Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars10
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
2
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 November 2010
4 hours 17 minutes of wonderful tennis from the BBC, as Roger Federer goes for his 6th Wimbledon and (record-breaking) 15th Slam title.

In front of former champions Laver, Santana, Borg and Sampras (plus McEnroe commentating for NBC and Becker for the Beeb), Federer and Andy Roddick put on both the closest final and one of the finest that I can remember. As the Beeb's Sue Barker said afterwards, it's sad that someone had to lose.

One fascinating segment during a change-over shows two of Roger's serves superimposed: the service motion and the point of contact with the ball are identical in both cases, but the ball goes to opposite sides of the service box!

The two discs include the warm-up, the entire match, the award ceremony, interviews with both contestants, and footage of Laver, Borg and Sampras congratulating Roger afterwards.

Boris's fellow-commentators are Andrew Castle and Tim Henman. The picture and sound are both crystal clear.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 August 2012
For much of the 2000's, (before Rafa gatecrashed the party) Roger Federer Vs Andy Roddick was one of the great rivalries in men's tennis at Wimbledon, a rivalry which intensified after the Fed's victory over Roddick in the semis in 2003, followed by Fed prevailing in the final the following year, as well as in 2005. The rivalry was renewed in this classic 5-set encounter.

The gutsy streetfighter Roddick's power game backed up with a rocket serve, against the powerful but graceful Fed's artistic brushstrokes was a mouthwatering prospect. In front of an expectant Centre Court crowd, with former champs including Rod Laver, Bjorn Borg & Pete Sampras in attendance, the battle commenced. In a titanic struggle that didn't disappoint, two of the first 4 sets were settled on a tiebreak. In a match balanced on a knife-edge, the majestic Fed eventually overcame the brave warrior Roddick in a mammoth 30-game deciding set to win his 6th singles title at SW19.

A few details about the two discs: this is the full unedited match (over 4 hours). Both the picture & sound quality are excellent. Andrew Castle, Tim Henman & Boris Becker provide the commentary. You get the warm-up, while post-match coverage includes the trophy presentation, along with the now familiar player interviews with Sue Barker. The extra is a 2-minute interview with Roger Federer. Disc one features the first 4 sets, while the marathon final set occupies disc two. The chapter points are placed at the beginning of each set, which had me scribbling down the times of my fave segments for easy access. Would have been nice to have a few extra chapters but this is still a great release. A must for Fed fans (and lovers of classic Wimbledon matches).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
It's particularly exciting to rewatch this match compared with the 2004 final at Wimbledon between these two. Each have improved since then, of course, so you go from splendid play and Federer's second win which had by no means been assured to Federer's 6th win in front of so many great past tennis Wimbledon winners or finalists, in which Federer passed Sampras's 14 Grand Slams and equalled Borg's number of Wimbledon wins.

Andy Roddick's no mean opponent and this was his 3rd Wimbledon final. Yet again he had to go away without the trophy, but he played an enthralling, close and wonderful game with Federer going to umpteen games in the final set - not fortunately anywhere near the incredible marathon of Isner-Mahut the following year, but quite enough for us nail-biting viewers. 2008 had been a very long and worse rain-interrupted final At least 2009 was not rain-interrupted, but it was pretty long. And whilst I would agree that the 2008 final was one of the greatest matches ever that I've seen, this 2009 final wasn't far off for amazing quality and excitement. The one thing I was curiously sure of in this match, which I couldn't be in the 2008 final, was that Federer was going to win, somehow - I never wavered in that from the end of the first set.

That said, Roddick played his heart out and this must be one of his best matches ever. Wonderful viewing, wonderful players
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
I never liked tennis before federer came along- dont know why really.Federer was such a great player and nice person i just got into it. 2009 was a strange year in tennis federer came into wimbledon that year having finally captured the elusive french open title to complete is set, and with nadal out he was favourite for the title. With grandslam history on the line federer went round by round with general ease, it looked has if it was his at a canter.
However with former champions in attendance the final would become another epic, this time it was not nadal grinding it out but federers foe of years past... Andy Roddick. Roddick came into the final having destroyed british hopes of andy murray, but he had no intentions of laying down to federer. What followed was a classic 5 setter ending in federers 14-16 victory , roddicks 3rd final defeat at federers hands. This dvd covers the whole match- a legendary one for fans of federer and tennis. Emotional on all fronts at the end, this is how sport should be gripping and emotional. AMAZING
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Havig watched the final life, it was good to buy this on DVD and relive this momentous historical occassion, Federer going for his 6th wimbledon crown and 15th grandslam and in the process breaking Pete Sampras's record. The historical implication of this match and one of the best 5 sets ever played at wimbledon, meant added value to this DVD. As a tennis fan, I relish the moments when histroy is made and as a memento of that occassion I bought this dvd. The DVD contains the full match with the award ceremeony and BBC TV commentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2010
If anyone is a fan of tennis played at it's highest level, over a lengthy 5 sets with no strops or bad temper shown then I would urge them to buy this DVD. It has everything a fan would desire, except perhaps the final result if you were a Roddick fan. I am a fervent fan of Roger Federer and can't fault anything he does, but I also like Andy Roddick and if he had been playing anyone else but Roger then I would have been behind him all the way. Both players were so equally matched here that it was difficult most of the time to know which way it would go, and it was only, I think, the fact that it went on so long, and both players were getting so tired that it was an error on Andy's part that gave the title to Federer and not a winning stroke from Roger. I was over the moon of course, as I had been miserable last year when he lost to Nadal, but was glad it was Rafa as opposed to Andy Murray, as at least Rafa is a gentleman! I sincerely hope the DVD of the 2010 Australian Open Final is on DVD soon so I can watch Roger thrash Murray! I had set my tape to record the match but for some unexplained reason coverage was switched from BBC2 to BBC1 and I missed it! To close, this is a classic any fan of tennis should have in their collection and I would give it 10 stars if I could!
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
This product is definitely worth purchasing for any tennis fans!!

However, I was a little disappointed that the dvd does not have any special interviews or features (apart from a short interview with Federer). It purely shows the match.

I would reccommend buying it though if you are a tennis fan.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
See previous review.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2009
It's unfortunate that Amazon UK didn't publish the fact that this DVD only adapts to Euro DVD players- I was all excited when it arrived so quickly, only to learn the DVD doesn't work with DVD players purchased in the U.S. If you're ordering from the U.S....beware!
44 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)