Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great game!
This is a really good game that will get you hooked! I played the game for 2-3 days straight and really loved it. If you are to complete everything, you are looking at about 50-60 hours of gameplay but sadly, you do spend a lot of times just getting to places which is not so fun. On the bright side, this game's battle system is really good but can be a bit confusing in...
Published on 22 Oct 2009 by Lei Zhang

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but flawed all the same
Firstly I'd like to state, I did enjoy the game. The graphics are decent (if nothing on Lost Odyssey, an older game), and apart from one characters voice, the audio isn't too shabby either. It's not quite up there with some Final Fantasy soundtracks, but it's decent all the same.

Gameplay is where this game receives it's main plus points. The battle system...
Published on 24 Dec 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great game!, 22 Oct 2009
By 
Lei Zhang "Mikey" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Magna Carta 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a really good game that will get you hooked! I played the game for 2-3 days straight and really loved it. If you are to complete everything, you are looking at about 50-60 hours of gameplay but sadly, you do spend a lot of times just getting to places which is not so fun. On the bright side, this game's battle system is really good but can be a bit confusing in the beginning but it pays off greatly if you learn how it works from the start!

Also, this game is not so difficult to complete so you probably won't throw your controllers are the TV :D

To sum it up:

+ Great battle system
+ Beautiful character and environment design
+ Interesting but cliched (at times) story with a twist
+ Not difficult (if you are just a casual, playing for enjoyment)
+ Good voice acting for the most

- Maybe a bit short but 50-60 hours of enjoyment is well worth the money
- Bad "transportation" system, you spend a lot of time just getting to places
- A character has an extremely high pitched voice (play the game to find out who)
- Battle system hard get accustomed to at first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden gem!, 2 May 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magna Carta 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have been playing RPG's since Final Fantasy 7 on the Playstation 1 and I have to say that this is one of the best RPG's I have played in a long time, it's certainly the best on the Xbox360 so far. It's a traditional Japanese RPG so if you are not into this type of game then it may not be for you but for the rest of us it's not be to missed.

If you played Magna Carta on the Playstation 2 and was disappointed (like I was) fear not, this is much much better.

Good points
-good real time battle system
-decent graphics and sound
-the most speech I have heard in an RPG which really brings the characters alive
-absolutely stunning character art-Zephie's dress (the princess) looks amazing
-good story to keep you hooked
-decent length for an RPG of 50-60 hours
-not too easy and not too difficult, just about right
-doesn't take forever to level up

Bad points (struggling here)
-some backtracking over the same areas to do samey quests
-no teleporters, you have to walk (or run) everywhere
-erm, if you don't like RPG's then you won't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but flawed all the same, 24 Dec 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Magna Carta 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Firstly I'd like to state, I did enjoy the game. The graphics are decent (if nothing on Lost Odyssey, an older game), and apart from one characters voice, the audio isn't too shabby either. It's not quite up there with some Final Fantasy soundtracks, but it's decent all the same.

Gameplay is where this game receives it's main plus points. The battle system takes some getting used to, but is decent, and quite alot of fun once you've got the hang of it. It's active battle rather than turn based (think more like Infinite Undisvovery rather than FF13), and once you've mastered the basics becomes enjoyable (if a little frustrating when it doesn't quite work out as intended!).

The main bug I have with this game is the ending. Without giving too much away, the ending is appalling. If you're not that interested in the story and want to play a reasonably fun game that lasts for around 30-40 hours (so slightly on the quick side for a JRPG, the game took me 38, including 99% of all side quests, and some powerlevelling), then this isn't much of an issue, but I found it irritating to say the least that the ending clearly has so little thought put into it.

Overall a decent game, and if you're done with Lost Odyssey/Infinite Undiscovery/FF13/Star Ocean worth a punt. Those previous games however are better, and if you've got to choose between this and one of the above, they're all superior to Magna Carta 2 (esp Lost Odyssey). I'm not sure about how this compares to Tales of Vesparia/Resonance of Fate/Eternal Sonata, but I've heard that these three are definatly in the category of "B" rank JRPG offerings on the 360. I guess Magna Carta is on a similar level, and so it gets 3 (3.5 is what it would have got!) as it is a solid "B" if there ever was one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just simply Brilliant, 6 Jan 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Magna Carta 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I got this game for Christmas and I must say it is one of the best RPGs I've ever played. It has good characters, good battle system and one hell of a good story to it which really draws you into the game. Before I got this game I looked at a review in a magazine and it was giving it 4/10; I really would like to know why? i'm definatly giving this game 10/10. Its a must have, I only wanted this game to keep me busy till Final Fantasy 13 comes out and im loving every minute of it.

There are about 100 quests you can do within the game; some are optional and some are required for the story to continue. I'm only half way through the quests after almost 30 hours through. I reccomend that if you get the game, try to do as many quests as possible as you get quite abit of experince, items and money which is a big help in the game.

Personally, it's a great game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Tidy Title, 11 Aug 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Magna Carta 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Magna Carta 2 was definitely a surprise to me. When I first found it on Amazon the game cover clearly shows the game developers pushing the 'sex sells' approach however after reading some reviews I noted that some people really got something out of this game.

Magna Carta 2 is an RPG about a civil war in a small kingdom full of a magical property called Khan. There a 2 types of Khan: elemental Khan (wind, fire, ice, lightening) temporarily built up by mages and strength Khan permanently built up by warriors. Khan is built up by doing standard attacks and Special abilities are conducted by consuming Khan.

The combat system is unique and initially tricky to get a handle on, but once you have understand it, it is intuitive and fun that requires skill, timing and awareness of the situation to get the most out of any combo move you pull off within your combat party group of 3.

So the negatives: The storyline is told several times during dialog ("We have to go to Y to stop X", "Yes, let's stop X at Y", "Right, so we go to Y to stop X"), there are no forms of faster transport when running around the world other than the Avis Transport network and sometimes the scenery image rendering fails occasionally.

Other than that...

The Positive: Enthralling storyline, good fun fluid battle system, good pace and length (I took ~50hrs to complete the game but I was looking for all character's side quests - I missed doing the royal seals) so I think if you do the main quests only it may take 20-25hrs. By this time in FF13 I don't think you have your 1st special ability yet...

All in all if you like RPGs give this a go, if you want to get into RPGs give this a go, if your an epic RPG completionist guru, well think on it cos you should finish it completely in relatively short time period.

Overall: Good game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 23 Oct 2009
By 
C. O'Connor "chrisuk5" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Magna Carta 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Magna Carta 2 is yet another RPG in a crowded market and with so many to choose from, why should you choose this one?

The game opens with Juto, a young man on Highwind Island who has myseteriously lost his memory. He's being looked after by a girl named Melissa in a world where the Northern and Southern kingdoms are at war. Unsurprisingly, he turns out to be a little special when he's able to destroy a monster single handedly, despite being unable to wield a proper sword. He then gets coaxed into helping the southern forces by the princess (lucky guy) and so the plot continues with twists and turns in a typical RPG manner.

The graphics are powered by the unreal engine (nothing special now) but that means they're pretty special. I was surprised at the variety. Unique cities, citizens, forests, caves all look pretty good with a fair ammount of detail. Cutscenes themselves are pretty good and continue to show off the games graphical flare. Characters and enemies are well modelled but everyone around here is more interested in gameplay.

The gameplay initially is a little scary. It's action based for fights and is fixed to a couple of buttons. A for a normal hit and X for a special. As you do this, your bar will fill up forcing you to take a break as you fight to let it diminish. If you don't, you'll overheat and be paralysed for a few seconds. That's it to start with and there isn't much depth! Thankfully, as you progress, you can swap characters, use overdrive by fighting to the point where you take off more damage before you overheat and use chains. You'll be able to use a range of attacks and specials and they'll be plenty of quests to keep you busy. Fighting and completing quests earns you experience which increases your players level and their subsequent statistics. Other than fighting, you can talk to the locals, visit shops, complete quests, the usual.

So, what lets this down? Why isn't this a five? Well, if you don't like wondering around, hitting things, saving, hearing lots of talking, hitting more things, travelling to point B whilst hitting more things and of course hitting more things (get the drift) then this probably isn't the game for you. However, if you like RPGs, like a good yarn with genuinely likable characters, then this should please you. This is a welcome addition to a good bunch of RPGs on 360 and deserves a playthrough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best J-RPG, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magna Carta 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Graphics are awesome
Characters are very deep and interesting
World and politics in this game are intriguing
Battle system is very different compared to any other game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good RPG, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magna Carta 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
very good plot very good game play a must have for rpg fans you will not be dissapoited with it very long game legnth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magna carta, 22 Aug 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magna Carta 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Really enjoyed this game, has enough hours to keep you occupied if played without side quests let alone the amount with them, great story and currently wanting to play again with all the side quests. this game has even made me want to buy the original playstation games. 5/5 great service and quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game!, 21 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magna Carta 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
really enjoyable game to play. As people have already said slow to start but once your in its pretty hard to put down the controll. For Bleach Fans out there you will find almost all the main Characters are voiced by bleach voice actors :) 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magna Carta 2 (Xbox 360)
Magna Carta 2 (Xbox 360) by Namco Bandai (Xbox 360)
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews