Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..COOL FILM.."
I, unlike some people do not have a problem with director uwe boll, his movies are always highly entertaining, far cry is a good thriller with some cool action scenes and not too bad acting, for a small DVD release in the UK its worth checking out for sure, its not one of his best but its a good night in movie none the less. Til schweiger who is in quentin tarantino's...
Published on 23 April 2012 by S. Drury

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Alright.
This is one Uwe Boll's first few movies that I actually enjoyed, the action was really old school kind of like what you would see in an 80's movie & story wasn't bad either.
Published on 12 Sep 2011 by S.B


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Alright., 12 Sep 2011
By 
S.B (Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is one Uwe Boll's first few movies that I actually enjoyed, the action was really old school kind of like what you would see in an 80's movie & story wasn't bad either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..COOL FILM..", 23 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I, unlike some people do not have a problem with director uwe boll, his movies are always highly entertaining, far cry is a good thriller with some cool action scenes and not too bad acting, for a small DVD release in the UK its worth checking out for sure, its not one of his best but its a good night in movie none the less. Til schweiger who is in quentin tarantino's inglourious basterds is good as the lead actor, and emmanuelle vaugier from saw 2-4 is lovely to look at actress as usual, and the rest of the cast is fine, I cant say how it matches up to the games as I haven't really played them, but as a stand alone movie its a pretty decent budget actioner with a different angle on the super soldier story!

The IMPORT STEELBOOK BLU-RAY is region free ABC and is uncut and has several good features that play in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow - Uwe Boll made a watchable movie!, 1 Sep 2011
By 
T (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Far Cry [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Having read many reviews slating this, mainly for being by Uwe Boll who we have to admit has a certain reputation to rival that of Ed Wood, I was steering clear of this. Then, in an idle moment, I watched a colleagues copy whilst enjoying some downtime at work and was surprised to find it a reasonable action movie. I think this is more to do with the three Germans in the cast (Udo Kier (Grindhouse) is the demented doctor from the game to a tee) rather than anything Boll had to do with it, however.

Fans of the video game will be disappointed to find none of the mutated monkey monsters and cyborg Goliaths but the genetically-enhanced soldiers are there, as is the running amok. Ralf Moeller (Gladiator, Pathfinder) is perfectly cast as the unwillingly modified uber-soldier and Craig Fairbrass does what he does best; acts all tough and "sarf of the river." Til Schweiger (The Red Baron) does the quiet, confident ex-Special Forces lead character to understated perfection. I suspect Boll had the sense to take a back seat and let his assistants do most of the creative direction, although his hand can be felt in the occasionally disjointed plot and dialogue. The writers were involved in the awful Bloodrayne 3 (also a Boll movie - go figure) so it is even more surprising that this is in any way watchable at all.

It's ninety-five minutes of belief suspension and military hardware and lots and lots of machismo and testosterone (including one of the female characters, played by Natalia Avalon) and little else - but sometimes that's what you want from a movie moment, isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good action film, 7 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
An enjoyable action film. People who bash this basically have joined the Boll bash wagon. Not something to go out of your way to see but if you can catch it then it is a good way to pass the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars About what I expected., 10 Sep 2010
This review is from: Far Cry [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I have played the Far Cry game some years ago and whilst this movie takes some artistic licence by changing the tropical setting and characters it wasn't totally terrible. The acting is wooden to say the least but the action and plot were ok.

If you are wanting to watch this then do so without expecting too much and then you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I far cried, 24 Feb 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Far Cry [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
You know what's even worse than an Uwe Boll movie? An Uwe Boll movie where he tries to do COMEDY.

And unfortunately that is what Boll did in "Far Cry," yet another loose adaptation of a video game. When he isn't boring his audience with awkward insta-romance and truly abysmal action scenes, Boll attempts to make us shoot ourselves with the least funny comedy I have ever seen. This is comedy that makes you cry instead of laughing.

Journalist Valerie Constantine (Emmanuelle Vaugier) has heard rumors of the evil scientist Dr. Krieger (Udo Kier) being holed up on a small island guarded by soldiers, and suspects something is amiss. Since she's an idiot, she has planted her uncle Max (Ralf Möller) on the island as a spy. Yes, he does get caught.

So Valerie hires Jack Carver (Til Schweiger), an ex-Special Forces soldier who now gives boat tours, to take her to the island. But soldiers immediately attack them, blowing up the boat. And when they try to infiltrate Krieger's stronghold, they quickly discover that he has something worse than just genetic experiments: he's creating unstoppable supersoldiers.

As an action movie, "Far Cry" is actually somewhat better than most of Boll's wretched filmography, but that doesn't keep it from being brain-meltingly bad. There are giant chunks of the plot that are never explained (Carver refusing to admit he was ever a soldier), and massive continuity errors that sometimes occur within the SAME SCENE. Consider when we see a supersoldier's skin deflect a bullet... only to be pierced by a needle two minutes later. Oops.

But what sets this apart from dreck like "Bloodrayne" and "Alone in the Dark" is the comedy. Yes, Uwe Boll is trying to be funny. Intentionally funny. And it is DIRE.

This is the sort of comedy that toddlers are too sophisticated to appreciate, especially since Boll's idea of comedy is "Hey! Here's a hideously annoying person! Laugh at how annoying they are!" It's as funny as a quadruple bypass. We're treated to excruciatingly long scenes of irritating people whining and choking on sandwiches, which have no payoff or punchline except making the audience want to slit their wrists.

I'm also baffled by the casting of Schweiger as Jack Carver -- he's supposed to be a former Special Forces solder for the United States, but he speaks with a German accent that you could cut into slices. He's also sufficiently wooden that some of the zombielike supersolders manage to out-act him, and the whole point of his character denying his past is never even touched on. It's like Boll forgot it.

Emmanuelle Vaugier plays a bimbo "journalist" who bungles everything she touches because, teehee, she's a woman. Considering how all the other women in this movie are depicted, I smell a bit of sexism. And Chris Coppola is in this movie solely to screech "I'm the food guy!" and make Schweiger's Carver look like a plausible hero.

"Far Cry" is an apt title for this movie -- it's a far cry from good filmmaking, especially because of the wretchedly unfunny comedy. It's not the worst fail of Uwe Boll's career, but it's still pretty dismal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good action/thriller dvd!, 28 Jan 2014
By 
P. J. Ransom - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I bought this after watching the trailer and knowing the videogame. I paid £1.27 which was worth it. However I wouldn't pay much more, the action, violence and gore is good, and the characters. However the acting/dialogue lets it down a bit and some of the action gets a bit dull. It's worth watching for action and entertainment but don't pay more than £3-4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not sure, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I didnt order this im not sure why its in my purchases i have not recieved this andnot sure if i have been charged for this item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film!, 18 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Far Cry [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This really is an amazing film! Its stunning how absolutely terrible it is. Its actually so bad that I love it. I just cant imagine how anything can be worse than this. Simply everything is awful. Directing, acting, effects, sound, flow, camera work, editing, is all so bad I wouldnt have even handed this in as a Uni project in 2nd year.

Please buy this film and laugh your head off, its quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lil' far-feteched, but good., 23 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Far Cry [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Considering most Game to Film products, they usually bastardise a single or multiple plot devices.
For the Exception of Far Cry!

Those of you who played the orignal game, back in the day, maybe underwhelmed
by the lack of grand scale that was present in the game universe. The amount isn't there, however the threat
of the first game is, a corperation hell bent on playing god to improve military forces,
through mutation or gene restructuring. The science is never explained so it stays as a simple, gun down
what wants you dead. Like I said, it stays true to the game.

Those of you who haven't played the game, or looking for your hero toting guns filler, You can do worse than
Far Cry.

This is the best Uwe Boll can offer and was well Executed. They are quite a few accents here, none of which are
very convincing. Parts are far-fetched, some kinda work for shits and giggs, whereas others are just
unquestionably strange.

If the budget was higher we could have seen more in the way of fortifications, technology and weaponry consistent
with the Far Cry game. The film is plagued with that uncanny "Red shirt" syndrome, those of you unfamiliar with
the term, is what we sci-fi junkies call the generic background character, whos soul purpose is cannon fodder
for the camera. In this product we see this often, the for-metioned fodder, manage little in the way of
resistance against the super soldiers, or against one former spec ops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Far Cry [DVD] [2008]
Far Cry [DVD] [2008] by Uwe Boll (DVD - 2009)
£3.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews