Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect.
Over the last few years we have bought maybe a kettle every 10-12 months. The switches break, they start to leak, or just fail completely. Now we where not going to pay 30-40 any more, it was just not worth it so we went for the cheapest plastic rubbish you could think of.

Cheap plastic rubbish? That could not be further from the truth. This kettle is by far...
Published on 10 July 2012 by Horus

versus
38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Russell Hobbs kettle review
The Russell Hobbs 14944 white electric kettle is very basic, but usefully has clear plastic strip on both sides to allow view of how much water is present. It takes quite a long time to boil, though is very quiet while doing so; also sometimes quite awkward to put back on its stand. It costs very little, so is good value for money so long as you only want something...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by Sark Lover


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Russell Hobbs kettle review, 24 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14944 1.7 L Plastic Immersed Element Kettle in White (Kitchen & Home)
The Russell Hobbs 14944 white electric kettle is very basic, but usefully has clear plastic strip on both sides to allow view of how much water is present. It takes quite a long time to boil, though is very quiet while doing so; also sometimes quite awkward to put back on its stand. It costs very little, so is good value for money so long as you only want something simple. It is light to handle and pours well if you don't tip it too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect., 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14944 1.7 L Plastic Immersed Element Kettle in White (Kitchen & Home)
Over the last few years we have bought maybe a kettle every 10-12 months. The switches break, they start to leak, or just fail completely. Now we where not going to pay 30-40 any more, it was just not worth it so we went for the cheapest plastic rubbish you could think of.

Cheap plastic rubbish? That could not be further from the truth. This kettle is by far and away the best kettle we have bought over the last ten years. It is Super quiet, really fast and is robustly made. I have to say this product should be a lot more expensive as it lays waste to all, let me repeat that, 'ALL' the kettle we have bought over the last decade.

If you need a backup kettle or want to buy a kettle that you can literally throw away after it dies, then this is the beast. It is exceptional for the price and you cannot even hear it boil, the last kettle we had sounded like a Airliner crashing into a train, whilst wild banshees were beaten to death with Vuvuzela. This Russell Hobbs HO accelerator device is like you ears being stroked by Faerie wings floating on clouds of candy floss.

You cannot go wrong with this product, well done to RH for making a kettle worthy of writing a review for. I never expected to do this for a Kettle, but then again it makes me a very fast and tasty cup of Tea. Thank you Kettle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and nasty, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14944 1.7 L Plastic Immersed Element Kettle in White (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this kettle to replace a similar Russell Hobbs kettle that was getting long in the tooth. Unfortunately it is not as good as the old one. After several boils the water still has a plastic tainted flavour and the lettered markings (transfers?)on the kettle have either come off or run. The kettle was cheap and I suppose you get what you pay for. I will buy a more expensive kettle and consign this one to the bin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor, 18 Jan 2013
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14944 1.7 L Plastic Immersed Element Kettle in White (Kitchen & Home)
This is the third one we have had, bought for disabled lady and caravan use, the first two had lids that warped, they never shut, also the plastic went very brown on the outside as if it was getting too hot, the last one was of a better design (the lid shut) but only lasted 28 days before it packed up, we returned it for refund and ordered a Breville, had enough of Russell Hobbs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Russell Hobbs basic kettle, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14944 1.7 L Plastic Immersed Element Kettle in White (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this because I wanted a kettle that would reboil immediately after use - my previous kettle refused to reboil until about 5 minutes had elapsed - which I found very inconvenient.
I also wanted one whose lid was not attached to the main body and depended on pressing a button to get it open. And might go wrong with a stuck mechanism.
The kettle is slow and the method of putting it on the stand is less convenient than the more modern way of having it go onto a round thing. the element is also old fashioned - not as good as a flat bottom which acts as the element.
But it does the job and was not expensive and I don't regret buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kettle, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14944 1.7 L Plastic Immersed Element Kettle in White (Kitchen & Home)
Great Kettle, its light and sit really well in its base, and boils quickly.
I was really pleased with the fact that the lid when opened goes right back, not just half way, which makes filling, emptying and cleaning it so much easier. Well done Amazon - fab product. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence itself!, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14944 1.7 L Plastic Immersed Element Kettle in White (Kitchen & Home)
Both of us are elderly and have chronic arthritis and this is so nimble and light it is just excellent for us - and it looks good too! Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Potentially hazardous!, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14944 1.7 L Plastic Immersed Element Kettle in White (Kitchen & Home)
I purchased the kettle after reading a couple of reviews and was quite happy with others comments. When I unwrapped the kettle I noticed the lid had grooves on the top but thought it may have been the pattern. I filled it and boiled it to clean it out before using it and when I emptied the water it came out from all sides of the lid nearly burning my hand! it's possibly the lid was warped and I immediately sent it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does what it is supposed to, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14944 1.7 L Plastic Immersed Element Kettle in White (Kitchen & Home)
great kettle at a great price, a bit bulky but if you're not looking for anything fancy it does the job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars modern Russel Hobbs, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 14944 1.7 L Plastic Immersed Element Kettle in White (Kitchen & Home)
the kettle boils fast and is easy to fill but unfortunately adds a heavy metalic taste to the water boiled, our old Russel Hobbs is quieter and doesn't affect the water taste, the old kettle has a copper element where as the new one a stainless steel. I would not recomend this kettle to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews