Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars83
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2009
If like me you were disappointed by the film don't let that put you off buying this DVD.
This is Rent how it should have been for those of us unlucky enough not to have seen the show live.

Theatre is notoriously difficult to transfer to film but this recording of a live show works really well. OK, occasionally I'd be itching to see the full set when they were close focused into the action but that's just me being picky.

The energy of the show is all there and the effects are well portrayed. The lighting is beautifully done as are all of the tech aspects.

Singing, dancing and acting is of the high standard you would expect from Broadway and the total effect is uplifting.

It's the next best thing to being there.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2009
I saw Rent in Plymouth on the UK tour of 2001 and was almost bowled over. This DVD of the final US performance is a great document of a truly great and original musical. I love it.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
So, after 12 years on Broadway, the masterpiece of the late, great Jonathan Larsson has finally ended. This DVD is the closest many people will get to being able to watch this wonderful and emotional musical in its entirety.
It is fantastic that some of the understudies of the original 'RENT' cast finally got their chance to perform a show that they loved. Will Chase especially is fantastic as Roger, being able to capture to wide range of emotions very well, without losing the emotional attachment and sympathy the character generates.
The cinematics of this film are unbelievable captured brilliantly to show all range of ewmotions and expressions.
I can only say one other thing about this DVD - Buy it today because "There's No Day But Today!"
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2009
I have just watched this DVD, and I have to say, I have never laughed, cried and loved characters as much as this in a long time. This version could possibly be better than the movie, though I'm yet to see that without my copy freezing. Eden Espinosa's voice is just amazing, it has such power. And you will notice other actors, like Will Chase and Tracie Thoms, to name two. This is truly just an absolutely amazing version. With all the terrible musicals out today, like all the pre-teen stuff, RENT is one of those musicals that just really raises the bar. You will laugh your socks off, you will cry like a child near the end and you will really love it to pieces. Please, do buy this and you will surely not regret it.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
Don't even hesitate buying this. An amazing musical, fantasticly caputed on screen. Didn't think they could top the film version, but nothing beats how it was originally performed. Truely stunning.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2009
I got this DVD for christmas this year and was absolutely blown away! it is fabulous shame that it is no longer running!

i loved the cast especially Tracie Tohms but i would have really loved to see Idina menzel back as Maureen but Eden was amazing!

Definitely an excellent buy! :)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
Bought this as a birthday present. So ice to be able (Finally) to get a dvd of the performance. Great musical.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What they say is true, every single word. "Rent" came to mean something very special for audiences who could so identify with the world it depicted. Afterwards, on walls inside and outside the theatre, they would write their heartfelt tributes. No longer did they feel alone, but uplifted - on stage there had been evidence others UNDERSTOOD.

After twelve such years, here we have the emotionally charged final performance. Actually it helps to explore the excellent bonuses before watching it - all the better to appreciate the strain the cast was under, everyone determined to do full justice to Jonathan Larson's memory. He, who created the show, never lived to see it performed. His parents were there on that last night, they visibly overwhelmed by the love that abounded. For years there had been another moving tribute to Jonathan. He himself had been too poor to afford theatre prices. There were so many others like him. The show's organizers before each performance would thus hold a lottery, lucky winners allowed in at a greatly reduced cost. Yes, here was a man to whom the cast owed everything. Now was the last chance to pay tribute.

The performance itself? Suffice it to say, they do him proud - even the hardest of hearts can scarcely fail to be moved.

"I can't believe this is goodbye." It isn't. Believe it!
33 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 August 2015
I actually bought this as a curiosity item. Despite being a massive fan of musicals, I never felt the urge to watch either the original West End production or the critically panned "reboot" version when it surfaced years later. I cannot confess to loving it but I could admire and respect the heart and sincerity in the performances. Knowing Jonathan Larson's backstory makes it all the more poignant.

Performance-wise Eden Espinosa just hit hit the ball out of the park/pitch/yard/court. But everyone was outstanding. Not knowing any songs apart from the ubiquitous Seasons of Love, I fell in love with the rather touching Light My Candle where I could feel the doom behind the spark of romance. Also loved the raucous La Vie Boheme; the sort of rocking ensemble song that so many musicals could do with.

Production values are first class and quality is crystal clear. For those who missed it on stage or for those who want a historical document, this DVD is perfect.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2011
My first experience of Rent was when I borrowed the motion picture version and was completely blown away by it. It's been a long time since I've come across a musical that can manipulate it's audience's emotions so easily! It tells a moving story with so much emotion and beautifully written music, which is easy to watch again and again.
The last Broadway show is captured perfectly with this DVD, from the production itself to the special features and documentaries made during its final week on Broadway. This is my favourite version - The acting and singing is top notch and you can really start to feel like you are sitting in the theatre itself. When the cast are taking their final bow, you will definitely want to restart the DVD and enjoy the entire show again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)