Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (177)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vary Good DVD Boxset mat a Vary Good Price
I purchased this DVD Boxset from HMV (sorry Amazon) and have enjoyed it vary much. It really does show what life must have been like back then for a new recruit into the Navy as a junior midshipman. The on-ship scenery was vary good and the acting by all vary good too. It did seem odd seeing Robert Lindsey in a serious role (after seeing him in the long running TV...
Published on 6 Nov 2011 by Traffic

versus
11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice adaptation and background, pity about the casting
This series just goes to show how very, very hard it is to turn good books into screenplays. As a lifelong Hornblower fan I, like other reviewers, looked forward to seeing my favourite books played out before my eyes. But I am afraid that, for me at least, the negatives outweigh the positives. Just as a superb dish can be ruined by too much salt, "Hornblower" is spoiled...
Published on 26 Mar 2011 by T. D. Welsh


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vary Good DVD Boxset mat a Vary Good Price, 6 Nov 2011
By 
Traffic (Kiruna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I purchased this DVD Boxset from HMV (sorry Amazon) and have enjoyed it vary much. It really does show what life must have been like back then for a new recruit into the Navy as a junior midshipman. The on-ship scenery was vary good and the acting by all vary good too. It did seem odd seeing Robert Lindsey in a serious role (after seeing him in the long running TV series, My Family) but he was awesome in this; my favourite character.

The box set contains 4 DVDs which run for a total of about 13 hours and covers all 3 series.

The description did say "Set during the 18th century Napoleonic Wars, Horatio Hornblower (Ioan Gruffudd), a young and shy midshipman, rises through the ranks to become an admiral" but throughout the series he never rises above lieutenant save for a brief spell as a commander before reverting back to Lieutenant. I guess the description must be referring to the book series.

The quality of the picture is vary good and clearly remastered.

If you enjoyed the books in the series and similar, such as Alexander kent's Richard Bolitho series, then this is a box set for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original and still the best, 23 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
C.S. Forester wrote his eleven "Hornblower" novels in the 1930s and 40s, long before Patrick O'Brien's Jack Aubrey or Alexander Kent's Richard Bolitho. This series has to be very high on the list of the finest adaptations of Forester's novels. Given that these were produced for TV without the immense budget of a Hollywood movie, their realism and historical accuracy are amazing. In the earlier episodes, Ioan Gruffudd as Hornblower and Robert Lindsay as his captain really strike sparks off each other, as do Gruffudd and Paul McGann in the later stages. This series is a must for anyone with an interest in the history of the Napoleonic wars. But shop around, at the time of writing the RRP for the 4-disc series is £59.99 but it can be found brand new for under half that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Sea bound adventures., 7 Aug 2007
By 
A. Hunter (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
If you enjoyed the film, Master and Commander, or read the books of Patrick O'brian and are looking for more, then Hornblower is perfect for you. More high seas adventure and swashbuckling than you can throw a stick at. Considering the lack of a hollywood budget and the fact they were made for TV, this series is just amazing. The navy based equivalent to Sharpe, I would strongly recommend this to anyone who enjoys a bit of action and adventure.

Would also say to shop around, not sure how long it will last for, but have just found it online at HMV for £17.99 in the sale, now that makes it even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling Stuff, 5 Mar 2008
By 
I. H. C. Mellor "mihcm" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whether you saw the 'Hornblower' series on the TV or not does not matter, these are wonderful to watch for the first time or again and again. Loads of action to please everyone. Well worth investing in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant price, 12 Dec 2013
This is an excellent purchase for my husband as he loves to cook & watch a film in the kitchen but I will go mad if I see any more sharpe DVDs!!! Thank god for Hornblower, although not sure what will be next when he's watched these to death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Mar 2010
By 
RMPilkington (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hornblower - Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
When you consider how hard it is to film 'at sea'this series really does do justice to CS Forester's much loved books. Yes, the writers take liberties with the story lines, sometimes inventing stuff that was not in the books but overall, the series simply works and the producers' story lines all improve the drama. Not a grating American accent to be heard and an exceptional British cast of first rate actors. The settings are seductive, the costumes authentic and the music brings it all to life. As you might expect, there is extensive use of models to film the ships and battle sequences and if you look hard, you can tell it's being faked. And yes, the sea is never rougher than a force 1 or 2 or else filming would have been impossible. But none of these criticisms matter. The whole thing hangs together perfectly as brilliant entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hornblower collection is worth every penny., 14 Jan 2010
By 
Fiona M (Crowthorne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hornblower - Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD collection is excellent. I remember watching it on TV years ago and enjoyed it then, but now it is even better (without the adverts!) It is amongst my favourite DVDs and the kids love it too (1
PG disc, 2 12cert discs and 1 15cert disc, but they have been very stringent on the certificates - the contents are suitable and the violence (sword fighting) comes in context with the story). I would rate it highly and recommend it to anyone who asks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loyalty and Duty above all other. That's Hornblower, 14 Jun 2009
By 
K. E. Forrester "khandy" (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I only recently saw this when it was repeated on ITV 3 and then I saw the box set and brought it.

I have to say that I have read the books which I loved but I think the series is better. It captures the essence of Hornblower with out dwelling on his more irritating habits which would probably put of to days audience.

Ioan Gruffudd it could be said was born to play Hornblower a man where the need to his duty is the most important thing in his life. The way he changes throughout the series is remarkable from shy bullied midshipman. To Commander of the Hotspur the way he commands the men who often have years more experience than him is brilliant.

I imagine the purist will have problems with the same cast throughout, the book is littered with hundreds of characters. The characters being maintained throughout is just one reason why the films work so well.

Robert Lindsay is fantastic and this reminds us what a good actor he is. Jamie Bamber Paul McGann Davis Warner Denis Lawson all make this unmissiable.

A word about Sean Gilder and Paul Copley as Styles and Matthews fantastic these characters play a large part in Hornblowers development you almost sense that without them he could not have done it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hornblower: I wish there were further series., 21 April 2013
By 
P. F. O'Donnell "Podman" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well this has to be viewed on the big screen (120 inch) in Blue ray and advert free....and this is what I got: good acting, great cinematography, terrific footage of sailing ships both real and stage props. Pretty darn good acting by class actors, a mans movie series! I suggest download the Hornblower book series on your electronic book and read that first! Although i had seen it on TV years ago, reading the books recently from Amazon then the actual series...brilliant! But remember those of you in New Zealand don't buy a American Amazon Blue Ray, unlike ordinary DVD players that can have the zone system wiped you cannot with Blue Ray Americans zone 1, buy through Amazon England! The zone system is absolutely pointless and nuts.
Paul O'Donnell
New Zealand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hornblower, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Helen Shiels "manic reader" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyable cast and top notch production with lead character Ioan Gruffudd portraying the young Hornblower excellently. Can't fault the other cast either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hornblower - Complete Collection [DVD]
Hornblower - Complete Collection [DVD] by Andrew Grieve (DVD - 2009)
£25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews