Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon (Audio CD)
Clint Mansell evokes the beauty, the brutality, the love and the longing of this wonderful new movie by Duncan Jones. I was drawn to this movie and went to see on the promise of the soundtrack alone! You must see it. You must hear it! Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They do make them like they used too..., 2 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Moon (Audio CD)
I recently saw the film MOON, and it is by far one of the greatest science fiction pictures out there. Up there with 2001: A Space Odyssey, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Alien/Aliens, Blade Runner, Silent Running and Outland. Everything about this film, the great directing, writing, production design, costume design, editing, the non-cgi visual effects, the absolutely amazing performence from Sam Rockwell (oscar nomination please)...but my favourite aspect, was this soundtrack.

Clint Mansell is the top composer working in the business today, though so unrecognized by so many. Hans Zimmer, James Horner, John Williams and James Newton Howard seem to get all the attention, however Clint Mansell is masterful, with his great soundtrack to Requiem for a Dream and the absolutely mindblowing beautifully scored soundtrack for The Fountain, now with Moon as a part of his legacy, Mansell should soon be on his way to an Oscar nomination too, after getting snubbed out of one for The Fountain.

This is an amazing soundtrack...GET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great soundtrack, 7 Oct 2009
This review is from: Moon (Audio CD)
Seen the film twice and loved the soundtrack so much I ordered the CD as soon as it was available. The music creates an eerie atmosphere that works perfectly in the film but is also a fantastic piece of music in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moon dust sparkles, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. A. J. Whiteway "andy-ru" (Londinium, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon (Audio CD)
Gosh. This is a rare thing indeed - a science fiction film (y'know, like a proper one!) and an accompanying soundtrack that successfully enhances the film rather than just sitting alongside it.

I must admit to having given up on finding great new Sci-Fi scores in film, having recently become in awe of Bear McCreary's talent in his wonderful final season 4 score for Battlestar Galactica: Season Four , so to find this felt like a real gem.

Clint Mansell's score is predictably sparse but surprisingly robust on repeated listens. It compliments the film perfectly and if you dig a little deeper, begins to throw up subtle changes in the few recognisable cues that emerge from the movie.

Special mention goes to the track 'Memories...' - it is a wonderfully affecting piece of music, containing nowt much but an ethereal piano, before a Cello moves in by way of a final refrain. My favourite track on the album.

In short, if you're a fan of the scores that accompany the classics that 'Moon' was unashamedly trying to emulate, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See you in Space..., 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The test of all good music is whether it stays with you. Whether it's simple or complex, traditional or experimental, if it pops into your mind at odd moments you know you have a good piece on your hands. I keep hearing this soundtrack, not only in the film (which I recently watched again and remembered how excellent it really was), but also when it was used for incidental music on an excellent story podcast. I finally broke down and bought it, and I think it is going to be a fixture on my turntable.

Moon [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free], as you probably know, was a film about Sam Bell (Sam Rockwell), a lonely man on a lunar mining station with nothing but a robot called Gerty, his plants, a surprisingly detailed model of his home town, and the endless, beautiful, barren moonscape for company. The grandeur of the stars and the grey deserts he traverses in his moon rover, are spellbinding, and are given a sense of drama and purpose by Clint Mansell's soundtrack. It's a haunting mix of ambient atmospherics, that wouldn't be out of place on Brian Eno's Music for Airports, and more traditional melodies for piano and strings. It has a structure and direction to it that makes it fascinating, and makes great use of silences, whether to create a sense of space as echoes fade away or by abruptly stopping instruments, like radio signals suddenly cut off. In the same way that the Inception Soundtrack by Hans Zimmer used slowed down samples to create an exciting musical idea which was grounded in the premise of the film, there is never a moment in the Moon soundtrack that doesn't reflect the coldness and vastness of the cosmos, and the melancholy of a lonely man trying to find his place in it.

The main theme is a piece entitled Welcome To Lunar Industries which bookends the soundtrack, opening the album with a rush of harmonics and a swell of noise that snaps out of existence as a piano begins to tap out the main melodic theme of the score. Behind the evolving melody, unearthly wails and electronic sounds build and a steady drumbeat appears, propelling the score forward and giving the whole piece a sense of purpose. The very natural sounding piano contrasts sharply with wailing harmonics and atmospherics processed through self-oscillating long chain delays. This sets the tone for the rest of the album with many of the pieces in the suite running together (perfect for vinyl fans). Tracks like Two Weeks and Counting and Are You Receiving use this template to underscore important moments in the film, playing with clever contrasts in texture and melody.

The track Memories (Someone We'll Never Know) tones down the atmospherics (but doesn't entirely dispense with them) for a gentle piano piece, starting so slowly you can hear each reverb tale between the notes. About halfway through, a violin appears, sustaining at first on a single note and then picking up the melody, before a lyrical cello section closes the piece. The Nursery adds a music box chime to this mix and feels both sadder and more intimate than what has gone before, yet remains a little alien too. We're Going Home combines themes from The Nursery and Memories before breaking into the main melody, feeling more intense now as it's backed by growling distorted guitars and synths.

The closing version of Welcome To Lunar Industries (Three Year Stretch) contrasts a plain electronic beat and soaring string section which briefly quotes Memories, before launching into the main theme for a final time. As the pattern of the plain beat shifts subtly back and forth, a bright clean electric guitar and sample of backwards piano dual with each other, their stuttering signals set against the propulsive beat. The main piano figure returns with for the climax and the piece ends with the rasp of synth and the pulse of the piano fading into space and then disappearing with a snap.

The vinyl pressing of this soundtrack is wonderfully quiet, which is essential for music like this, and while it's not quite 180g, it's not flimsy either. The cover uses the film's artwork, the portrait of Sam against circular background, with glossy stills of Sam Bell and Gerty on the inner sleeve (a plastic liner might have been kinder to the record though). The graphic design on the label, although attractive, is a bit too minimalist for me as I struggled to tell side A from side B. Just so you know, the picture of Sam is Side A. There was no download code included, but it is priced accordingly so no complaints from me.

Overall, this score balances lyrical orchestral instruments with more abstract electronic elements maintaining a beautiful, melancholy effect. It makes you feel cold and alone as if lost in a vast space, but the steady beat and precise melody means it never loses it's sense of purpose, or degenerates into mindless noodling. Every note, harmonic or wash of reverb has a purpose here, and contributes to the emotional journey. If you loved the film you'll be delighted to know that the soundtrack stands up well as a suite of music. If you are interested in hearing modern electronica ideas combined with a classical influence, why not give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 25 May 2010
By 
robotfish "robotfish" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon (Audio CD)
While watching the movie Moon I was incredibly aware that I was enjoying the soundtrack just as much as the visuals and the storyline. On second viewing I realised just how much the soundtrack highlighted the important themes of the movie.
On its own it just works as a beautiful suite of piano led pieces that are both emotionally rich yet wierdly alienating. A really great album to chill out to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon (Audio CD)
I bought this mostly for 'Memories', a truly beautiful piano piece that I place on a level with Vangelis and Blade Runner, and for that alone I give 5 stars - in fact the entire CD is fantastic... the main track is ace. And the film .. will be mine the second it appears on dvd. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful packaging for a marvy soundtrack, 1 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon [VINYL] (Vinyl)
top notch packaging makes this a must. Clint Mansell's eerie soundtrack reminds me of the soundtrack for kiwi sci fi film 'The Quiet Earth', and might even be a mutual bedfellow of the 'picnic at hanging rock' soundtrack too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Moon Music!, 4 Sep 2009
This review is from: Moon (Audio CD)
I am so pleased that this soundtrack has been released. I saw 'Moon' THREE times when I was in the USA recently & loved it. Sam Rothwell's performance is excellent & the story contains much food for thought. It lead to many fascinating discussions in the foyer after the screenings. Clint Mansell's music is a perfect accompaniment to the film & I'm glad I'll be able to listen to it while waiting for the DVD to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great soundtrack with stunning themes, 28 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. P. Scoble "sydsacid" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moon [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I saw this film soon after it was released in theatres and although I was impressed by the movie, it was the soundtrack that grabbed my attention as much as as the story. I had never heard of Clive Mansell before, but loved his themes so much I bought the soundtrack. I NEVER buy soundtracks, so this was a notable exception for me. Admittedly not every theme appeals to me, but the haunting piano led theme that serves as the signature theme to teh soundtrack and the film is truly moving in the way that great classical music is moving. Not very uplifting, as the subject matter required a darker and sombre feel, but a very rewarding listen, especially if you like soundtracks. Perhaps not for classical lovers, but I defy any true classical fan not to love the signature theme. I bought it on vinyl, a nice 180g slice of plastic in a thick gatefold sleeve, and now a nice addition to my ever increasing collection, and a nice oddity too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moon
Moon by Clint Mansell (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews