Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A horrifically fun lampooning of the battle of the sexes
I'll state right from the word go what is glaringly obvious in that "Doghouse", the latest film from British horror movie director Jake West won't win any awards for being original or innovative. More to the point he may not curry favour with the feminist brigade as it might definitely be safe to say that when it is all said and done that It undoubtedly would be accused...
Published on 10 Jun. 2010 by Mr. R. Mcelwaine

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Women love you....
Vince is handling his divorce badly. He's depressed. Gone to pieces.

But his mates aren't giving up on him. Struggling with their own women troubles, they drag him off for an ultimate lads drinking weekend in the country.

Arriving in the village of Moodley where the women outnumber the men 3:1, the boys find themselves holidaying in a village overrun...
Published 1 month ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 30 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Doghouse [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
could NEVER refuse some Danny dyer! Amazing actors in this film could not stop laughing - even my boyfriend who hates Danny dyer loves this film and we watch it quite often. Definitely one everyone should have in their collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disc was in good condition, 29 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doghouse [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Disc was in good condition and had no scratches and played with no problems will order from these guys again for sure

It is a well funny comedy horror movie a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Take your brain out and enjoy, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doghouse [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Yes there are some really funny parts and some weak stupid parts to this film. However, on the whole it's enjoyable and it's a "British" zombie film with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's not even a good "rubbish" horror film -if that makes sense?!??, 1 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Doghouse [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Save your money and get Shaun of The Dead or buy it if you are only really desperate. The only tiny hint of a reason for the zombie lady killers was a candiate for an up coming election -it really didnt make sense... they should have saved that bit for the extras. The film was rubbish and I normally like films like this and in a nice way find Danny Dyer midly irritating, amusing and annoying. It only reason to watch it is to see the fat bird get runover and the end scene. The worst/annoying thing is that if you buy it you will have no only parted with your money but you will have it in your collection and it will be pointlessly just sitting there.

It's not even a good "rubbish" horror film -if that makes sense?!??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "We're all suffering from social gender anxiety.", 11 Feb. 2010
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doghouse [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
When a group of lads plan to go on a jolly to an isolated village to escape their women-folk and enjoy a bit of macho debauchery - they don't expect to find themselves slap bang in the middle of what looks like a Bruce Campbell film...

Fed up of being hen-pecked and 'celebrating' Vince's divorce, the seven guys arrive at the village of Moodley and there are hints (obvious ones!) that all is not well - bloody hand prints, spent bullets, and of course flesh eating women.

We soon learn that the men of the village have been eaten by the women who have turned into zombie-like killers. The zombies themselves are parodies of those from classic zombie film; they shriek and hiss, they slowly amble rather than move quickly, and when you come across one they spend a few moments putting on a dramatic display enabling you to slip by them.

The film doesn't take itself seriously, it knows that it's a bit lame and milks it. Most of the comedy comes from the over-the-top gore and the way the lads will stop and argue over something trivial when facing near-certain death at the hand of zombified females. Much is made of the chauvinism displayed by the boys, in particular by one character Neil (Danny Dyer) who frequently refers to the fact that the ladies love him. In many ways their experience could be seen as retribution for their sexist ways, and perhaps there's meant to be some sort of message in the film - but if there is then it never really comes across.

In a nutshell: Doghouse is much better film than the dire Zombie Strippers, but nowhere nearly as well crafted as Shaun of the Dead. It starts off brilliantly and the way the characters are introduced look stylish and well written, but the film soon becomes the sort of flick which seems as though the whole concept and plot were conceived during a fifteen minute conversation in the pub. The comedy just about manages to string together the scenes but the film never feels anything more than average - it's a brainless movie which could have been much better with a bit more work. Dan Schaffer is primarily comic-book creator rather than film writer, and this would have worked much better as a graphic novel - actually, it could have been brilliant then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great zombie comedy., 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doghouse [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Zombie comedy ,love this film ,its woman zombies only ,who want to kill all men ,lots of gore in it but very funny too .highly reccomend .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The female of the species is more deadly than the male., 10 May 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doghouse [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Vince is crestfallen, his relationship with his lady is over. Enter his blokey bloke mates who decide to take him out to a country village for a fun lads weekend. Trouble is is that the village of Moodley has seen the female population turned into an army of man-eating "zombirds" out for male flesh.

No doubt about it, Doghouse will not so much divide in two the horror/comedy faithful, it will dissect them into little pieces and continue to do so for quite some time. Already it has been chastised for being misogynistic, a poor imitation of British genre benchmark Shaun Of The Dead, and more baffling to me, a waste of British talent. All of which are wrong. Of which the last statement from me has probably already seen a number of internet users vote negative on this review before reading further. Cest la vie, but if you are still with me? Then thank you for your time.

Doghouse is one of the most in tune self mocking British comedies concerning lad culture of recent times, arguably ever?. Fifteen minutes into the film our group of "lads," after having been introduced to us thru a series of attitudes involving their partners {there's a gay guy too folks}, stand together and a phone rings. The ring tone is that bastion of British machismo, the "Match Of The Day" theme, our group collectively dig into their pockets for their mobiles thinking it may be their phone ringing. From here on in, the marker for what type of film Doghouse is has been set.

From here we lurch into a battle of the sexes with wry observations as our "heroes" do battle with zombiefied female stereotypes. Hairdresser, dentist, schoolgirl, goth girl, a bride, horsey type and even a god dam lollipop lady. All scripted with astute knowing and self-critique from Dan Schaffer as the "lads" veer from scared cat wimps to once again being sexually brave Ramboesque types. Honestly, and I speak as a seasoned British male, some of the dialogue here is as sharp as the sexy zombie hairdresser girl's scissors are. Oh yeah, forgot to say that the blood flows for those of the gore persuasion, very much so. Some scenes are horror delights, they may come with a quip or a tongue in cheek reference, but there is some fine blood letting stuff here.

In the cast you have Stephen Graham, Noel Clarke and Danny Dyer. I wonder how many folk have noticed the irony that all three guys are not long out of being in "blokey" hooligan type films? Dyer does his usual Cockney wide boy act that will annoy those who don't buy into it, but really there is a reason he plays to type, it's because like it or not? He's effing good at it governor. Graham and Clarke are both British treasures, not based on this film you understand, but they have much ability and it's great to see them having such a great time. While the support from the likes of Lee Ingleby as a horror comic/Evil Dead fan is truly "nudge nudge-wink wink" enjoyable. Director Jake West has moved considerably a few notches forward with this picture, so add his name to the list of British genre directors to watch alongside Paul Andrew Williams and Christopher Smith.

Comparisons with Shaun Of The Dead are folly, that film is an awesome parody of the genre, a film that remains a sub-genre highlight. This is a different film, tho, one that parodies the genre with a totally focused observational narrative on a culture that warrants humorous inspection. So be it, I will happily watch this {and will} with my cinema loving missus because I know she will see the pointedness of it all. And besides, any film that slots in Space's magnificent "The Female Of The Species" has to be worth a look at least.... 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doghouse, 24 Jun. 2010
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doghouse [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Not much can be said about this film, it's British, cheap, low budget, funny in places, has some good special effects and some bad, it has Danny Dyer in it, I don't know if that's good or bad but at least he isn't pretending to be a tough man!

Long story short......a group of lads/men go to a village to drink lots of beer after one of them gets dumped by his girlfriend, they are destined to stay at the Grandma's of one of them.

They get there to find the place full of zombies and so the fight begins. Worth a watch if you like this sort of film, end of short version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scary but funny, 24 April 2014
By 
Mohammed87 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived today, packaging was okay, the movie is great and the quality was 10/10. I am happy with my purchase. I recommended it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UK version is Region Free, 4 July 2010
By 
D. Cooke (canada, courtice) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just reviewing the blu-ray disk, not the movie itself.
In case you are put off with the over inflated North American price for this movie.
Buy it direct from Amazon.co.UK, it is a fraction of the price, and the blu-ray being sold is an all region version.

Good quality version.

Death to Region codes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doghouse [DVD] [2009]
Doghouse [DVD] [2009] by Jake West (DVD - 2009)
£3.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews