two, or the fading moments of consciousness before drifting into sleep. This CD is the "Holy Grail" for those people who have been searching for years through the "new age" section, striving for the perfect accompaniment to their favourite relaxation activities. Each and every track is an ethereal gem. Put the CD in, press play, and sweet, sweet dreams!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2005
i havealways had a thing for instrumental music especially ambient music. over 3 decades brian eno has produced countless examples of how to produce ambient music, in collaboration with harold budd have produced a stunning album more melodic ambient than background ambient music this even surpasses music for airports which had me spellbound as a young teenager listening to a scratched vinyl album, whilst the melodies on this album are very simple it takes great skill and creativity to produce worthy ambient music many have tried and failed but once again eno with harold budd have produced a classic
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2000
This is a *great* CD for relaxation! I have listened to other ambient/new age CDs and they sound artificial and unnatural. Not so this wonderful album. The production is texturally rich and alive and ambient. Listening to The Pearl while doing any activity greatly enhances the experience and creates a calm sense of well-being...
I wish I could find another album like it.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 November 2003
'The Pearl' is a record I come back to time and again. It's depth and beauty is unlike anything else I have come across in the genre. Though there are some very wonderful Harold Budd records after this was released, he has only just come close to this level of perfection on his recent work with John Foxx, 20 years on after 'The Pearl' was first released. Builds naturally on the 'Plateaux of Mirror' but is a better record by far.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Great album for just chilling out to, my massage therapist uses it to time their treatments.
Do not listen to it and drive..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
I like the relaxing music on this CD. I would heartily recomend it to any insomniac. Eno is great at this sort of stuff although he says he is not a musician- sometimes a bit moe tunefullness would not go amiss.
It is certainly etherial in style , so if this is what you are looking for Yes go for it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2007
Ambient doesn't get any better than this, though it's so fine, its creators might not like being labeled "ambient." In any case, it's a beautifully crafted jewel. You can listen ten or ten thousand times and find something new and beautiful and wonderful to slip away into each time. A beautiful mood piece. Very, very far removed from any of the icky sticky new age stuff you hear at trendy shops and spas. Do not categorize with that stuff. This one is genuinely an artistic triumph. Buy now,and buy extra copies for your cool friends, too.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Very beautiful and haunting acoustic piano....less is more. Very contemplative music, just what you need if the taxman is after you or you have money worries.
Worked for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
some tracks were quite individual but then a few seemed similar to what was already played.i still liked it though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.