Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific new album
Let's keep it simple: Farm is tight, energetic, quite loud and just full of superb tunes. To believe that those guys are well in their 40's just puzzles me, as this sounds as fresh as Bug and as precise as Beyond. It sounds like the guys have finally found some peace in their own lives and here they're just having a blast, taking us along on a beautiful rocking ride. The...
Published on 25 Jun 2009 by White frog

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sound Issues
Just in case you have bought this CD and are disappointed with the sound (like I was) be aware that the label has confirmed there was a manufacturing fault on the UK release - resulting in poor sound.

Search the internet and you will see the CD has been recalled, and you can get a replacement with the right sound levels.

I still think DJ are great...
Published on 30 July 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific new album, 25 Jun 2009
This review is from: Farm (Audio CD)
Let's keep it simple: Farm is tight, energetic, quite loud and just full of superb tunes. To believe that those guys are well in their 40's just puzzles me, as this sounds as fresh as Bug and as precise as Beyond. It sounds like the guys have finally found some peace in their own lives and here they're just having a blast, taking us along on a beautiful rocking ride. The melodies are right down superb on the entire album and both J's and Lou's songs are as strong as ever.

I have been a Dinosaur fan for a good 15 years and owning all their previous album I can safely say this is probably their best. It's THAT good.

As Murph said in a recent interview, this album is supposed to be listened to at high volume, so yeah it might sound a little fuzzy for some but the louder you play it the better it sounds. And what a joy of an album it is.

Come on, treat yourself and grab a copy!

A solid 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dinosaur senior..., 7 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Farm [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Jinosaur Dunior are back on top form with this record, I kid you not. An absolute blast of an album, think back in the day when they released "Your Living all Over Me" and "Bug" and your close to how good this album is. I seem to imagine with Lou Barlow back on the scene the guys just sat back and the pieces of this album just fell into place. I cannot recommend this album enough to anyone, even if your not the biggest Dinosaur Jr fan you still got to hear to this album, it's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Tyranosaur Snr than Dinosaur Jr., 10 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farm (Audio CD)
Simply awesome. Some of the tracks are growers, but every one has something to offer. The guitar work from J is stunning. My only con is that it tends to cut through the fine work from Lou and Murph on occassion. I'm a devotee of their early work, and to me this is certainly on a par to the first three albums combined. Far superior to their fractured period of 'Hand it over' and 'Where you bee'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What guitar-based music is all about, 28 Sep 2009
This review is from: Farm (Audio CD)
I'll be short and sweet with this one. Quite simply it's the best thing they've put out since Where You Been, and this new album of theirs is one of the reasons why I like guitar-based music.

The 4 minute extended solo/jam that rounds off I Don't Wanna Go There is worth the purchase price alone - sounding like something Frank Zappa could have put together in his heyday.
Once you get to the 2nd track, "I Want You To Know", you know you won't be disappointed by the rest of it.

I'm simply amazed they can still put together such raw, yet tuneful songs after all these years, when many other bands mellow out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars slacker perfection !, 7 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farm (Audio CD)
is this dinosaur jrs finest album ? if not its a close thing-after releasing their first album in the mid eighties and then all falling out with j mascis in the early nineties and after reforming the original line-up for beyond (a great album also)they made this album which has captured a lot of their old sound -nice and raw and pretty noisy in places -class album , buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much under-rated, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: Farm (Audio CD)
J.Mascis deserves far more attention from the guitar worshipers of the heavy music pantheon! Always tasteful, adventurous, soulful and exciting in equal measure with great song-writing makes for a most satisfying listen every time, just like the 'Beyond' album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naughty leak..., 17 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. M. K. Lane "Mark Lane" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Farm (Audio CD)
Obviously the aforementioned web sheriff of the pitchfork preview had to give and eventually and a few unrestrained fans on the brink of explosion were going to reap the benefits of it; I was one of them. On first spin it was clear this would have been more than worth the wait and naturally the guilt took over and now its pre-ordered with the wait for holding the package no way near as intense but the excitement just as real.

This is because from the word go the album is amazing, feeling initially a lot more accessible than Beyond, though this may be because the latter feels like a really good stepping stone to this one. There aren't really any filler tracks at all, with every contribution feeling as solid as the next. To some extent though it is difficult to find a stand out track, with 'I don't wanna go there' or 'over it' probably claiming the spot overall. The best moments are the solos in 'Ocean in the way' and 'Said the People'... Oh you just wait!

'Plans' feels like a continuation of songs in the same vein as 'Crumble' with the same eerily watery melodic feel with the divine simplicity of the repeated "I got nothing left to be, do you have some plans for me?" summing up the beautiful melancholy of the opening riff. 'Friends' would feel at home on 'More Light' and that proves Lou Barlow's bass would have made that album even better. I should say, you can hear the bass as well! It felt a bit overpowered by the guitar last time round whereas Farm feels a lot more balanced. Lou's tracks are a very welcome turn from J's style but suprisingly don't add as much to the album as they did on the previous one. This being said, 'Your weather' has a really solid chorus that carries the song to another level only to be anchored by another perfect J mascis solo.

It's difficult not to review this from the angle of drawing comparisons to beyond, but the same goes for enjoying it. Its a step up where one didn't feel possible. Beyond felt like the last Rocky film, you felt like they'd done well and the best they could with it, though it obviously wasn't a Rocky II or a You're Living All Over Me... for want of a better analogy anyways... Really this album just solidifies the notion that is was worth while for Dinosaur to get back together - they've done what most reunited bands couldn't; they've remained creative, impressive and a thrill to listen to.

Buy this album. See them live. Ride the wave of a successful reunion thats just as alive as the day it began.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn it up and feel that fuzz, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farm (Audio CD)
This album is incredible!

There aren't many bands around now that could replicate such power, such awesome guitar solos, and loads of disgusting fuzz!

Highlights include Said the People and I Don't Wanna Go There. Two songs that perfectly encapsulate Dinosaur Jr's raw fuzz fuelled power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected., 19 Sep 2014
By 
F. J. Court "Fenton" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farm (Audio CD)
First Dinosaur Jr album for me.
Brilliant!!
I can see the similarity with the Neilster, but this is in a league of its own. The 1st track 'Pieces' is probably the best track for me, but the whole album just rolls through its genre like a juggernaut of rock, sweeping away lesser bands.
Have now bought 'I Bet on Sky' which is nearly as good.
Always put off by the pretentious band name, but not any more, great music, great artwork, pity no more gatefolds of LP size to show it off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good album let down by one thing...., 17 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farm (MP3 Download)
A great album, with virtually all the tracks to my liking especially "plans" and "she's no here". I will say though that the sound quality is a bit iffy, I do know that the early CD pressings had sound quality issues, not sure if this download is from that version but it's not very clear sounding and times, a bit distorted as if my speakers are on their way out, which they are not. On that issue alone it's a 4 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Farm
Farm by Dinosaur Jr. (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews