Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Year One - loads of fun!!
Some arty critics said this film was not much good, but I bought it and laughed many times - sometimes in tears as it was so funny in places. I would recommend this film to pass a few hours and cheer yourself up. Enjoy...
Published on 21 Dec 2009 by Terence L. Warwick

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This film will have you laughing
I was put off watching this film for quite some time due to many bad reviews, however I was glad I eventually thought I would give it a chance, and I'm glad I did. This film will have you laughing as the comedy pairing of Black and Cera works exceptionally well, if you're in the mood for a senseless comedy then this is right up your street and will not disappoint.
Published on 10 Aug 2010 by Rebecca


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This film will have you laughing, 10 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Year One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I was put off watching this film for quite some time due to many bad reviews, however I was glad I eventually thought I would give it a chance, and I'm glad I did. This film will have you laughing as the comedy pairing of Black and Cera works exceptionally well, if you're in the mood for a senseless comedy then this is right up your street and will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better Than 10,000 Years BC!, 18 Oct 2009
This review is from: Year One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Well this probably won't be one for the "In The Loop" fans who panned my review of that movie, but if you're looking for a bawdy Carry On/Scary Movie style homage to the caveman genre this will be up your street. Not that the plot matters much in this sort of film but it does kind of spoof 10,000 Years BC. Unlike that movie the only cringing you will be doing is from some of the more squirmish humour.

As others have commented, this is really for adults only and would not recommend viewing by under 15's.

Jack Black is back on form as I didn't enjoy Be "Kind Rewind" at all.

Embarassing moment for me...I actually thought at first Michael Cera's character was a girl!

There's all sorts of cameo appearances, the highlight probably being Vinnie Jones as a sadistic soldier. Be sure to stay for the gag reels during the closing credits.

This is not a movie which is going to win any awards but it made me smile and at around 90 minutes is perfect for a bit of silliness to unwind from a busy day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Year One - loads of fun!!, 21 Dec 2009
By 
Terence L. Warwick "Terry W" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Some arty critics said this film was not much good, but I bought it and laughed many times - sometimes in tears as it was so funny in places. I would recommend this film to pass a few hours and cheer yourself up. Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest films ever!, 4 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Year One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I went to see this film and couldn't wait for it to come out on DVD as I have never laughed out loud so much while at the cinema. I have watched it twice over Christmas with family who also really enjoyed it. If you are into Jack Black and silly humour, this film is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not worth the money, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Year One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
the video clip looked very good but no real story line not even funny, I wish I hadn`t bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I got the humour, but they did it for themselves..., 28 Dec 2011
Ramis is notorious for this,,, if you are making a film you have a responsibility to make your audience laugh as well as yourself ! Perfect picture on blu-ray, great audio, great "review" humour but too self indulgent. I liked this film but had to wait too long inbetween gags and the "gay" humour was too 70s and too obvious. Ramis no doubt had a ball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 10 Nov 2011
This review is from: Year One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Wanted to see this at the Cinema, but (luckily) I never got around to it. It came to BT Vision so I saw it for free. Jack Black is always hit or miss...and this is a miss. Really it's not funny at all, it's stupid (in a bad way) and tiresome, but it could have been great fun. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing, 7 Sep 2011
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Year One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
It would have been disturbing in an 18cert thriller, mainly because it takes the 'sophistication' away from let's say, a long distance sniper shot, or even a closer killing with a gun. Even a knife would have seemed less disturbing, but seeing Cain repeatedly bash Abels skull in with a simple rock in a comedy film left a bad taste in the mind.
If this is 'modern comedy', I just don't get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars In which many talented people combine their mental aberrations and expect us to sit through it., 10 Dec 2013
This review is from: Year One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A Partially Educated Review

The main criticism that's often thrown at Judd Apatow's films is that they're far too long. It's not something that I'm going to try and deny as, quite often, it's a valid complaint. However, I would rather sit through a decent film that's a bit too long than one that's just bad from the start. It's with that in mind that I have my own rule. If a film involving Judd Apatow (in any capacity) runs nearer an hour and a half than two hours, it's probably awful. There's exceptions to that rule, with Walk Hard being the biggest. Most of the time, though, it's fairly accurate with Fun With Dick And Jane, Drillbit Taylor and Wanderlust all serving to back this up. Chief of them all though (and I'm sure you've all guessed where I'm going with this) stands Year One.

To say it's a disaster is to understate the point through the employment of an overused word, but it feels like a film that the word was invented for. Every single element of this film drops to it's knees in a spectacularly pathetic attempt to beg for your amused approval. I'd be remiss to say it all fails. It doesn't. Jokes involving the invention of the wheel elicited some laughs from me that made me think it was kicking into gear. A cart chase that follows soon after gave me even more hope that the film was going to be great, with a merely lackluster beginning. Unfortunately, those jokes are both done within the first half an hour and they really are the film's last laughs.

So, where does the blame lie? Everywhere really. We'll start from the top though. Harold Ramis' directorial career has pretty much lived and died off the fact that he made Groundhog Day. It's not his only decent film, but it stands out well above the rest. Deservedly so, it's a comedy classic. In addition, it's not a surprise he's capable of making a bad film because Bedazzled exists, but even that had some semblance of comic capability to it. Year One feels like a load of people coming together who are far too sure of their own comedic brilliance and have just been left to their own devices. A controlling hand should have been there to say the simple and necessary word: No. It's in this where Harold Ramis has failed far more than he he ever has before. Even more than when he accepted a part in Airheads.

What of these comedy geniuses though? Why is it they're failing so much when they've previously demonstrated commendable skill in the genre? It's simply because they don't blend well together. Both Michael Cera and Jack Black take on their well-known personas, but instead of working as polar opposites, they instead expose the irritating flaws in each other's characters. I used to think I liked Jack Black, but I honestly don't. He irritated me to the point that he nearly ruined Tropic Thunder. He bored me into a catatonic stupor with Nacho Libre and I'll save my grievances with Envy for a later date. He even grates on me in School Of Rock, leaving me somewhat baffled as to why I still like that film. Nonetheless, you can't watch Jack Black and get too annoyed when he plays a cocksure, slightly deluded and loud-mouthed character through which the comedy is pulled out of his own delusions, since that is, after all, the character he's made his career out of. Michael Cera plays the antithesis to this: shy, awkward and anything but confident. If comedy comes from conflict, then the pairing of these two should be a walk in the park, but instead of helping each other, though, it feels like they're trying to expose the worst aspects of each other. Cera becomes whiny and pitiful, kicking up a slight fuss every time Black tries to force him into something he doesn't want to do, before giving in and becoming Black's bitch. As for Black, he just comes off as an arrogant prick. Neither are fun to be in the company of, leaving you to side with the other cavemen who hate them. Every time Matthew J. Willig's Marlak threatens to "kill them where they stand", you wish he'd just gone ahead and done it a long time ago.

Elsewhere, the rest of the cast are comprised of either cameos or glorified cameos. Oliver Platt contributes to some of the film's many gross-out gags, but unfortunately these gags are being done better by The Farrelly Brothers even today, let alone when they were in their prime. Even Hank Azaria fails to be funny and that almost never happens. Christopher Mintz-Plasse wheels out McLovin AGAIN and David Cross remains under the illusion that he's funny. Then, just when you thought the film was torturous enough, Vinnie Jones arrives. As for female characters, forget it, none of them are given any real chance to try and get some laughs and they're there purely for the purpose of eye-candy. In this department, they succeed. Sadly, anyone who's seen Olivia Wilde and Juno Temple in other films will know that they're capable of so much more.

It's the obligatory outtakes sequence that proves where the film's problems really lie. First off, they're not funny, even for cheap laughs. If there's one place where it's easy to get a cheap laugh, it's the outtakes. There's no imagination or wit to them, it is literally people forgetting their lines, combined with Jack Black providing the bodily omissions and Bill Hader wheeling out his Al Pacino impression. A good impression? Yes. Funny the eighteenth time? Not really. Critically though, the outtakes expose that the cast and crew had fun making this film. Morecambe and Wise didn't enjoy making comedy. It drove them mad. Pull out any documentary on them and you'll see people backing this up. If you're having fun making a comedy, it's probably no fun for the audience because you need to be scrutinizing every joke and making sure that it's funny. The result is that over-analysis makes you sick of that joke, but it ensures that it's enjoyable for more people than just yourself. There isn't a single person involved in Year One who hasn't failed in some capacity, meaning that the blame is even and can be spread between all of them. To say that careers have suffered because of this film isn't a longshot. Ramis hasn't directed since. Black has only really had Kung Fu Panda to provide him with any success and that's not really sold off his name. As for Cera, he's faced an unprecedented swan-dive with the terrible Youth In Revolt and the, undeserved, commercial disaster that was Scott Pilgrim being the only two things of real note he's done since then. Year One is a film that has seriously hurt careers. The film itself is incapable of providing a silver lining to that fact.

ONE out of five
Contains possibly the worst comedy of modern times. And it's only possibly, because I haven't seen Movie 43 yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bible...Tastic?, 30 Aug 2010
By 
Joanna Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Year One [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This film is hilarious. This is DEFINATELY one of Jack Blacks finest, but also i think a very good Michael Cera movie, who i also love.

Plot:

Zed (Jack Black) gets excluded from his tribe when he eats the sacred knowledge fruit. Oh (Michael Cera) is then forced to join him because Zed accidently burns down his house. On there travels to go to the otherside of the mountain, they go through various stages from the old testimant bible, including meeting Isaac (Christopher Mintz-plasse) and saving him from being sacrificed, and being took slave by romans. Whilst this happens, the rest of there tribe are captured and they both try to rescue there lovers and get laid. Yeah, this film does end up turning into a "Tried to get laid" film. Like most of Michael Ceras films, actually...

Cast:

There are some very good actors in here, with the main two being Jack Black (My favourite actor) And Michal Cera (Another very good actor). But theres also Christopher Mintz-plasse whom i think is a very good actor. And, theres the very Under-rated Kyle Gass who has the funniest scene in the whole film, which i shan't spoil. Then theres Vinnie Jones and Juno Temple who i think is a very good actor.

Now, i know alot of people rant about the age for this film, and yes, it should DEFINATELY of been a 15 in cinemas, as i wastched it for my 12th birthday. But, being that age, i found it incredibly and funny, but probably quite disturbingly, i understood all the jokes... Actually, no, it should of been an 18, because, it does say the forbidden "C" word, which im sure many dont hear, but if you watch the scene with subtitles, the High Priest says "Gorgous little ****" Just in case, y'know, you cared...

Overall, a very good film, and a perfect comodey watch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Year One [DVD] [2009]
Year One [DVD] [2009] by Harold Ramis (DVD - 2009)
2.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews