Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
366
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£3.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 11 November 2010
This is a marvelous piece of it that is very simple to set up. However people with a new type of EPG (remote control) should note that the instructions are incorrect for setting up the SKY+ box. The instructions are-
1. on your SKY remote press SERVICES
2. Press number 4 - this is wrong for the new EPG it should be 0 (ie zero)
3. Press 0,1 then press SELECT (don't forget to press SELECT!).
4. Press 4 or scroll along to RF OUTLETS
5. Scroll down to RF OUTLET POWER SUPPLY
6 USing the left or right arrow select ON
7. Save new settings.
8. Press the blue SKY button to come out of services.

As well as this piece of equipment you also need a coax cable linking your sky box to your tv in a seperate room. The coax cable in the seperate room simply plugs into this piece of kit which, in turn plugs into the aerial socket on your tv. Once the above set up has been completed you can then control the sky box from the other room. On sky+ you can even watch all the programmes you recorded earlier. Brilliant.

There are places you can buy the coax cable and the remote link together for about £16.
66 comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2011
Very pleased with this Antiference make of magic eye - have had before and far superior to other makes.

However.... Please take care when ordering - this is actually the model with an 'F' type screw connector on the end of the magic eye - not the normal co-axal connection. This means you cant use the normal lead from your TV arial you will have to buy a special co-axal to F type lead. This is not stated in the description. A special lead is about another £5 - so if you have a co-axal cable connection from your areial (which 99.9999999% at least of us do) this is NOT for you.
55 comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
Didnt fancy paying for sky multi room when we moved into our new house so got 1 of these.

This is how i set it up.

Hdmi from sky box goes into a hdmi splitter. 1 end then goes to living room tv and other goes upstairs to bedroom tv.

If you have the new wifi sky box you will need to buy an i/o adapter as they no longer have rf out sockets on the back. £25 from sky accessories store. (Rip off).

The coaxial cable plugs into the i/o adapter and then into the sky box. The other end then goes upstairs, into the magic eye and then into the bedroom tv.

Make sure you turn the power to the rf port on in the hidden sky settings. You can now control your sky box from upstairs. Saves you forking out for multi room if your not fussed about not being able to watch 2 different programs at the same time.

The magic eye has worked flawlessly for the last 6 months. The infra red receiver has a bit sticky tape on it so you can position it in a handy location.

Couldnt be happier!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2010
We wanted to have our Sky+ box in a cupboard without glass doors and this was the solution to having to leave the doors open when we were using it. It is discretely under the cupboard where it can't be seem, but can be used perfectly.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
Great little gadget for when you want to watch sky in another room, but you do need a spare remote control, ideally.
Once connected you can change Chanel and turn your box on /off at will.
Just remember that you cannot watch different sky Chanel's in different rooms.
Bought on Amazon Prime next day delivery and well packaged.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2010
Very easy to install and set up. Very neat when stuck to the tv. Would buy another again and buy from same people also as got a very good and speedy service. Many thanks.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
I got three of these from Digitalis Direct (ironically, fulfilled by Amazon), and they all work perfectly. They're just what you need for sharing Sky around the house, via the coax cable(s) plugged into the RF2 Outlet. Of course, it does mean that you can drive everyone living with you crazy by changing Sky channel from numerous rooms, so be prepared for people screaming: "Oi! I was watching that!"

The product is all (wires and plastic) black, i.e. not the colour in the photo, but otherwise they are just like the photo. The sticky pad on the back of the IR sensor, which you can't see from the photo, is handy if you want to fix it to something too. The IR sensor is discreet, and has a reasonable length cable that should be fine for the vast majority of setups. Personally, I did wish that it was slightly longer for one of the three locations for which I required it, but my setup is pretty unusual, so I can't complain really.

Installation:

For the product to work, the "RF Outlet Power Supply" needs to be "On", which you can do via the "RF Outlets" submenu of the "Installer Setup" menu on your Sky box. The "Installer Setup" menu is a hidden/secret menu, but if you google "sky installer setup menu", you'll soon find what buttons you need to press on your Sky remote for it to appear. It seems like the exact buttons might vary depending on what Sky box you have, but it's simple to do, so I'm sure you'll be nosying around in no time!

Also, if you have any boosters/splitters inbetween the RF2 Outlet on the Sky box and this product, you need to make sure that they are compatible with remotely controlling your Sky box. If they are, they will usually say something about having a "digital bypass" feature or "works with magic eyes". If they are not, and you need splitters/boosters, then you will either need to buy ones that are compatible, or buy one or more digital bypass kits. If you're not sure whether what you have is compatible or not, you'll soon find out, as the LED on this product won't light-up unless everything is okay. (Of course, the LED might not light-up for reasons other than incompatible boosters/splitters, e.g. poor connections, incompatible faceplates, or faulty products.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
I had bought an IR extender for £30 to control Sky and some other boxes, but that did not work for the Sky+ HD DRX890 box. This antiference magic eye gadget works straight out of the box and doesn't even need an external power supply while it takes power directly from the sky box - magic indeed! See the review from Andy O'Boogie for instructions to energise the sky box RF2 outlet to power the magic eye - Thanks Andy, I was struggling without that.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
This is my third magic eye i have had over the years. The first one i passed onto a friend and the second one we recently broke so i ordered this one to replace it.
Does what is meant to and the little IR sensor is better than ones i have used previously both in it's ability to pick up a signal as well as being small and discrete.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
I am gonna use this as a tv link which i can control. Great price, great value, amazing next day delivery which was a surprise.
If you are like me and was slightly confuse with all the connections etc, on the end with no cable is a female port (requiring a male connector) and the end with a cable is a male connector which plugs into the tv's female aerial socket. Think of the aerial cable as not for signal, but for delivering picture. well, the aerial cable in the link below delivers the picture from the sky box, through the eye and to the tv where the aerial socket picks up the image. The sky eye link is not essential, but it only to control the sky box through the discreet eye.
to share the skys's picture from one box to a tv, you will need these or like, they are cry good value and quality and you won't find cheaper:
an aerial cable to connect the sky box to the sky eye port.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0030E0I00/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
These two coaxial connectors to fit on the two ends of the above cable, very easy to install.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0000AHICR/ref=oh_details_o03_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
and this sky remote (if you have sky+ HD) to control the sky box through the eye
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B005HU0FDA/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I hope this helps and please message me if you have any problems!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 30 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)