Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant interpretation of the novel's music
Keith Hopwood and Phil Bush have created for the video (also incredibly well done) a remarkably wonderful soundtrack that manages to encompass almost the entirety of Rock music's history with songs that sound exactly right for the period they're parodying, without the songs sounding like parody. A fantastic piece of work that, even if you're not familiar with Terry...
Published on 28 April 2001

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ...
totally not what i was expecting, sitting waiting for the story to unfold, out comes a load of music....teach me to read things properly i guess, plus the jewel case was damaged
Published on 17 Jan. 2011 by Mrs. D. Darby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant interpretation of the novel's music, 28 April 2001
By A Customer
Keith Hopwood and Phil Bush have created for the video (also incredibly well done) a remarkably wonderful soundtrack that manages to encompass almost the entirety of Rock music's history with songs that sound exactly right for the period they're parodying, without the songs sounding like parody. A fantastic piece of work that, even if you're not familiar with Terry Pratchett's works (and shame on you if you're not), will have you tapping your feet, humming the tunes, and just plain rocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning soundtrack, 28 Nov. 2008
By 
David Woodall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Of the two Discworld animations, Soul Music was in most respects the inferior one - except the soundtrack, which was absolutely stunning, and we can only be thankful that it was released on CD. Even divorced from the story, the songs are terrific pastiches of the greats - Elvis, the Beatles and - of course - Buddy Holly; better still, they are not just inferior 'copies', but stand on their own as first class songs. They are interspersed with a selection of the incidental music, some with fragments of dialogue, and including a wonderful extended version of the terrific main titles theme, and there's also a delightful rendition (in full) of that Discworld folk classic, Gathering Rhubarb.

All in all, plenty to delight the Discworld fan, and even a fan of rock music who hasn't read the books should find something to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music with rocks in, 10 Feb. 2011
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
`Soul Music' is one of my favourite Discworld books and the animated adaptation is my favourite Discworld adaptation. This album contains the music from the series including the ten songs that the main characters sing as well as a number of leitmotif pieces for various characters (such as Chrysophase, Death and Clete) and some excerpts from the series itself. All of the music on the disc suits the series perfectly and the main songs are all very good. My favourite tracks on the album have the be the final two, `Sioni Bod Da' and `The Messenger', these songs are truly brilliant and I have listened to them more than any other track on the album. This album is a must have for anyone who like the animated adaptation of `Soul Music'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 13 April 2011
This review is from: Soul Music (MP3 Download)
The songs in Soul Music stand out un the TV show and make wonderful stand alone's on the CD. The Messenger, for me is by far the best, but all the songs are amazing and catchy. Well worth the money! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music in the style of....with style, 21 Feb. 2003
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have seen "Soul Music" on video or DVD you will know just how clever the musical pastiches are, recapturing different eras of pop music as "The Band With Rocks In" develops from Rock'n'Roll to post-psychodelia...
Buddy's harp "masterwork" Sioni Bod Da is a sweet and affecting piece, but all the tracks on this disc bear repeated listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected gem, 11 Jan. 2014
By 
Andrew Thomas "Doctor Spinola" (Maentwrog, Gwynedd) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Music (MP3 Download)
Came across this while browsing through Terry Pratchett books on Amazon. Played a couple of snippets and decided it was worth downloading. Haven't stopped playing it since - a fantastic chronology of the development of rock music, brilliantly played and produced. The Jimi Hendrix pastiche is utterly fantastic, as are the Jethro Tull and Moody Blues-alike tracks.

As soundtracks to films about fictional bands go, this is right up there with Still Crazy, which is some accolade. Try it - you won't be disappointed. You'll also be amazed to discover that the man behind it - Keith Hopgood - was the rhythm guitarist in Herman's Hermits...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discworld music, 16 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. K. Walters (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soul Music (MP3 Download)
I remember most of this from 2 of the early Pratchett Discworld animated films. Great stuff with or without the films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the book!, 24 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
As a die-hard Discworld fan, I can think of few things to match the books in quality, but this comes close! It features kick-butt rock, an amusing Discworld folk song, and what is probably the most beautiful harp piece I have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You should hear this...., 19 July 2012
Keith Hopwood and Phil Bush have created a great album to compliment the Animated video of SoulMusic from Terry Pratchett's book. Such a diverse range of musical genre is parodied in this well crafted and creative album - definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ..., 17 Jan. 2011
By 
Mrs. D. Darby "Debs" (Malvern, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
totally not what i was expecting, sitting waiting for the story to unfold, out comes a load of music....teach me to read things properly i guess, plus the jewel case was damaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soul Music
Soul Music by Keith Hopwood & Phil Bush
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews