Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freakin' awesome. It loses out to the anime film by ...
Freakin' awesome. It loses out to the anime film by a whisker and only because the anime has some ground-breaking features. Gianna Jun plays Saya to perfection. The fight scenes are well choreographed and very well filmed. It manages to avoid traditional Jap-Gore film staples like gushing 200 litres of blood every second (see Tokyo Gore Police), but is never-the-less...
Published 4 months ago by EvilEdna

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars KILL BILL PLUS VAMPIRES
Saya is a half-human half demon pushing 400 years old, but can pass for 17. She drinks blood out of a bottle for strength while killing vampires with apparently the same magical katana used in Kill Bill as it slices through boulders like a hot knife through butter. She is enrolled in a military school, and while there kills 2 vampires who are also fellow students...
Published 19 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars KILL BILL PLUS VAMPIRES, 6 Oct. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blood: The Last Vampire [DVD] (DVD)
Saya is a half-human half demon pushing 400 years old, but can pass for 17. She drinks blood out of a bottle for strength while killing vampires with apparently the same magical katana used in Kill Bill as it slices through boulders like a hot knife through butter. She is enrolled in a military school, and while there kills 2 vampires who are also fellow students.

The killing was witnessed by the general's daughter, who she now protects. The goal of her killing vampire demons to to lure out the master vampire demon and kill it. There is one scene which reminds me of Kill Bill where she fights against a large horde of demons while saving the girl.

The movie is no where in depth as is Kill Bill. Yes, Saya wears that school girl outfit pictured on the cover for much of the movie. But unlike other Japanese school girl vampire movies this one has no nudity or sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freakin' awesome. It loses out to the anime film by ..., 8 Dec. 2014
Freakin' awesome. It loses out to the anime film by a whisker and only because the anime has some ground-breaking features. Gianna Jun plays Saya to perfection. The fight scenes are well choreographed and very well filmed. It manages to avoid traditional Jap-Gore film staples like gushing 200 litres of blood every second (see Tokyo Gore Police), but is never-the-less a pretty violent film.

It is beautifully filmed, very well acted (at least by the Japanese actors), has a pretty good soundtrack and stays pretty much true to the original. My recommendation - BUY IT - but it's not for children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant anime adaptation, 24 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Blood: The Last Vampire [DVD] (DVD)
Blood The Last Vampire film is a live action adaptation of a Japanese anime film produced back in 2000 with the same title.

The story is set around and American Air Base located in Japan, during the Vietnam War.
Its main character is a Japanese girl named Saya, who relentlessly hunts blood sucking Oni(Oni: in japanese is translated as demon in english).
Saya is a 400-year-old half breed who hunts other demons. Raised by her father's retainer a man named Kato, she works loosely with an organization known as "The Council" while seeking out Onigen, the highest oldest and strongest of all the beasts.
Seeking clues about Onigen, Saya transfers to a school near the Yokota Air Base.
Normally a loner, Saya forms a friendship with a young girl named Alice (Allison Miller), whom she rescues from some vampires.

This live action production is very impressive adaptation and includes spectacular battles involving katana's and fights with superhatural beings.
The picture is an improvement in comparison to the original anime. The plot is slightly altered in comparison however overall I find the production exceeding the original anime.
Most importantly the Japanese cast are really japanese looking and not caucasians something that has been a real annoyance on other Japanese titles that have been Hollywoodized (eg. dead or alive or Dragonballz)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool movie, 24 Oct. 2011
By 
A. Murphy (Dorset, England England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood: The Last Vampire [DVD] (DVD)
This is a exceptionally cool movie. Its unusual having a Japanese lady as the lead since everything in english with superb special effects, stunts and lots more than mere vampires to fight. Its fast from start to finish with more blood than most films but in a constructive manner. This mix of special Japanese martial arts with western type vampire films is incredibly successful. Great acting throughout. Puts most vamire films to shame.Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Well-Made Gorefest, 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood: The Last Vampire [DVD] (DVD)
Based on a popular graphic novel, this is a beautifully directed, excessively violent updating of the 'Buffy the Vampire Slayer' tale. It's fairly predictable and well acted by a quality cast (surprising to see the lovely Taka from 'The Last Samurai' as the ultimate evil demon, for example). The monster special effects are mediocre at best, and Saya, the protagonist, is a humourless blend of Buffy and Angel. But she's had a hard life ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if only they could make more sequels, 4 Dec. 2009
By 
Mr. D. Oso (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a movie adaptation from the hit acclaimed anime movie Blood The Last Vampire.
When I first heard of this movie in the works, I didn't know what to think. Until I saw the first released trailer online and was blown away mindlessly! After that, I couldn't eagerly wait for this movie, as I noted down so many movies to be released this 2009, X-men Origins too etc.

I finally saw this movie at the cinema day of opening. But I'm here to review the Blu-Ray version.
This Blu-Ray version is awesome, I enjoyed the movie at the cinema but enjoyed it more with this Blu-Ray version.
The picture quality is TOP NOTCH! It's so sharp, and the extensive use of the colour toning was so damn awesome. It made part of the scenes feel like how it should be in years, like the Air base feels like 60s/70s like, the delusion effect used by Onigen, the alley battle etc. In the cinema, the use of blood effect felt so ridiculous stupid, but with in HD, it looked alright and nothing to complain. In the cinema, the true forms of the demon was lame, but in HD, they looked AMAZING! You wouldn't even know it's CG but think it's a prop.
Sound effects were sick too, you won't be disappointed.
As for the features, well, I was disappointed with the features in this movie, because of the bad reviews this movie got, developers/publishers didn't spend time on extra features. Though the menu design is nice.

A lot of people didn't like this movie because of the story adaptation for this movie. Once again, people do not understand adaptation development. Just because you are making a movie out of a video game let's say Resident Evil 1. That doesn't mean the movie plotline needs to be EXACTLY the same as the game:/ Basically you are wasting your money on the same thing you've experienced before.
I've paid money to watch Blood the Last Vampire 45min anime movie, why in the world should I pay more money to experience the same storyline in live action, performed by real humans!??? No I want something new.
But what I was disappointed in the storyline was the use of the Airbase from the anime movie, it was just an excuse to make the movie feel original just like the anime movie:/

I wasn't disappointed with this movie, infact I was surprised and pleased. Beowulf's DvD boxart says "Action packed", and sadly there weren't that much action to the movie! But this movie defines Action Pack, because there were so much action going on just for a 84min movie!
Good thing I got this for a good price, because this movie and it's features isn't worth £19!

I wish the makers would consider a sequel to this movie, franchise like this shouldn't be underrated. "Blood +" anime series wasn't all that. We need another movie sequel or game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING STUNNING AND BEAUTIFULLY DETAILED X, 5 Aug. 2014
Such an amazing film especially for those who love both American but mainly Japanese culture aswell as anime
This has become my Favourite film and a few Japanese films can come across a bit to obvious and by that I mean that the acting can come across like they put too much effort in what there saying and doing so it becomes less realistic (same for a few American films to)
for me anyway
but most Japanese films are fantastic(aswell as American ones), and this one is just drop dead amazing (pun intended hehe)
It contains everything I want in a movie and I hope I see the actress who plays Saya is some new films in the nearby future
love lots from pip x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good - Faithful to the anime, 31 Mar. 2010
By 
Bazwade (London (the real one!)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood: The Last Vampire [DVD] (DVD)
If you liked the Anime version you won't be disapointed with this film. Both in plot and 'look' they are very similar, but whereas the original seemed like an episode this feels more like the whole story with more closure at the end. More of Saya's origins are recounted and she get's a better sidekick for this battle. Although the story ends here,there is a small question mark at the end for the producers to develop a sequel, but it will have to be a whole new story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment!, 30 Dec. 2010
By 
Brannstrom Goran "Goran" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well, what we have here is a film featuring a beautiful Japanese girl-vampire, of the good kind mind you, dressed in school uniform, toting a sharp Katana sword, able to perform breathtaking acrobatics, has a mysterious past and is hell-bent on a mission of vengeance. Dude, what more do you want? An Academy Award? Well, then this film is not for you.

Actually there was one thing that irked me, and that was the representation of the demons, flying as dragons. That did not come off well. But then I have never seen the Manga version of this film and cannot say if it's a good adaptation in that respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain :), 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood: The Last Vampire [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film Its maybe not everyones cup of tea but for me I found it well worth the money & I got good service to :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood: The Last Vampire [DVD]
Blood: The Last Vampire [DVD] by Chris Nahon (DVD - 2009)
£4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews