Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars see you next summer
Twelve years since their last full studio album with C.C. and Hollyweird is here, "Welcome to my city, the girls are so damn pretty, such a pity they don't come for free." Yes, Poison are back with some more fantastic lyrics.
There are no outstanding songs on this album but I'm sure no one is realistically expecting Poison to produce another classic song...
Published on 26 Jun. 2002 by J M Woodward

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wait a minute Bret, there's something I wanna say
I've been listening to Poison for years and this is definitely their worst effort yet. Aside from the title track, Shooting Star (AKA Fallen Angel reworked), Rockstar and the stuff that CC sings on this is rubbish. Its completely formulated and sounds like no effort was put it to write some decent songs, merely a collection of left-overs. Some of the lyrics are...
Published on 28 Jun. 2002 by Mr. A. H. Wallace


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars see you next summer, 26 Jun. 2002
By 
J M Woodward (Witham, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hollyweird (Audio CD)
Twelve years since their last full studio album with C.C. and Hollyweird is here, "Welcome to my city, the girls are so damn pretty, such a pity they don't come for free." Yes, Poison are back with some more fantastic lyrics.
There are no outstanding songs on this album but I'm sure no one is realistically expecting Poison to produce another classic song like some of their earlier material.
Hollyweird however, unlike Poison's first four albums, is consistantly good throughout. The title track and Rockstar stand out as being typical cool Poison songs with both stupid lyrics and a great tune. Shooting star is one of the best songs, it's got a great riff but the guitar solo sounds like every crapy unplanned ridiculously fast solo C.C. plays on Swallow This Live, at least this one might sound more accurate when he plays it live.
It's a little disappointing that they've used the same song twice even though it's not especially good, but the other songs that C.C. sings are good although I'd rather hear Brets vocals throughout on a Poison album.
On the whole it's a good album with some great songs and a fantastic front cover, and as always Bret gets his harmonica out and there is plenty of Poisons classic GCD combo. There's even a "come on C.C. play that thing," a "come on Bobby, yeah I like that" and a "Mr Rockett, give me some drums." It's just what I was expecting from them and any real Poison fan will not be disappointed.
Don't take any notice of any bad reviews from Andy Wallace. He had the same negative attitude to Brets solo album and to Poisons last three albums when they came out but now he likes them all, he'll love this in six months time. I do agree with him in one respect, buy this album so Poison get their asses over to these shores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boys are back in town, 21 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Hollyweird (Audio CD)
Glam L.A. Kings have found their way back. CC's virtuosity mixed with long time Brets melodic vocals have returned, thank God for it!
Its been a long time and a long wait, but it was truly worth it. I love this record so much, although I'm not so sure that's only the music inside it that makes me have such an appreciation, but I guess I wanted so hard to have something new from them, that I have to put this work a 5 stars. Behind Look What The Cat Dragged In or Open Up, but surely a must have on your Poison collection.
One thing you'll miss, no ballads in it. Maybe we'll be luckier next time, I'm already waiting...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars their best album since 'open up...', 22 July 2002
By 
This review is from: Hollyweird (Audio CD)
Poison finally return with a blistering effort! If you like Poison, you're gonna love this album! I always thought Poison went down hill after 'Open Up And Say Ahhh..'but this album sees them stripped down to the basics both musically and lyrically.Gone are the annoying Gospel backing singers and pretentious virtuoso guitar players.In comes C.C. Deville and a return to no frills, dumb lyrics rock n' roll.Poison with C.C. is like Kiss with Ace Frehley-it's messy but somehow it works! This album is everything that Flesh & Blood should have been-the songs have a spontaneous kinda feel to them.This is the sound of a band no longer concerned with album sales or trying to prove themselves as 'serious' artists-a band content with who they are and just enjoying themselves.Make no mistakes-this is an outstanding comeback album,it gives the fans exactly what we want!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poison - Looking older, sounding younger, 17 Sept. 2002
By 
David Bondar (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hollyweird (Audio CD)
FACT - This album is a must for anyone who is/was/wants to be into Poison. It has been a long time coming but it has definately been worth the wait. This album is Poison back to their very best. Not in the same league as Open up.... but on a par with Flesh and Blood. The standout, singalong tracks are Shooting Star, Coming Home (both versions), Wishful Thinking and Emperors new Clothes. The inclusion of CC's vocals are a surprising but welcome addition to some of the tracks and do give these songs a punkier, hardcore edge. The lyrics are typically Poison. From thoughtful to down right vulgar, but each with an element of fun thrown in. This album has been played 4 times in as many days in the car and it keeps getting better and better. I can heartily recommend this.
Just hope they see sense and get on over her to tour, as Hanoi Rocks have !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollyweird is Awesome. Flashback Central, 26 July 2002
By 
This review is from: Hollyweird (Audio CD)
What a great album. Hollyweird makes you almost forget that the 90s happened. It's 60 minutes unadulterated 80s glam, from the opening track Hollyweird, all the way thru to Rock Star. Simplistic tunes. Simple vocals and a pounding energy that makes you want to get up and dance. I saw them 3 times in the past three years and they still put on the best show. Well, they've captured the energy on this album. So sit back, grab you best leather pants and bottle of JD, pull the shades down tight and ROCK ON!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wait a minute Bret, there's something I wanna say, 28 Jun. 2002
By 
Mr. A. H. Wallace "Wal" (Runcorn, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hollyweird (Audio CD)
I've been listening to Poison for years and this is definitely their worst effort yet. Aside from the title track, Shooting Star (AKA Fallen Angel reworked), Rockstar and the stuff that CC sings on this is rubbish. Its completely formulated and sounds like no effort was put it to write some decent songs, merely a collection of left-overs. Some of the lyrics are embarrassing too! Its a major let down as I liked the studio tracks on Power.. and some of A Letter soundtrack. Finally, there are no ballads which is unusual for Poison.
If you're a Poison fan you should still buy it, especially if you're in the UK then maybe we might get another tour which would be cool (provided they don't play anything of this!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll is Back! Poison are Back!, 5 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hollyweird (Audio CD)
we have waited too long, but god was it worth it! take the main ingredients of rock and give them to the 4 most talented rock gods ever (bret, bobby,rikki and c.c)and let the music do the talking. this album is amazing, poison at thier best. songs such as devil women and shooting star stick out from this album packed with emotion and pure genius. poison are the best and this album is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Catchy Album, 19 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Hollyweird (Audio CD)
Yeah, I got this album today and I think it's a great album with some really catchy songs! I must say though, I'm not that keen on a lot of the lyrics. Most of them are fine, but Poison love singin' about sex and porn stars witch I think's a bit sad. But enough said. If you like all Poisons older music, your probably like this album! (Slightly Weird picture on the front cover! Great Bike though!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollyweird (Audio CD)
This is a great album, and the original line up as well. I liked it from start to finish. Poison have still got it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poison showing they still have what it takes..2b the BEST, 28 May 2002
By 
haydenharleyquim@aol.com (LUTON, BEDFORDSHIRE, UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hollyweird (Audio CD)
The hero's of Rock keep this Genre alive by releasing another stomping album.
The LA Quartet take you through one hell of a rollercoaster ride of ROCK!!!
Opening the album with the title track HOLLYWEIRD, Poison show they are on top form.
With the unmistakenly vibrant but cool vocals of Bret, the unique style of Rikki pounding the beats on his drums, the ultra cool bass slapping Bobby and the dynamic C.C Deville with his electrifying guitar rhythms, show,....... they still have what it takes to REALLY be the BEST.
There are no stand out tracks on this album as every song is as good as the next.
C.C takes lead vocals on 'Emperor's New Clothes' 'Livin' In The Now' and 'Home' -(C.C's Story). All of which sounding similar in musical content to his Samantha7 project.
This album is a must for any Rock collection and will not gather dust as many of you will be spending numerous hours locked in the depths of Poison world, acting out on your air guitars, singing and dancing to the mezmorizing sounds of these all time favorites..........POISON!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hollyweird
Hollyweird by Poison
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews