Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately worth buying
I asked for this game for christmas, only knowing that it had been released on the Nintendo DS, and had a top-down view on that. I heard it was out for the PSP (That was the only reason I asked for it), thinking that it'd be like Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories or Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories, which was a bit naive of me.. But that's not what we're here to...
Published on 30 Dec 2009 by Mr. C. Maclean

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great in some ways but top down view not good
The graphics etc. on the cars are great, it looks like the ones on the building are too but you really can only see the roofs. I am totally disappointed with this game and have wasted my money as my favourite part of GTA3 is/was the driving and the open shooting here in this version, the driving is awful as you can't see where you are going and the shooting is auto aim or...
Published on 5 May 2011 by S. Cumming


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undoubtedly the best title on PSP... Unbelievable fun to play., 28 Oct 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
This has got to be the best game available on the PSP. Such a huge game. Hours of fun. This is GTA IV for PSP basically... 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a decent Gta on psp!!!, 29 Oct 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
Having brought and gotten bored of the ds version of Gta Chinatown wars back in march I decided to buy this as I'd heard about better graphics and obviously lack of annoying touch screen games. I loved gta cw when it came to ds although I quickly got annoyed of the rubbish d-pad and in the middle of an action bit such as a car chase or a gun fight having to pull the stylus out and touch the screen. now some of the mini games were ok. The best thing about gta cw on psp is although it keeps the mini games you dont have to mess around with stylus' . The graphics are absolutley amazing compared to the ds version (just look at a comparison video) also the new missions are amazing.
I like the new interface on the pause menu and welcome the anologue nub instead of the annoying ds d-pad which is ok but not good for car games. I like how you can buy online from amunation and have your guns delivered to your safehouse.
I also like how you can have garages both unlike gta 4
also you have a proper pda instead of a crappy 10 year old looking phone like on gta 4.
for a handheld version this game packs a punch and don't think its a watered down gta like the Storie's games, they had a poor framerate and were just so inferia to gta3 and vice city.
this is a Gta in its own right!
Overall this game is a must have for any psp owner and if your like me and own the ds game then still buy it because it makes the ds version look like gta 1 graphics wise.
Just BUY it!!! I can't recommend it enough!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, 9 Dec 2009
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
The top down point of view on this game is irritating beyond belief. Go for vice city or liberty city instead; far superior games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars save your cash, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Jimmy (London, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
if you want a good gta game buy the cheeper 3D (this is 2D!) vice city stories or liberty city stories. they're a lot more fun & cheeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easier than earlier titles but not sure about the overhead view, 18 Dec 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
So far I have found this to be a bit easier than earlier GTA games (specifically Vice City Stories, where I got frustrated at about %75 and never finished it). The graphics are very good, although the new overhead view takes some getting used to, and I don't think Stunt Jumps etc are quite as much fun as with the older 'over-the-shoulder' camera viewpoint. But still a great title for the PSP, and as with previous GTA games provides very good value for money due to all the different missions, side-stories, and adhoc exploring/destruction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish quality, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
If your interested in simple 2d games then this is the game for you, however for the vast majority of games out there...... Do not waste your money on this absolutely crap product.waste of money and is just going to end up in the back of your closet wasting away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A great series - ruined, 29 Dec 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
Having owned both Vice City Stories and Liberty City Stories for PSP, I was looking forward to this latest version. But Rockstar have utterly ruined the game by forcing you to look from a nauseating 'seagull' view, with no option to reposition the camera behind the car / character. It is terrible! All you can see of the character is his head and shoulders about 20 pixels wide. And when driving, you can't see where you're driving to or what's up ahead, so I spent five minutes driving into walls and other cars. I then removed the game feeling slightly motion sick from the constantly spinning camera, that also zooms in and out when you don't want it to. The ridiculous decision to use this awful camera view has totally ruined the game, making it almost unplayable. AVOID!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 2 Sep 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
I got this game as I love the other GTA games. But I just couldn't get into it, I just love the other GTA gaming style better. I just think it's a step back not forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed, 28 Dec 2009
By 
D. Brown (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
After playing Vice City and Liberty City on the PSP I was really looking forward to this game. What a let down, I played it for 15 minutes and could not get on with the birds eye view game play and terrible graphics for a PSP game.

Reminded me of GTA 1 mixed with Dope Wars, both good in there own time but things have moved on. I didn't realise it was a port from the inferior DS and as a result this game takes a massive steps backwards.

This Game is an insult to previous PSP GTA players.

I will now probably sell it or just give it away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disgrace, 5 Mar 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
graphics are rubbish compared to gta vice city and liberty city.the dialogue is annoying and the view is 2D which is stupid. This game doesn't have much of a good storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP)
Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) by Take 2 Interactive (Sony PSP)
£9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews