Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately worth buying
I asked for this game for christmas, only knowing that it had been released on the Nintendo DS, and had a top-down view on that. I heard it was out for the PSP (That was the only reason I asked for it), thinking that it'd be like Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories or Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories, which was a bit naive of me.. But that's not what we're here to...
Published on 30 Dec. 2009 by Mr. C. Maclean

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok like going back to the ps1 times.
ok well i have played all of the GTA'S on multi platforms through the years and i brought this one grand theft auto china town wars and i dont hate it but its like going back to the 90s games on ps1 with the over head look instead of the camera behind your character also i found that some of the features on the game dont really work well enough on the psp. for instance...
Published on 15 Jun. 2011 by Jamie Collins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype!!!, 23 Dec. 2009
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
Firstly, this is nowhere as good as the previous versions on the psp. I have both and can't believe the drop in quality.From the replacement of animated cut scenes with still images and text. Then with the replacement of realistic up close 3d game graphics with cell shaded top down images (where people are the same width as cars). -It actually feels like gta 1 from all those years ago. (which is why I haven't given it 1 star as obviously they were good in their day). Then the replacement of acutal radio dj's and real songs with musak that just distracts rather than adding to the game. The reason for this overall drop is obvious when you see the ds version -which is identical minus the screen prodding, and you realise that instead of pushing the power of the psp to create graphics like on gran turismo or assisins creed they lazily produced the best they could for the ds and just ported it over. -WHY BOTHER! if you want poor graphics you would just buy a ds in the first place. But I don't want to sound too negative. The story is interesting in its way and if you can overlook the graphics and drop in quality, the gameplay might just be bearable. As an extra warning, if anyone outthere is considering downloading it from the psp store, please don't- as you cant sell it on when you realise and are left with a permenant reminder of your purchasing error.
Heed my words, don't buy it.
Additional note-(The reason I feel very cheated is firstly the {I feel}misleading 5 star reviews which claim brillance and secondly my own assumption that as the first 2 on the psp had good 3d graphics and funny original and high quality Real music, that this would be even better or even the same. I was disapointed twice)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
Great smart little game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
Loved by the grandkids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor ds port, 7 Nov. 2009
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
What are the other reviews talking about, have they played any other games on psp let alone vice city or liberty city stories. Compared to these two games chinatown wars is a very poor game. The top down view makes it hard to control both on foot and car and the radio stations are inferior. The mini games are better on the ds as they were made to work with a touch screen. It may look better on psp but thats it, If you must buy it wait till it's in the discount bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gta china town wars psp, 2 Aug. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
this game is a grate deal of fun bring back the retro days of gta 1 gta 2 and London there are some issues which they haven't converted from the previous Nintendo version (the mini games) but all in all a good around game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Present!!!, 3 Oct. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
I bought this Game for my Grandson as he was ranting and raving about it for weeks prior to his Birthday....it lived up to his expectations.... he absolutely loved it....great for keeping a 'Moody Teenager' quiet!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best GTA you can get on handheld devices!!, 29 Oct. 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
I bought this game with a little worry, but when i opended it up and starting playing i knew i had made a good choice!!

The Graphics and textures have been updated for the PSP..
The view is brilliant and new, the city is authentic with police chases, ambulances, fire engines, trains, bikes, cars, vans, buses, boats!!

There are little parts of the game which are different and fun, like if you drive into a river you have to shoot the back window out, and when you go to steal cars you have to actually hotwire the car in time or else the alarm will go off, alerting the police to your location.

THIS IS THE BEST PSP GAME AND WILL BE A BRILLIANT CHRISTMAS PRESENT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Graphically weak, not as good as the other portable GTAs, 18 Dec. 2009
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
Graphics are weak considering the previous GTA games made for the psp. It is fun in places but would advise against buying it, even though it was a good price on amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice game, 30 Mar. 2010
By 
E. Instuli "memo" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) (Video Game)
That's actually a very nice game. Only a couple of complains are always the same: no voices to the characters and worse radio stations than Liberty City Stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP)
Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) by Take 2 Interactive (Sony PSP)
£9.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews