Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble de luxe
So much easier than the normal scrabble board, no more letters sliding off or out of place when turning to the next player. The only problem is at the end of the game. It is difficult to get all the tiles off the board and into the bag easily.
Published on 2 Jan. 2013 by catanne

versus
74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble Delux
Not very happy with this item, after only 3 Months the letters started coming off the plastic tiles, and I had a lot of diffaculty getting help from Mattel until Amazon got involved then Mattel replaced the game with a new one which will probabley have the same problem in time as the letters are only printed on the tiles and not etched on as the old games used to be.
Published on 9 Feb. 2010 by G. Rodwell


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble Delux, 9 Feb. 2010
By 
G. Rodwell "geoffrod" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrabble Deluxe (Toy)
Not very happy with this item, after only 3 Months the letters started coming off the plastic tiles, and I had a lot of diffaculty getting help from Mattel until Amazon got involved then Mattel replaced the game with a new one which will probabley have the same problem in time as the letters are only printed on the tiles and not etched on as the old games used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 95 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised!, 29 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Scrabble Deluxe (Toy)
"A most luxurious SCRABBLE set, an ideal gift for the SCRABBLE player. Contains a highly finished wooden framed board with a raised grid to keep the wooden tiles in place. All the contents are made to the highest quality."

You would think from the description that you're getting a durable product but the only tree-related material in this product is the box. The framed board was plastic as were the 'wooden' tiles. Returned it for a refund but lost the tracking and shipping costs. The product didn't come from Amazon as you are led to believe. Scrabble Deluxe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice Product But Not As High Quality As I Was Expecting, 14 Jan. 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrabble Deluxe (Toy)
I bought this as a present for my wife. I previously had a deluxe version of Scrabble when I lived in Australia, and I specifically bought this (expensive) version as I was pleased with the previous one and I was hoping for something similar.

First thing I noticed with this version is that the swivel base is actually four little plastic wheels, one on each edge of the board. They are so small that they are very scratchy and don't really work properly straight out of the box, it's more like dragging it in a circular motion than turning it easily. This was on a wooden table, if you're playing on the carpet or particularly smooth surface, forget it. I can imagine any movement they currently have will stop as soon as they get any dust or dirt in them. This contrasts with the turntable type base I had on my previous board, which was much smoother and enjoyable to use.

Second thing is that the pieces are made of plastic and are hollowed out at the back. This contrasts with my previous board where they were little wooden blocks. The plastic design of these pieces just adds to the cheapness of this board and when you're picking them out of the bag it's just not as satisfying as the wooden ones.

The board has a grid of little plastic pegs which hold the pieces from moving, this works fine (which is probably just as well given how badly the swivel mechanism works), and while the pieces can be a little tricky to remove at the end of the game, it's easy enough to just tip the whole lot into the top of the box.

Overall, pretty dissatisfied with the quality of this board. They had an excellent deluxe version previously, which I think I actually paid less for. It feels like they're cutting corners on this one and I wouldn't recommend paying the extra for the "deluxe" features over that of the standard board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Deluxe about this, 6 Feb. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scrabble Deluxe (Toy)
The ordinary game of Scrabble we have comes with wooden tiles and stands. The "Deluxe" version comes with plastic tiles and stands - and not quality plastic. The board is supposed to be on wheels that allow it to turn around: very small wheels which do not lift the board high enough to be able to turn properly, the wheels squeak and block at every turn. There are little nobs to hold the tiles in place, but actually make them more difficult to use. The box is twice the size of the normal Scrabble, making it more difficult to store. Scrabble is a wonderful game on many points of view; the "deluxe" version is rubbish. I regret that Amazon does not allow me to place no stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe scrabble set, 28 Dec. 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scrabble Deluxe (Toy)
The entire set is made out of plastic and looks incredibly cheap for the price. I would have expected the "deluxe" version to be made out of wood. Very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble Deluxe? They must be joking, 5 Jan. 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scrabble Deluxe (Toy)
Nothing like the original Scrabble de luxe. made by Spears. Cheap and nasty quality. Don't think it will last 24months let alone the 35years my original board and tiles have lasted. Disappointed with this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Misleading Product, Disappointed, 12 Jun. 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrabble Deluxe (Toy)
As a scrabble fan I wanted to get a nice, classy scrabble set as I am a regular player, could not believe how misleading the product sales is with this item. I was so disappointed when this item arrived, I've added some extra detail to the original description to explain my disappointment.

With a low profile built-in turntable (its not a turntable, 4 little wheels that will get dirt in them and probably start getting stuck) that allows the board to turn easily during play (definately doesnt turn easily), tiles are held perfectly (nope, they can fall out) on the beautifully designed board (its plastic and poorly designed), Scrabble deluxe is a perfect combination of good looks (nope) and improved functionality (prefer the original). A most luxurious Scrabble set, this is an ideal gift for the Scrabble player (it really isnt). it contains a highly-finished wooden framed board (it is plastic and wood doesnt look like wood) with a raised grid to keep the wooden tiles in place (nope). All the contents are made to the highest quality (completely disagree for the increased price).

I would either stick with the original or buy a much better one from a specialist toy shop.

Worst part is due to the raised tiles, it isnt even easy to put away as all pieces need to be put away one by one.

Actually the pieces are made off plastic as well.....wooden pieces would have been much classier.

Dont waste your money, go for the original and go to a carpenters, get some cut off pieces of wood and glue them on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A total disappointment, 23 Feb. 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scrabble Deluxe (Toy)
I bought the Scrabble Deluxe by Mattel, mistakenly thinking I was upgrading from our old Scrabble game. This item is plastic throughout. Glossy wood effect will not do. It still looks and feels cheap. Even my 30 year old Scrabble game feels better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wood? Not on this planet...., 21 Oct. 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scrabble Deluxe (Toy)
So it looks good and plays better than a normal set, in particular the letters stay on the board if you knock it etc. But the description said words like 'wood' etc which is why I bought it... It isn't, it's plastic as is everything in the box - this was the really dissapointing part. So yes it's a nice scrabble board, but don't expect it to be anything that special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled buy the word "deluxe" nor by the price., 26 Dec. 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scrabble Deluxe (Toy)
Please note that I didn't buy this from Amazon, but it is exactly the same product that I'm reviewing. I paid $84.95 AUD for it (around £55 at time of writing and which is more than Amazon is offering this product for).

PROS: None.

NEUTRAL: Well, it's possible to play scrabble on it - though not as easily as a regular scrabble board. Tiles stay in place because of the pegs, but the time it takes to get each tile to sit properly and resulting frustration (for everyone who played) negates the advantage of neatly arranged letters.

CONS: Big and flimsy plastic board. Plastic tiles with a hole in the back like regular scrabble. Bag is not velvet. Low-resolution, bad quality printed wood effect. Horrible "turntable" (if it can be called that). Hard to read the board at a glance. No scorepad or pencil. See below for full details.

FULL REVIEW:
This scrabble board should not be described as "deluxe". That is pure false advertising, and I'm generally quite open-minded. It is a disgrace that we paid $85 for this because it is definitely NOT even worth half that price. I should have researched more thoroughly before choosing this for a gift. As the other reviewer says, everything is plastic, though I would disagree about the 'luxurious' look. I would also add that the design and materials used for it require vast improvement before anyone would be satisfied by paying the asking price for this.

The board itself is large and made of black plastic with printed graphics. It feels a little flimsy despite its size. You'd expect a wooden board for this price. And for a board that doesn't fold up and takes up more than twice the space than a regular board, one would expect to get something far better than this to have to use that much extra space in their cupboard.

The printed wooden effect around the board is of very low quality and doesn't fool anyone. Although the design of the squares on the board does looks like it's supposed to be classier than the regular scrabble board, it has very low contrast and it is hard to tell, at a glance, which premium square is which - especially the double word squares.

The turntable feature (little wheels on the underside of the plastic board) doesn't work well at all. It squeaks and it doesn't turn smoothly, and even slides along the table a little while turning. EVERYONE was shocked by the low quality of the "turntable" feature when this set was opened - and not just those who gathered around to play the game.

The tiles are black plastic, not wood as you would otherwise expect from a 'deluxe' set. They could have at least made them nice and solid without those circular holes in the back, but apparently that's too much to ask. I have a mahjong set with nice, solid, heavy tiles and it costs less than this board.

The black tile bag is NOT velvet as they claim to be. If it's supposed to have a velvet effect, it doesn't remotely feel or look velvet. It was stiff, and it was very difficult to pull the bag along the cord to close it.

The pegs are there to keep the letters neatly in place, but even the letter tiles don't easily sit into the pegs. The extra time spent making sure each tile sits properly gets really annoying after a couple of rounds.

And where is the score pad and pencil? A deluxe board without scorepad and pencil? Huh?

I wouldn't recommend buying this unless it is very heavily discounted to less than $30 AUD/£20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scrabble Deluxe
Scrabble Deluxe by Mattel
£48.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews