Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice RPG to pass the time
Just to be clear, if you are a big Gothic 3 fan, this is not the sequel you are looking for. What you'll want is a game called Risen.

But if you're looking for a nice fairly action oriented RPG to pass the time and like games in this genre like Fable 3 and Two Worlds 2 then you could do a whole lot worse than Arcania. This graphically gorgeous game has quite a...
Published on 20 Jan 2011 by Jan-Wouter A.

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not an open world...
Gothic 4 is a decent game, but not a great one, its graphics and engine are far better and far more stable than previous entries in the series, although the resolution and detail on the console version is significantly worse than PC.
However, despite its technical improvements on the franchise, the game itself is no where near as enjoyable. For a start, it's not an...
Published on 16 Feb 2011 by Blerg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not an open world..., 16 Feb 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Gothic 4 is a decent game, but not a great one, its graphics and engine are far better and far more stable than previous entries in the series, although the resolution and detail on the console version is significantly worse than PC.
However, despite its technical improvements on the franchise, the game itself is no where near as enjoyable. For a start, it's not an open world game anymore, you get small areas where you can wonder around until the next area is unlocked, which means progressing through the story. You can't swim and invisible barriers are everywhere, stopping your urges for exploration. About half way in the whole game becomes extremely linear, without any towns or side quests, just wondering through endless caves to get to the next part of the story.
The game is a LOT easier than any previous Gothic game, but the enemies are pretty repetative and theres never really any need to mix up combat tactics. Magic is also pretty boring, with only having access to 3 types of magic missile type spell and some items that cast a few others. This carries over to levelling up in general, there aren't many options and the ones that are there aren't very useful or interesting.
The story is fairly interesting if you're familiar with the setting and the recurring characters throughout the Gothic series, but if you're new to the series, it will most likely just confuse you with a cast of characters with very little introduction and many references to previous events you won't understand.
Regardless, the game is fairly enjoyable for the first 10 hours or so, and if nothing else, it's easy to play, which is something the Gothic games have never really mastered in the past.

If you're looking for a new open world RPG, my recomendation would be to check out Two Worlds II instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice RPG to pass the time, 20 Jan 2011
By 
Jan-Wouter A. (Hilversum, NHOL Netherlands) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Just to be clear, if you are a big Gothic 3 fan, this is not the sequel you are looking for. What you'll want is a game called Risen.

But if you're looking for a nice fairly action oriented RPG to pass the time and like games in this genre like Fable 3 and Two Worlds 2 then you could do a whole lot worse than Arcania. This graphically gorgeous game has quite a good story which will leave you confused at first but after the initial tutorial sections the pieces will start falling in place. Using melee, ranged and magic attacks you dispatch your foes as you travel the world seeking revenge. Your quest takes you from cliffside cities to medieval castles, gigantic trees and ancient temples. And after about 25 hours when it's all over it'll leave you wanting for the recently announced expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the money, 16 Mar 2013
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've not played any of the Gothic series before, but I am a fan of open-world RPG games.

Let me be blunt here: Elder Scrolls it is not. It does not have the world scale of something like Oblivion or Skyrim nor the myriad quests, characters and guilds. The graphics are pretty basic, the characters all look the same and it is fairly linear. You often cannot go to new areas until you have finished certain tasks.

It is also quite easy - rarely are you seriously challenged in combat and the enemy AI is embarrassingly basic.

However, for what it is, I enjoyed it. The gameplay keeps you interested and whilst you won't get much more than 20-odd playing hours out of it, it is quite fun to play. You have a very basic levelling-up system and you can trade in items for money in the game.

It was priced around 7-8 when somebody bought it off my wish list and I think that is reasonable value for money. I enjoyed playing it, but just don't expect too much from it and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Hours Of Enjoyment ! Worth Every penny ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Game!, 9 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. C. Frederick (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great game. Ignore the really bad reviews as this game certainly isn't as bad as alot of people make it out to be although having not played any previous gothic games probably makes this game more appealing. It might not be as expansive or as well put together as the high-end rpg's but it is not far behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars world of the doppelganger., 8 April 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The face of almost every charecter in the game is repeated , sometimes multiple times. this spoiled even more what proved to be an average at best game in my opinion, flawed in so many ways but the repetition of charectors was the worst for me. dont want to play a game and see the same faces over and over, it smacks of cheapness, poor effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gothic 4, 21 Jun 2011
By 
Ross Cooper (Colchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Simply put, this is an absolutely awful excuse for a game, and more shameful still that it bears the 'Gothic' title. I got this game as I needed a good console-based dungeon crawler following the untimely death of my PC and all reviews I happened upon said the same thing: "Flawed, but enjoyable". This game is more than flawed!

Where to begin? The first thing I noticed was the atrocious cut-scenes; with long pauses between what should be fluid dialogue, poor character animation and unnatural movements and expressions. Next, the graphics: Were this a launch title for the 360 they would be acceptable. However, in 2011 they are simply sub-par: Pixelated scenery, awful water graphics, awful character design (the earliest example being the character 'Ivy' right at the beginning) and some of the most boring, generic monsters ever encountered in a game. Thirdly, this game suffers from major framerate issues, which is surprising considering the abysmal draw distance and long loading times. Sluggish, clunky controls make the dull, joyless combat system even more awkward and an unintuitive inventory layout and controls make equipping something a real chore. However, the last and most agonising complaint I have with this game is the dialogue. Awful translations, poor voice acting and even worse timing in delivering the lines mar this game. Truly, some of the worst translation and acting work I have ever encountered: worse than a Korean MMORPG! At first, I simply turned the voices off, but playing in near silence was almost maddening.

Avoid this game. Buy something, anything, other than this game. Go to Starbucks and have ten coffees; or a few beers at the pub; Christ, go to MacDonalds and buy all the teenage mums a big mac. Just don't spend 30/40 on this garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good gameplay,but don't rush it !!, 2 Feb 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have previously owned and played Gothic for the PC and enjoyed them, I am an RPG fanatic I guess and when this came out on X-box I pounced on it ! When I first played it it didn't seem to be an entertaining game and once I had completed the map it was over and my gamescore for it was very low. So I played it again and I am still playing it but taking it slower and more adventuring than previously and it suddenly became a very good game that is better played slower and fuller. The graphics are great and there is so much to explore and each time you play it you can change the outcome. Load time is good and plays well. If you like RPG then this is one to buy but be patient with it and explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 July 2014
By 
D. LAWSON (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Lovely but with very frustrating control bugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i recomend, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I definitely recommend this game to those who like games like dragon age or dragons dogma it is more like the latter. this game is a little short for my taste but a thrilling game to play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360)
Arcania: Gothic 4 (Xbox 360) by Nordic Games (Xbox 360)
12.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews