Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be a Professional Assassin; how can you lose?
Firstly, let's get the marketing side of my review out of the way. Essentially you're paying £15 for four top class, extremely enjoyable games. Truthfully, I could leave the review here as that should be enough for anybody, but let's delve deeper......

You play the role of Agent 47, in the employ of a shadow company of Assassins. The capital letter is...
Published on 4 Feb 2010 by Mr GJD Morris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was OK if you could mess about with it.
As there are 4 games, it is worth the money, but first two game not as good as I remember them. Maybe thats just me as my expectaions have grown.
Published 23 months ago by Lauchlan Black


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be a Professional Assassin; how can you lose?, 4 Feb 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman: Ultimate Contract (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Firstly, let's get the marketing side of my review out of the way. Essentially you're paying £15 for four top class, extremely enjoyable games. Truthfully, I could leave the review here as that should be enough for anybody, but let's delve deeper......

You play the role of Agent 47, in the employ of a shadow company of Assassins. The capital letter is important, as you're not merely a sniper on the Grassy Knoll, no indeed. You are a hand-picked, trained since childhood, genetically modified Assassin. Oh yes. The games focus on giving you a variety of hard-to-get-to targets with a variety of interesting ways to bump them off. Will you resort to sniping them from a distance, for example, or will you incapacitate key personnel and assume their identity in order to infiltrate and get up close and personal? Perhaps you'll abandon or stash all your weapons for a stealth entry, or load up on firepower to batter your way through? In the case of Blood Money especially, maybe you'll arrange for a fictional gun shot to in fact be a real one, or for a chandelier to drop on the head of an unsuspecting target?

See people, it really is this dynamic. You actually find yourself thinking like a Hitman - "well if I stash my weapons in there, then I'll be clear from the search at the entrance and then I can pick them up once inside, then I take this guy out while he's away from the guards, assume his identity and get close enough to be able to......." and so on. The ambience and music of the game is engaging and at best enthralling, and the whole deal basically radiates atmosphere.

Things aren't all rosy; for example the AI can be noticeably thick, and seem to like forming an orderly queue for your bullets in firefights. There are the occasional stability issues also, but nothing that will seriously compromise things. Savegame-wise.....well I'm afraid Quicksavers will be disappointed. On the decent difficulty levels your saves are limited, and you'll need to be pretty good to come through some levels without using them all.

But faults aside, you'd be daft not to invest in this. Graphics, though dated now, are still impressive and level design is intelligent and realistic. Gameplay is enjoyable, repeatable with variations, and challanging when it needs to be. You get to be a Professional Assassin, or as near as; How can you lose?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic value quad pack, four of the best games created., 18 Jun 2010
By 
M. Corbet (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman: Ultimate Contract (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The Hitman games follow a simple but brilliant premise: you are an assassin with one or more targets on a map full of security personnel, civilians and all sorts of places to go and things to use to accomplish your objectives. You can assume the identity of others by rendering them unconscious (or dead) and stealing their clothes. Highly interactive and open ended (especially the fourth title, Blood Money) this approach creates a massive amount of re-playability, and considering we're talking about four games, that makes this a serious bargain.

Although there are certainly some missions where there is an obvious way to complete your objectives, for the most part there are plenty of different opportunities to get close to your target. You could dress as one of his / her bodyguards, you could sneak in as a delivery boy or a tourist or one of many other different guises including pool cleaners, rednecks, waiters and loads more. Once next to your victim, you can utilize the environment to fake an accident (such as food poisoning, a pyrotechnics accident or a weak chandelier fixing to name a few). Of course, a few bullets from a silenced pistol do the job just as well. In fact, you are welcome to blast your way through the levels with a machine gun if your attention span should wane! The games are full of dark humor, with plenty of opportunities for creating your own (ever gone on a killing spree dressed in a clown suit before?) and the gameplay is unique and entertaining.

Obviously, the older games aren't exactly polished in modern terms but are still highly enjoyable nonetheless. Probably my personal favorite game series of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ignore the tech stuff, 15 Mar 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman: Ultimate Contract (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
All games are superb. Ignore the specs and techs stuff, ALL games work on both vista, XP and win7.

Codename 47: the beginning. I loved this when it came out and its still good. Slight problem with the resolution but all the game script works better than ever.

Silent Assassin: the sequel. In my opinion the best game. Excellent, no problems.

Contracts: the third game/flashbacks: REALLY good to see the original missions remade and restyled. May slow down if you have a windows sidebar or similar device active on your desktop.

Blood Money: the final game. Much better than the PS2 version. Slow if you have a "too-sophisticated" graphics card. Don't ask why but its better with a not-so-up-to-date graphics card.

overall: easy to install, easy to use, maybe not best to have all games installed at the same time, but thats just me and my shippy laptop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was OK if you could mess about with it., 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman: Ultimate Contract (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
As there are 4 games, it is worth the money, but first two game not as good as I remember them. Maybe thats just me as my expectaions have grown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun versus controls, 24 Jun 2011
By 
Haraga Georgeta (romania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman: Ultimate Contract (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
the fun factor is up- I bought after seeing the movie
the concept of being an assasin allows for playing from 3rd p shooter to sneaky bastard.
HOWEVER the controls are an entirely different matter
they feelweird

first mission of first game spoiler
where you shoot a target from a roof
than run to elevetar an instead of using e to activate have to roll mouse on menu to activate up or down ( there is no higher) while being shot from helicopter.........
says it all

still for games at this price

maybe I'll get used to controls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman: Ultimate Contract (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Is not how I wait for bat is good to play is not like the other hitman games is for beginners and you can past your time good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHY WOULD YOU NOT BUY THIS, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman: Ultimate Contract (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I bought this when i was out of collage for a week or two and it took over my life. i love the hitman games and this game just brought them all back to me. would defiantly recommend and im guessing most pcs and laptops will be able to run it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant fun, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman: Ultimate Contract (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The good things about this box set is that it contains 4 games all of which are challenging and fun and well made. I advice you play the games in order of release otherwise the game that comes next will make the game before seem not so good.
so play the games in order of release will also help the story line.
you get to kill people in entertaining fun imaginative ways in this game (the only time when killing is fun) the bad things are at times the games can be very very hard. and to work out how to kill in a way that gets the best result can take many many attempts. However this in a way adds to the challenge of the game.
I would reccomend this game to people who like puzzles of a different nature. and also to people who like shooting games becaues you can go in with yours guns blazing if you really want too :)

lots of fun lots of challenge lots of though and sneaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant games, 30 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman: Ultimate Contract (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Great value. Great game play. Completed all levels in each game. Recommended for all Hitman lovers. Watch out for the 5th Hitman game this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 22 Mar 2011
By 
K. King (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman: Ultimate Contract (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
All of the Hitman games in one awesome package. Great fun, although its also very frustrating when the plan goes wrong! Just be prepared to spend a lot of time trying to get it right.

Very good purchase overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitman: Ultimate Contract (PC DVD)
Hitman: Ultimate Contract (PC DVD) by Mastertronic Ltd (Windows Vista / XP)
£11.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews