Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apart from the instructions, this is an excellent product
Purchased to replace a faulty DVD player, this was the first time I had used a DVR machine.

It's fairly large but is well designed (with no obtrusive buttons or ugly display features). Initial set up is very straightforward and does not require lengthy study of the instruction booklet. Which is just as well, since the instructions are not written in a way...
Published on 12 Jan. 2010 by Truecolours09

versus
44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I should have gone to Specsavers
Purchased to replace a Panasonic DVD freeview recorder and a separate Ferguson VCR I had hoped for a user friendly product that allowed easy transfer of video to DVD and ease of recording. It is not a patch on the Panasonice but I decided not to replace with a Panasonic as it failed after only 2 years 3 months and I was told that it was beyond economic repair and an...
Published on 6 April 2010 by David Wood


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apart from the instructions, this is an excellent product, 12 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Toshiba DVR19DTKB2 Freeview DVD/VCR Recorder Combi - Black (Electronics)
Purchased to replace a faulty DVD player, this was the first time I had used a DVR machine.

It's fairly large but is well designed (with no obtrusive buttons or ugly display features). Initial set up is very straightforward and does not require lengthy study of the instruction booklet. Which is just as well, since the instructions are not written in a way that encourages the user to explore their new machine.

Picture quality has been excellent, recording has been no problem and DVDs never looked better.

If you are using the DVR to replace both a DVD player and a set top box, you may also have spent time trying to find out whether this DVR will allow you to watch an analogue channel whilst recording any other channel. The instructions do not spell this out. The answer is yes, you can do this (by using the DVR to record as normal and selecting the alternative AV setting on the tv itself so that you are watching the analogue channels via it's own tuner). This will only work up until the point your area makes the digital switchover.

In summary, a great looking machine that records easily and has a useful VCR slot too. The only drawback is the instructions booklet, which fails to offer easy answers to basic questions and doesn't clarify how to set it up so that you can watch one analogue channel whilst recording another channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Toshiba DVR19DTKB Freeview+ DVD/VCR Recorder Combi, 10 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. Stuart Oliver (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toshiba DVR19DTKB2 Freeview DVD/VCR Recorder Combi - Black (Electronics)
Excellent piece of equipment. Only 4 stars due to the fact that it isn't multiregional. Good quality dubbing and excellent general recording on both DVD and Tape. Easy to operate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for the Macrovision., 31 Jan. 2010
By 
R. Kendrick "Music Madman" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toshiba DVR19DTKB2 Freeview DVD/VCR Recorder Combi - Black (Electronics)
Like all the other folks I to will mirror their comments, this really is a brilliant machine. One of the issues raised though is regarding whether it will convert, prerecorded videos into DVD format? It all depends on whether the tapes have the, Macrovision system. Ones that I have found that do not are, Universal, Tristar/Columbia, New Line, Warner Bros, and Pathe. Some are a little hit and miss, they are, Paramount, 20th Century Fox, and MGM. It mainly seems to be their big budget type of movies that will not convert where as their smaller budget film do okay. And those that are protected are, Disney, Touchstone, and Dream Works. Also another tip is to look on the back off the video cover, if you see a small triangle with the letters CP, then there is a very good chance that you will not be able to convert it. And now a word of caution. Some of you may have bought ex-rental videos, you know the ones with larger cases and 42 hours of trailers before the main film starts, and unfortunately a vast majority of these type of cassettes are copy protected, in fact I have only found one film studio that does not carry the, Macovision system and that is, Warner Bros. Another question raised is whether the DVD player is multi-regional, the answer is no. And can this machine work on a single scart TV? That is yes. On another matter this machine will allow you to increase the size of the blank DVD discs. Normally it is only 120 mins worth, yet the press of a button will increase the disc size to 4hrs, 6hrs or even 8hrs, without any loss of quality

Hopefully this has been of some help to those wishing or thinking of buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great "dual" Recorder, 4 Sept. 2009
By 
Shopper Bob (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba DVR19DTKB2 Freeview DVD/VCR Recorder Combi - Black (Electronics)
It really doesn't need any technical skills to install. It automatically finds all available channels leaving you to Playback existing media, or just record on Tape or Disc. The whole menu system is very user friend and easy to use.The Instruction Booklet is nicely laid out making it very easy to find the topic you need help with. An excellent piece of equipment bought at an excellent Amazon price too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Recorder, 16 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. P. White "Paul Gray" (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba DVR19DTKB2 Freeview DVD/VCR Recorder Combi - Black (Electronics)
I bought this product to achive old home video tapes and must say it was really easy! The instructions do go on a bit, but its worth reading through a few times. If you want to record TV programmes that are broadcast in 16-9 ratio, then you can only do so on DVD-R and DVD-RW discs for some reason unlike other recorders that I've used in the past. Its also worth noting that you can't copy your old precorded video's (Copyright, which is a great shame. The intructions do hint that it may be possible on RW discs, but unless you videos are really old, then it doesn't work.
The Freeview decoder works well in bad reception areas too... So on the whole, this was a very good buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toshiba DVR19DTKB, 4 April 2010
By 
J. Chandler "Jen" (Sunderland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toshiba DVR19DTKB2 Freeview DVD/VCR Recorder Combi - Black (Electronics)
This item was bought for my mother who is not very technologically minded. She decided to get a VCR/DVD combi when her VCR started chewing up her tapes and her DVD packed in a few weeks later. She is very pleased with this model, she found it easy to learn how to use the basics straight away, the instruction manual is quite complex but the quick set up guide was great, it took just a few minutes to set up and tune in the freeview channels. She can record all her old videos onto DVD which means more space in her cupboard. Great! Would definitely recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toshiba VHS/DVD recorder, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Quinton (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba DVR19DTKB2 Freeview DVD/VCR Recorder Combi - Black (Electronics)
I love this product, it is so easy to use and I have transferred many videos onto DVD. Saves having two separate machines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say!, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
C. Williams (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toshiba DVR19DTKB2 Freeview DVD/VCR Recorder Combi - Black (Electronics)
So far so good, set up was easy, I even managed to work it! It does make the video tapes poor quality obvious when played on an HDTV. But very happy with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Combi-recorder, 4 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba DVR19DTKB2 Freeview DVD/VCR Recorder Combi - Black (Electronics)
Could not be easier to set up and operate. There's a Quick Guide to get going with straight away then for the more detailed operation there is a comprehensive instruction book that is easy find your way around as the page edges indicate the sections for each operation. I have installed it to replace a Panasonic that works OK but is awkward when using the programme guide and also takes a long time to be able to transfer from one operation to another. This Toshiba is a pleasure to use, gives excellent picture quality, easy channel change, dubbing from VCR to DVD is easy to set up and is capable of dubbing from DVD to VCR although I have not tried that yet. I have seen some reviews on this that complain about the instruction manual and the fact that you cannot watch one DVB channel while recording another. As far as the instructions go I found no problem whatsoever. To do the latter a second external tuner is needed, just as there always has been, whether analogue or digital either in the TV or additional freeview box, Sky or Virgin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I should have gone to Specsavers, 6 April 2010
By 
David Wood "easybeesy" (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toshiba DVR19DTKB2 Freeview DVD/VCR Recorder Combi - Black (Electronics)
Purchased to replace a Panasonic DVD freeview recorder and a separate Ferguson VCR I had hoped for a user friendly product that allowed easy transfer of video to DVD and ease of recording. It is not a patch on the Panasonice but I decided not to replace with a Panasonic as it failed after only 2 years 3 months and I was told that it was beyond economic repair and an equivalent Panasonic machine had only just been produced and ther were apparently some problems with reliability. There is no detailed index in the extensive Toshiba guide and sections are indicated by page edge listing that does not easliy guide to the information required. I should have purchased a model with a)a hard drive and b) a separate tuner as a single tuner machine does not allow viewing another channel during recording (the tuner on the now failed Panasonic still works so I am having to use that to overcome the problem). I find some of the buttons on the remote misleading - 'disc menue' does not give a list of titles on the disc, and for that you have to go to 'setup'. It seems to be very 'picky' as far as dirt on the disc and after erasing. the rather disconcerting message 'cannot record on this disc' is displayed.
I suppose that given time I might get more out of the machine, but the Panasonic was far superior: next time I will buy a Panasonic and extended guarantee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews