Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
I have only ever seen Robert Cray perform twice and this CD is a great example of him at his best. His vocals are spot on and you can here him moaning in the background whilst doing his guitar solos. It really is a great example of his live show and I only wish this show was longer, however at just over 90 minutes, I shouldn't complain.

If you like Robert Cray,...
Published on 19 Oct 2006 by Stuart Burgess

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not at his best....
I agree with the previous reviewer about the subdued atmosphere on this CD but also I found the performances to be somewhat below par. Having seen Robert Cray live on a number of occasions I can vouch for his performances usually being far superior to this live album. "Live at the BBC" is far more spirited.
Published on 8 Jun 2008 by Dr.Feelgood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 19 Oct 2006
By 
Stuart Burgess (Rugby, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have only ever seen Robert Cray perform twice and this CD is a great example of him at his best. His vocals are spot on and you can here him moaning in the background whilst doing his guitar solos. It really is a great example of his live show and I only wish this show was longer, however at just over 90 minutes, I shouldn't complain.

If you like Robert Cray, buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars live at last, 28 Nov 2006
It's finally here a live album. Most the classics are on here, if you are new to Robert Cray this is an excellent way to discover him as he is much better live than in the studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars understandable performance, 2 May 2014
Some reviewers have commented that this is 1.not his best live album and 2.the audience were subdued and that the Albert Hall was half full as this was a support slot for EC.
As a huge Walter Trout fan you can tell when an artist feeds off his audience.
Walt is a prime example as ive seen him tons of times, and can testify to shows from good to outstanding.The good is Walt doing his best with an audience that while obviously enjoying the show aren't exactly ecstatic participants. Excellent is when he gets a crowd in the palm in his hand and can deliver a truly heartfelt performance from the soul.
I guess what im trying to say is that this is a great live album which, taking into account the above factors,could have been so much better, but is still a great RC performance( listen to 12 Year Old Boy).
Robert IS an astounding performer, see him live, but please do not be swayed from NOT buying this album.
Great music, great band....Great!!!!
I met drummer Kevin Hayes a couple of years ago hitting the skins for Matt Schofield and he said drumming for Robert was an amazing time.I concur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent recording, but the last two tracks on cd1 are below Robert Cray's standard. However this double cd is worth the price for the one track, "Time takes two".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not at his best...., 8 Jun 2008
I agree with the previous reviewer about the subdued atmosphere on this CD but also I found the performances to be somewhat below par. Having seen Robert Cray live on a number of occasions I can vouch for his performances usually being far superior to this live album. "Live at the BBC" is far more spirited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great singer... great guitarist... not sure about the atmosphere though, 4 Feb 2008
By 
Macca "Macca" (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This CD is put together from Robert Cray's spots opening for Eric Clapton on last year's UK Tour. I saw him twice at the NEC and Albert Hall, and was very impressed. He's a great singer, and a unique guitarist. His band was very solid too.

One thing I would say, and I admit i've not heard this CD, is that the atmosphere at the shows was a bit subdued, largely due to the fact that the places were only a third full while Robert was performing. Not sure if this will have transmitted itself onto the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live From Across The Pond
Live From Across The Pond by The Robert Cray Band
Buy MP3 Album10.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews