Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, Drizzt isnt even in it!
This is the next book in the series after the Silent Blade.
It has two storylines which eventually tie in to each other at the end of the book. Throughout the book, it switches between Wulfgar, Drizzts former sidekick and a woman called Meralda. Both are undergoing terrible torments and tragedies, Wulfgar is accused of murder, pardoned for the crime, becomes a...
Published on 21 Feb 2002

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not like all the previous
This was a different book from all the previous ones! A bit boring at the three quarters but a bit better at the end.
Published 2 months ago by Lepeniotis Panagiotis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, Drizzt isnt even in it!, 21 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This is the next book in the series after the Silent Blade.
It has two storylines which eventually tie in to each other at the end of the book. Throughout the book, it switches between Wulfgar, Drizzts former sidekick and a woman called Meralda. Both are undergoing terrible torments and tragedies, Wulfgar is accused of murder, pardoned for the crime, becomes a bandit, is accused of rape, gets captured and escapes.
Meralda is a poor peasant girl whos mother is dying of sickness, she is in love with another peasant, but ends up engaged to the local Lord. Typical love triange story where the girl is torn between duty and love. It gets interesting when she becomes pregnant with her lovers child and ends up exclaiming that Wulfgar is the father.
Great plot, its shows how much R.A Salvatore can do without Drizzt. The only downside to this book is that there seems to be not enough fantasy in it. The sorcery and magical races could be easily taken from the book and it would still be a good story. In the end however it give a most optimistic outlook on the next book, where Wulfgar eventually comes out of his drunken depression and walks of into the sunset with the line... "Time to get his Aegis Fang back!"
I want to get the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wulfgar strikes back magnificently., 30 Aug 1999
By A Customer
Once again, our beloved Salvatore has produced a bestseller. I for myself was a little disappointed about "The Silent Blade", especially about the anti-climax-ending, but with this book, Salvatore has completely redeemed himself. I must admit that I had my doubts about a Wulfgar-only-episode But apparantly I should have trusted Salvatore a bit more, for I finished the book, as we Dutchmen call it, "in one breath". We follow Wulfgar from the moment that he is a Strength 19 bouncer at a lowlife Inn to the moment that he charges the frontgate (admitted, nog exactly the frontgate) of a small castle. . . . alone. And we know the old Wulfgar is back. No, not the old Wulfgar, a mentally stronger and more mature Wulfgar, who, to the dismay of the hostile mages he will encounter in the future, can use his Errtu-experiences to cancel almost every hold-related spell.
And the final sentence: "It was time for him to get Aegis-Fang back." is the truly fitting cliffhanger in a truly fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Salvatore dumps Drizzt for an exciting tale, 26 May 2002
By A Customer
I was looking forward to reading this, as a novel in this series without Drizzt in was quite a prospect. I love the Drizzt character, and especially the relationship he has with Wulfgar, but found it a bit grating in The Silent Blade. I was pleasantly surprised by this, as it eventually gave us a Wulfgar character to get our teeth into again. To see Wulfgar go from violence and destruction, to the brink of being killed for his action, to being accused of rape, was quite a journey... All in all this has made me anticipate the next book by Salvatore with great interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping the Adventure alive & Kicking, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The continued adventures of Dritzz & friends is awsome as a collector I'm more than happy to add to my collection, The seller has done me proud & I will use him again, R.A Salvatore is one of the finest modern day writers and pulls you into the adventure as if you are there watching the story unfold, a well deserved 5 stars and a great addition to the to the full collection.a must for all fantasy fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alignment portrayed in beautiful seamless storytelling, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spine of the World: The Legend of Drizzt, Book XII (Kindle Edition)
R.a. Salvatore brings new dimensions to the oft backseated Wulfgar, truly on of his best works in the Frizzy series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not like all the previous, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spine of the World: The Legend of Drizzt, Book XII (Kindle Edition)
This was a different book from all the previous ones! A bit boring at the three quarters but a bit better at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the read, 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spine of the World: The Legend of Drizzt, Book XII (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this series so much I have purchased every book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to winning ways, 29 April 2001
By A Customer
To be frank, I was getting a bit tired of the endless drow backstabbing Entreri-whining in Starless night, Legacy and Siege of Darkness.
In fact, this new book, mainly about Wulfgar, is probably the best book since the Dark Elf Trilogy. It contains a proper story and not endless excuses for battles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once finshed you will want to start again, 19 May 2001
By A Customer
Before I start lets got one thing perfectly clear.
THIS BOOK IS BRILLIANT AND DRIZZT ISN'T EVEN IN IT!!!
Now that is sorted, lets get on. No-one can possibly compehend what years of torture at the hands of Errtu have done to Wulfgar, but in this book we get blow by blow descriptions of just what our Barbarian hero went through, and its not pleasant.
The book starts with Wulfgar working as a bouncer in Luskan, attemping to hide from his nightmares in the bottem of a whickey glass, and by throwing troublesom patrons of the inn throuhg the nearest wall.
However he is sinking lower and lower, and eventually he even manages to lose Aegis Fang.
Framed for a crime he did not commit (against his old companion Captain Deurdemont of the Sea Sprite) he sets out into the wilderness, and begins the difficult path to redemption. Until he is framed for another crime against a young lady.
Great story telling from start to finish, and we end up with a hero stornger than he was before (and not just physically).
More books please.. and hopefully some reconcilliation with Wulfgar and the other hero's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read by an excellent author., 24 Jan 2001
By 
Kevin S. Aspery (Leyland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even without everyone's hero, Drizzt Do'Urden, making an appearance, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and completed it 2 days after receiving it. The nightmares and tortures of Wulfgar's imprisonment at the hands of Errtu enable you to understand better his fall from grace and his increased isolation from the Companions of the Hall during the course of Passage to Dawn/The Silent Blade and the ending was pure magic - "It was time to get Aegis Fang back".... I want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews