Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars105
3.1 out of 5 stars
Platform: Nintendo Wii|Change
Price:£9.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2009
Ever since the Wii came out there has been a call for a decent cricket game for the system. So hats off to Codemasters for finally bringing out a cricket game on the Wii.

Firstly the good points. As mentioned by previous reviewers, we finally get to play a proper version of cricket on the Wii after a long wait. And that scores a lot of points first off.

Second, it is a good attempt at simulating cricket on the Wii (given the pre motion-plus limitations of the Wii remote as this game doesn't use the motion plus).

Batting is fun. It's possibly not quite what you would expect (ie the swing of the bat doesn't determine placement), but it does give a decent batting feel.

I like the fact that you can either just choose to hit the ball and have the computer decide the placement or you can chose where you want to try to hit the ball before you swing. This gives you more control and strategy (ie trying to beat the field).

You can chose to play a defensive shot, a normal hit (the type will depend on where you are trying to hit ball) or a lofted shot, to try to acheive the big SIX. There is a timing meter that gets bigger or smaller depending on the skill of the bowler you are facing, the bowlers confidence, and the batsmans confidence. This makes it harder or easier to hit the ball where you want to.

The bowling is also fun and gives you a decent amount of control. You chose the ball placement by pointing the Wii at the pitch to determine where you want it to land (this is easier than it sounds). You then do a sort of bowling motion, and can add swing or spin (depending on the type of bowler), or chose to bowl a fast, normal or slow delivery.

There is also the option of a 'perfect' delivery. This option becomes available if you get 3 good deliveries in a row. This doesn't always result in a wicket, but it is fun to use. The force of your Wii remote swing also determines the speed of the ball.

A novel feature is the ability to 'polish' one side of the ball on your cricket whites, by moving the Wii remote up and down as the bowler would in real life. As well as being fun, it does actually make a difference to the amount the ball will swing, although the drawback is that it makes it slightly harder to bowl.

You can set your field however you want. There is a simple option of using pre determined fields, which can be attacking or defensive, or you can place fielders if you are leaking runs in a certain area of the pitch.

There is an option to ask your captain for advice during the game. Another neat feature is hearing the batsmens run calls through the Wii remote itself.

There is a decent tutorial mode, that will teach anyone how to play the game (although if you aren't already familiar with cricket it doesn't teach very much about the sport itself).

There are around 7 international teams I believe. England and Australia are the only licensed teams, but if you know your cricket, then you can determine who is supposed to be who.

You can play exibition games of 6 or 10 overs. A Twenty20 game, or a 40 or 50 over one dayer. As well as the ultimate form of cricket, the Test Match. There are normal cricket versions and double wicket version, but I don't know what the double wicket version is.

There are various scenarios to play through (ie score a certain amount of runs in a certain number of overs, or survive to the end of a match).

And of course, you can play the full Ashes 2009 campaign, starting in Cardiff and ending at The Oval. There are about 10 grounds featured in the ground in total.

There is also multiplayer options for up to four players, either co-operatively or competitively. You can save the game at any point.

So plenty of good things in the game for cricket fans, but now onto the bad points.

The graphics are not up to usual standards. The are not terrible, but the Wii is capable of better.

Apart from the Ashes mode, there aren't enough competitive game versions. The exhibition matches are all one off games, so a user created tournament or league would have been a nice option.

You can't edit the players' names. It would have been nice to put the correct names in the game, or even put yourself in the game.

The fielding is a bit suspect at times. However it wasn't as bad as I was expecting from reading other reviews. And so long as it is the same standard for each team, then the game is fair.

You don't have any control of the actions of your fielder. I read from other reviews that the fielders are always dropping catches, but didn't find this to be as bad as people have reported.

The difficulty level of the game is not as challenging as it could be. Maybe next time have a super hard mode.

As mentioned elsewhere, the use of motion plus would have added a whole new dimension to the game, but hopefully that is something we can look forward to in future releases.

So in closing, I would like to say that it is great to finally see cricket on the Wii. And whilst there is room for improvement, if the game sells well then this will hopefully prove that there is a market for cricket games on the Wii prompting a motion plus version to be released in the future.

Overall, Ashes 2009 is a fun attempt at cricket on the Wii. It could have provided a bit more depth, but if you like your cricket, you will enjoy this game.
44 comments|136 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2009
There was a lot of negativity in the initial reviews-mostly mistaken in my view. This is a solid Wii effort. The controls work well and create a fun and controllable game. When a batsman you are controlling gets out you can see what you have done wrong and try to correct it. When you achieve success as a bowler, it's easy to know why and possible to replicate this. The visuals are not ideal, there are missing elements (such as no white ball and no limited overs fielding restrictions). I would consider buying the game twice for a more in depth one player experience to go with this more 'hit and giggle' game. I would love more manual fielding, a result screen, better AI captaincy and less twitchy manual batting aiming. But I know this will be a game to enjoy for a while to come.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2009
As a few other reviewers have stated, I think the harsh comments made about this game are unfair.

People have moaned about the graphics, for the wii I think their perfectly acceptable, the crowd, normally horrific on wii games, is good, as are the players themselves, although the likeness to their actual faces are pretty poor.

In terms of presentation, the menus styles are clean, crisp and easy to follow, and the presentation of the game itself is good.

When it comes to fun and gameplay, it is fabulous, as a cricketer myself, I feel that it would be too complicated for the player to time the ball and make sure they pierce the field aswell, certainly not for a casual gamer. The gameplay is some of the best ive seen on a wii game, the shots are proper cricket shots, the running between the wickets is decent but the game does fall down on the fielding, which is not great, but as you dont play as the fielders thats not rally a problem is it? The bowling is fun, shining the ball with the wii remote is good as is the simple way you bowl whilst still feeling involved.

If you want to play this for a long time, its fabulous aswell, the ashes tests will take a long time to complete, a bonus in my opinion, the fun 6, 10 and 20 forms and the different teams to play with, despite their dodgy player names.

Overall, the pros for this game are:
-Fun single and multiplayer games
-Good graphics for the wii
-Good use of the wii remote
-Long ashes campaign.
-Good bowling and batting mechanics.

There are cons, as you would expect.
-Poor fielding
-Poor commentary, there are only a few dull anecdotes you can listen too.
-No online

Overall, if you're a cricket fan wanting to win the ashes for England in one place atleast, want a intuitive way to use the wii remote and simply want a fun time with your wii, I suggest you buy this game.

If you want button bashing with great graphics and online play, i suggest you throw your wii in the bin and buy an xbox.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2009
I really think that some of the 1 star reviews of this game are harsh and were made in haste, but then again I guess first impressions count. People seem to be expecting more on the graphics side of things either because they think the Wii is capable of better or purely compared to other consoles.

The graphics are not garbage as some would have you believe, if you're that bothered about graphics buy another console!

Some nice touches I think with shining the ball and having gone through the batting and bowling tutorials they are quite good and easy to pick up. Another reviewer said that the batting was poor - it's not believe me. You can have a precise aim (despite no motion plus) by holding down on the directional pad and aiming at the screen before playing your shot by swinging the remote. The swing on the bowling is good and again, it is pretty easy to pick up within a short space of time.

I think the fielding side of it could be a bit better to be honest as the fielders tend to stumble a touch and stutter before throwing but that's not something which detracts a lot from the gameplay.

I'd like to have seen rain affecting tests and things but it has not been included on this game. I've yet to play this on multiplayer but I will be doing soon and I have the feeling this will be really good because having just played the computer so far I have not felt the same way as some reviewers.

The commentary has some nice touches too, with realistic Sky Sports style changes in the commentary box.

Would have liked obviously to have things like more grounds and proper squad names on some teams but I guess it all depends what you are looking for as to if you will be happy with this game or not. I think some of the criticism has been unjust and picky and these are not completely major things which make the game rubbish.

I'd give this in all honesty around 3-4 out of 5. There's room for improvement but it is worth getting - not a bad effort at all for the first Wii cricket game. Hope this helps!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2009
OK, so a lot of the reviews on here so far are slating this game. I think that's massively unfair.

Yes, the graphics aren't high definition, but, that really doesn't matter at all, the whole point of this game is about the physical sensation of swinging the wiimote like a cricket bat and bowling like in real life.

And to the other reviewer who said that you swing the wiimote horizontally in front of you to bat, I'm not really sure where he got that idea from. To bat, you hold the wiimote pointing down, side on to the TV and swing in an arc like a cricket bat.

Bowling is also good, but not perfect, more control over the speed of the delivery based on the pace of the wiimote swing coupled with the swing/spin motion. It doesn't require the proper bowling motion to carry it out, but if you kept doing that to play a whole test match you'd probably finish up with a dislocated shoulder!

Overall though, this a very solid effort for a first attempt and would work very well with a group of friends. More suitable as a social game than a thorough in-depth single player offering, but I eagerly look forward to the 2010-11 version with full Wii-Motion support included!! (I hope) After reading the prior reviews, it was much better than I was expecting.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
Overall the game is very good, if it was for a few niggles and missing features it would be excellent.

Pros:
The game is much harder and more challenging than the previous Brian Lara games.
Even a beginner can be hitting sixes after a few minutes.
Batting is very instinctive after you've got the hang of it.
Great fun with four players.
Licensed player names in Ashes Mode.
The shot types and bowling look more authentic than the previous games.
The scenario mode is great fun and can be challenging at the same time.

Cons:
Sweep shots are missing from the shot arsenal.
No ability to walk or "skip" down the wicket for batsman.
No licensed equipment and no hawk-eye in the wii version.
No Wii motion plus although it will be in the next version no doubt.
There are a few bugs such as fielders dropping the ball but the batsman still getting out.
No ability to choose which end the fielder throws the ball.
No ability to do "special" deliveries such as bouncers or yorkers as there was in the previous Brian Lara games.

All in all though these are just little things and the game works well without them.

A few people on here seem to get confused about batting within the game, by default the game will auto aim for you (probably to help children or people who haven't played before) but you can aim manually by pressing down on the remote's "d" pad and then aiming the on-screen curser. Although this isn't very 'cricket like' it does not detract from the gameplay and becomes second natures once playing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
I played the demo of Ashes 2009 on my PC and loved it. After seeing it advertised for the Wii I jumped at my chance to get cricket on the Wii (at long last) and cancelled my Pc pre-order.

However, after weeks of waiting I found myself severly disappoited. I'm not one to worry much over graphics, but when half the time the ball is too hard to see and acts in a weird and unrealistic way, alarm bells start ringing.

The bowling and batting is far too simple (to the point where its more luck then judgement) and the overall polish of the game is poor (such as the lack of Hawk-Eye on the wii version and no slow motion replays).

In conclusion, most of what the bad reviewers say is absolutly correct, and this game amounts to little more then an over-glorified party game.

Buy it on another platfrom!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2009
This game would appeal to five year olds ........... if you lucky, but to somebody who has played many a sports game I don't think so. You don't have any control over your shot and all it is is a flick of the wrist, same with bowling choose where you want the ball to pitch and flick the wrist. The graphics are a standard of a Playstation 1 maybe worse and the commentary is poor. If you are looking to have a bit of fun with the kids its fine but they will very soon get bored because thats what the game is boring. if you have played lots of sports games not a good buy at all I would rather buy a PS3 and play Ashes 09 on that much better.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
I am reviewing this on behalf of my son for whom this was bought for his birthday. I chatted with him at length about it a few weeks later and it transpires that he really likes this game. He has actively played proper cricket since the age of 9 and feels that, given the obvious limitations of playing any game like this in a living room, it is a very good simulation of reality. He is also a long standing regular player on the Wii and I would consider his view of this game to be worthy of taking into consideration.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2009
Like so many other reviewers, I feel disgusted that Codemasters could sell such a shoddy effort: hugely unrealistic cricketing characteristics and rotten graphics. It's probably just about acceptable as an arcade-style game for young kids who don't understand much about cricket but for anyone who appreciates the many nuances involved in the sport then this game is incredibly shallow and frustrating. It is even more infuriating to learn that many of the features available in other formats are omitted from the Wii version.

Overall this is nowhere near as good as the latest PS2 version of Brian Lara we have and is even more inferior to the ICC Cricket Captain 2007 we still play.

Codemasters have let themselves down badly and have ripped me off.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)