Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice RPG to pass the time
Just to be clear, if you are a big Gothic 3 fan, this is not the sequel you are looking for. What you'll want is a game called Risen.

But if you're looking for a nice fairly action oriented RPG to pass the time and like games in this genre like Fable 3 and Two Worlds 2 then you could do a whole lot worse than Arcania. This graphically gorgeous game has quite a...
Published on 20 Jan. 2011 by Jan-Wouter A.

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not an open world...
Gothic 4 is a decent game, but not a great one, its graphics and engine are far better and far more stable than previous entries in the series, although the resolution and detail on the console version is significantly worse than PC.
However, despite its technical improvements on the franchise, the game itself is no where near as enjoyable. For a start, it's not an...
Published on 16 Feb. 2011 by Blerg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not an open world..., 16 Feb. 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Gothic 4 is a decent game, but not a great one, its graphics and engine are far better and far more stable than previous entries in the series, although the resolution and detail on the console version is significantly worse than PC.
However, despite its technical improvements on the franchise, the game itself is no where near as enjoyable. For a start, it's not an open world game anymore, you get small areas where you can wonder around until the next area is unlocked, which means progressing through the story. You can't swim and invisible barriers are everywhere, stopping your urges for exploration. About half way in the whole game becomes extremely linear, without any towns or side quests, just wondering through endless caves to get to the next part of the story.
The game is a LOT easier than any previous Gothic game, but the enemies are pretty repetative and theres never really any need to mix up combat tactics. Magic is also pretty boring, with only having access to 3 types of magic missile type spell and some items that cast a few others. This carries over to levelling up in general, there aren't many options and the ones that are there aren't very useful or interesting.
The story is fairly interesting if you're familiar with the setting and the recurring characters throughout the Gothic series, but if you're new to the series, it will most likely just confuse you with a cast of characters with very little introduction and many references to previous events you won't understand.
Regardless, the game is fairly enjoyable for the first 10 hours or so, and if nothing else, it's easy to play, which is something the Gothic games have never really mastered in the past.

If you're looking for a new open world RPG, my recomendation would be to check out Two Worlds II instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the money, 16 Mar. 2013
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've not played any of the Gothic series before, but I am a fan of open-world RPG games.

Let me be blunt here: Elder Scrolls it is not. It does not have the world scale of something like Oblivion or Skyrim nor the myriad quests, characters and guilds. The graphics are pretty basic, the characters all look the same and it is fairly linear. You often cannot go to new areas until you have finished certain tasks.

It is also quite easy - rarely are you seriously challenged in combat and the enemy AI is embarrassingly basic.

However, for what it is, I enjoyed it. The gameplay keeps you interested and whilst you won't get much more than 20-odd playing hours out of it, it is quite fun to play. You have a very basic levelling-up system and you can trade in items for money in the game.

It was priced around £7-£8 when somebody bought it off my wish list and I think that is reasonable value for money. I enjoyed playing it, but just don't expect too much from it and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice RPG to pass the time, 20 Jan. 2011
By 
Jan-Wouter A. (Hilversum, NHOL Netherlands) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Just to be clear, if you are a big Gothic 3 fan, this is not the sequel you are looking for. What you'll want is a game called Risen.

But if you're looking for a nice fairly action oriented RPG to pass the time and like games in this genre like Fable 3 and Two Worlds 2 then you could do a whole lot worse than Arcania. This graphically gorgeous game has quite a good story which will leave you confused at first but after the initial tutorial sections the pieces will start falling in place. Using melee, ranged and magic attacks you dispatch your foes as you travel the world seeking revenge. Your quest takes you from cliffside cities to medieval castles, gigantic trees and ancient temples. And after about 25 hours when it's all over it'll leave you wanting for the recently announced expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A solid and refreshing Action/Adventure., 21 Aug. 2013
By 
Ian Webster - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Many people will have played the better-known Action/Adventure/RPGs such as Elder Scrolls and even rather different games such as the Fable series. Arcania Gothic 4 is somewhat different from these games, whilst retaining a similar feel. When searching for a new adventure game to play I stumbled on this and was instantly hooked. Though the game may not be as polished as titles such as Elder Scrolls, it remains a brilliant game. It has commonalities with some MMORPGs such as WoW in the style of it's quests, however I find this quite refreshing in a single-player game.

The graphics are gorgeous, the map large, the quests many and the number of items seemingly endless. It's nice to see a game that doesn't 'rank' armour and different armours and weapons retain different abilities to make them more appealing to certain players. The voice-acting leaves a lot to be desired (it is originally a German game I believe), however the dialogue is solid and relevant.

The quest style is more complex than many other modern titles, primarily because the game doesn't point you to the exact location you need to be or to the exact person you need to speak to (or kill). I find this a welcome change, as often playing other games I have found them too simplistic as I can finish a quest in a matter of minutes being pointed exactly where I need to go and not really feeling as though I've had to put much effort into the quest bar buttom mashing a few times to kill some enemies.

All in all a good game, not excellent, but certainly worth picking up if you are a fan of medieval-style fantasy adventure games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable RPG, no classic which has bugs., 18 Sept. 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As a fan of Oblivion and Dragonage it was logical to me to get Arcania. I've also played Two worlds, which for all it's critics I'd enjoyed. Arcania therefore is a mix of these games, you get a complex plot involving treachery and betrayal. You play the part of the central character who embarks upon an epic quest. on the way you meet a lot of NPC's some of whom you can talk to trade with or both. You also meet a lot of villains some human others monster or demon who wish to cause you harm. Most of the game works on the following basis - you do something for me and I will help you or give you something in return like gold or an item. The game involves a lot of fighting and there are a lot of different weapons you can find or buy to do this with.

Whats good about the game is the range of missions you can undertake not only for the main quest but mini - quests also. The more missions you complete as well as monsters you sleigh increases your experience. The more experience you have the stronger and better at doing things you become. You also can get to delegate where you put or spend your experience points. This means do you opt for brains over brawn or stealth !. The ability to teleport from one location helps but you can't decide where to teleport to. The teleporter itself can only go to one place and you must have visited there before for it to work.

My main critiscm is the number of bugs in the game. Near the beginning you kill a bug queen. Immediately afterwards your wife is dead and then your someplace else. No real smooth cinematics are shown explaining what happened. Also the way you jump around on the rocks or the way the enemy sometimes moves suggests more work needed to be done on tweaking the game. One thing that frustrated me was the way that in a fight the NPC's would not get involved so even when they were on your side you had to do all the fighting. Basically they stand around whilst you do the dying, not fair. Also at the end you fight the demon queen but once you beat her can't save so after the closing cinema tics / credits your back to facing her in combat again !

I understand the manufacturer of this game Jo Wood have since gone into administration. Apparently a add on pack for the game was made but I don't know when it will appear. Generally if you liked the other games I mentioned at the beginning of this game then you'll like Arcania however most RPG fans like me are just waiting for Elder Scrolls 5 which by the look of it is going to out do Oblivion which renders Arcania a mere stepping stone until the big daddy ( Elder Scrolls 5 ) comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gothic 4, 21 Jun. 2011
By 
Ross Cooper (Colchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Simply put, this is an absolutely awful excuse for a game, and more shameful still that it bears the 'Gothic' title. I got this game as I needed a good console-based dungeon crawler following the untimely death of my PC and all reviews I happened upon said the same thing: "Flawed, but enjoyable". This game is more than flawed!

Where to begin? The first thing I noticed was the atrocious cut-scenes; with long pauses between what should be fluid dialogue, poor character animation and unnatural movements and expressions. Next, the graphics: Were this a launch title for the 360 they would be acceptable. However, in 2011 they are simply sub-par: Pixelated scenery, awful water graphics, awful character design (the earliest example being the character 'Ivy' right at the beginning) and some of the most boring, generic monsters ever encountered in a game. Thirdly, this game suffers from major framerate issues, which is surprising considering the abysmal draw distance and long loading times. Sluggish, clunky controls make the dull, joyless combat system even more awkward and an unintuitive inventory layout and controls make equipping something a real chore. However, the last and most agonising complaint I have with this game is the dialogue. Awful translations, poor voice acting and even worse timing in delivering the lines mar this game. Truly, some of the worst translation and acting work I have ever encountered: worse than a Korean MMORPG! At first, I simply turned the voices off, but playing in near silence was almost maddening.

Avoid this game. Buy something, anything, other than this game. Go to Starbucks and have ten coffees; or a few beers at the pub; Christ, go to MacDonalds and buy all the teenage mums a big mac. Just don't spend £30/£40 on this garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars world of the doppelganger., 8 April 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The face of almost every charecter in the game is repeated , sometimes multiple times. this spoiled even more what proved to be an average at best game in my opinion, flawed in so many ways but the repetition of charectors was the worst for me. dont want to play a game and see the same faces over and over, it smacks of cheapness, poor effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Game!, 9 Aug. 2012
By 
Mr. C. Frederick (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great game. Ignore the really bad reviews as this game certainly isn't as bad as alot of people make it out to be although having not played any previous gothic games probably makes this game more appealing. It might not be as expansive or as well put together as the high-end rpg's but it is not far behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!, 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game was so much better than I expected. Its the sort of game where you have to talk to various characters throughout and they then send you on missions to find stuff and bring it back. Of course as you wander around finding stuff you end up fighting lots of monsters, animals and people. You upgrade the more you do and have little side missions e.g. find ancient relics etc on the way round. I am loving this game and would recommend it to anyone who also likes this type of game. Its also huge and goes on forever which is even better. I'm sure the graphics aren't up to "geek" standard but for me that is no problem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good gameplay,but don't rush it !!, 2 Feb. 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have previously owned and played Gothic for the PC and enjoyed them, I am an RPG fanatic I guess and when this came out on X-box I pounced on it ! When I first played it it didn't seem to be an entertaining game and once I had completed the map it was over and my gamescore for it was very low. So I played it again and I am still playing it but taking it slower and more adventuring than previously and it suddenly became a very good game that is better played slower and fuller. The graphics are great and there is so much to explore and each time you play it you can change the outcome. Load time is good and plays well. If you like RPG then this is one to buy but be patient with it and explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360)
Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) by Nordic Games (Xbox 360)
£11.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews