Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Hob I have ever bought
I used a single hob in my flat to do some cooking. I have tried many other hobs, which either it takes too long to get boiling or when you turn the knob to 2 or 3 it will stop boiling completely. Lloytron E831ss Hob takes only a few minutes to boil very rapidly. And when you switch to 2 or 3, it boils rather steadily as well. The only minor downside to it is it takes a...
Published on 25 Nov 2010 by adeltai

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I use this hob every day and I like it.
I bought this to enable me to use my pans that can't be used on an induction hob which I have just had installed.
It does work well but could be better. The edge of the stainless steel surround is very sharp and the switch would be better if it was calibrated because you cannot tell at a glance how high it is turned up.
Published on 18 Nov 2012 by N McDougall


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Hob I have ever bought, 25 Nov 2010
This review is from: Lloytron E831ss 1500w Stainless Steel Table Top Hob (Kitchen & Home)
I used a single hob in my flat to do some cooking. I have tried many other hobs, which either it takes too long to get boiling or when you turn the knob to 2 or 3 it will stop boiling completely. Lloytron E831ss Hob takes only a few minutes to boil very rapidly. And when you switch to 2 or 3, it boils rather steadily as well. The only minor downside to it is it takes a few minutes to reduce the boiling when you turn the switch from 5 to 2, which i think this is normal for every hob. This is the best hob I have used, and I have tried more than 10 types of single hobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid value -- and it works!, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron E831ss 1500w Stainless Steel Table Top Hob (Kitchen & Home)
I'd been looking at, and handling, a few other single hobs before buying this one, so what impressed me out of the box was that this one actually has some weight to it -- the top disc seems pretty thick so I don't expect it to warp. Also, the rubber legs on the bottom combined with the weight mean that it doesn't slip around. So it's all nice and solid. The brushed-finish stainless steel top cover seems very thin, not even 0.8 mm / 20 guage by the looks of it, but I can't see how this matters as it's not especially structural and cleans the same regardless.

The dial seems sturdy and turns and audibly clicks on and off fine, but the numbers are simply raised, not painted, so you really have to peer at them close up to see them (mind long hair!). The light comes on when the hob is in the process of heating -- which means that even when the light isn't on, it doesn't mean that the dial isn't turned to a cooking position, as the hob may simply have reached the desired temperature, waiting to come back on when the temperature drops. So perhaps it may be an idea to leave the hob unplugged when not in use, as if you're not close up it's difficult to see if it's turned on or not (I can imagine an undesirable scenario involving a child). I was surprised that the plug wasn't injection moulded -- I thought they all were today; but still, that makes the plug easier to change, for instance, if doing a European two-pin conversion.

The hotplate is 18.5 cm diameter and recommended for up to 20 cm pans (good wok size as a previous reviewer says). It heats up quite quickly, and it really does cook. Considering the beneficial effect this product can have on your life (cooking!) and the overall build quality, I'm very pleased with it and think it's well worth the money. Will report back if longer-term testing changes that opionion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good little hob, 15 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron E831ss 1500w Stainless Steel Table Top Hob (Kitchen & Home)
I have a fairly expensive cooker and the hob went, have had to wait for a part can manage mainly without it by using my steamer for veg and rice but missed my pasta and proper gravy,this little hob was delivered the day after purchase and has done a great job, am very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I use this hob every day and I like it., 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron E831ss 1500w Stainless Steel Table Top Hob (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this to enable me to use my pans that can't be used on an induction hob which I have just had installed.
It does work well but could be better. The edge of the stainless steel surround is very sharp and the switch would be better if it was calibrated because you cannot tell at a glance how high it is turned up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Llyotron table top hob, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron E831ss 1500w Stainless Steel Table Top Hob (Kitchen & Home)
This met my need when renovating kitchen and i was without a cooker - it however gets very hot - the cooker doesnt glow so you cannot tell it is on - the size makes it very practical and i brought a three tier pan so i could cook a whole meal at once and it managed this well - the knob is needing some attention as a design , you cant see what temperature or heat setting very clearly and i had to use tippex to do my own marking for my use - for the price not a bad buy but requires an mature person to operate other burns inevitable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As expected, 30 April 2011
This review is from: Lloytron E831ss 1500w Stainless Steel Table Top Hob (Kitchen & Home)
Fairly decent value for money - heats up quickly, seems to have a decent coverage and doesn't leak heat to surrounding surfaces. The only improvement could be better visibility of power levels on the dial, but other than that - no problems at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TABLE TOP HOB, 2 Mar 2012
This review is from: Lloytron E831ss 1500w Stainless Steel Table Top Hob (Kitchen & Home)
Great little table top hob. Arrived very quick and heats up very fast.Donot touch the metal sides though as they get very hot. Wood recomend this product to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value with controllability., 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron E831ss 1500w Stainless Steel Table Top Hob (Kitchen & Home)
This is a fabulous table top hob, great for cooking smelly stuff like kippers, bacon sausages etc. in the garden with a mains lead.
I originally bought it for doing scientific tests, I needed to keep water at temperatures of 40, 60 and 90ºC for 24 hours at a time, this hob is perfect because it's controllable at low temperatures. After marking the dial, I found that I could achieve consistent results to within a few degrees. It's powerful, controllable, easy to clean, looks great, construction is solid and the price is right. What more can you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for, 13 April 2013
By 
Ms. N. Rust (Canterbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron E831ss 1500w Stainless Steel Table Top Hob (Kitchen & Home)
Looks cheap, is cheap, works in a cheap way. You get what you pay for, I guess! Also seems to be corroding very fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars holiday buy, 11 July 2013
By 
S. Parfitt (somerset england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lloytron E831ss 1500w Stainless Steel Table Top Hob (Kitchen & Home)
Bought to use in caravan, easy to clean, only minus point it is quite hard to regulate, but it does save on the gas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews