Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll Murder, but no Sex!
New author for me and I think I downloaded it on a whim in April 2012 and it has been sitting in my TBR pile ever since, but we got there in the end and it was a good read.

Jason Duffy is an Ex rocker, Ex social needs councillor and now a full time private investigator. His father James is a 30 year veteran of the San Diego Police Department and his son is a...
Published 19 months ago by Tom Stronach

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars another mans meat
Started off well then by 60% I was wanting it to finish. It just seemed to go and on with pointless questioning without adding much the story. Seems like trying to reach a word count no matter what. By the end I couldn't care who had done it, I had lost all empathy for anyone in the story.
Published 2 days ago by x19


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll Murder, but no Sex!, 17 July 2013
By 
Tom Stronach (Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Homicide (Rock & Roll Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
New author for me and I think I downloaded it on a whim in April 2012 and it has been sitting in my TBR pile ever since, but we got there in the end and it was a good read.

Jason Duffy is an Ex rocker, Ex social needs councillor and now a full time private investigator. His father James is a 30 year veteran of the San Diego Police Department and his son is a bit of a disappointment to him as he should have been a cop too instead of messing about as a failed musician, councillor and now the ultimate slap in the face to any cop, a son who wants to be a 'private dick' (My words, not the authors or the fathers).

An up and coming group are in the studio laying down the final tracks to their third CD, the one that everyone says is going to turn them from a support band to the headline act.

The group front man and co writer of many of the songs, and a perfectionist calls a break and puts on his noise cancelling headphones, a present from his wife..........

It gets messy after that and while sitting in his office Jason Duffy's PA shows in a new client, Chelsea Tucker, wife of the dead rocker who stands to inherit $5 million from a recently taken out life policy, she needs a PI as she thinks the police are going to arrest her for the murder of her husband and as Jason finds out during he course of his investigations, they had had a very public and acrimonious argument a few days before the incident.

It turns out though that Terry Tucker, being a perfectionist and as is the way things are with those folk, made lots of people unhappy in his willingness to walk over those who did not come up to his high standards of performance and so not all of the band or the hangers on or roadies gave him their undying loyalty. It also turns out that while a superlative musician he also had a business head on him too and there was the little matter of him publicly embarrassing his wife's father, a successful and powerful business man, over a deal that Chelsea's father was trying to get them involved in.

They had recently signed to a 'new' record company with the proceeds of the new CD due to go through the stratosphere based on the sales volume of the first two releases but the 'new' record company who it turns out may have links to the Russian Maffia, were not to clever at the kind of contract that Terry Tucker was looking for and he had built in a get out clause which would have meant the record company losing a rock venue sized stadium full of money...

So young Donovan has a lot of suspects but no hard evidence and finds that the local cops have already determined who the killer is, even after he tells them they may be wrong and finds some evidence to support this, including the fact that the main roadie /soundman was in the Army and was an expert in explosives.....

BTW, just a personal aside but I really did hate the name GI Jo-JO absolutely hated it

But, for the rest of the story it was fairly fast paced and moved along constantly with plenty of twists and turns although I did think at a couple of points, especially with the caricatured Russian's oh, and the involvement of the SDPD Irish 'Mafia' it was a bit passe' even for a book written in 2008/9 but never the less a passable days reading.

There were a couple of Kindle formatting errors and spelling errors, but only a couple, however they do tend to distract you, which is never a good thing if you want to entice the reader back to your books.

And why is that there is a table of contents AT THE REAR OF THE BOOK and why bother with this anyway if your chapters are going to be called Chapter 1 through 31. I suppose there are differing views to my own, in fact I know there is, but if you are going to have a ToC put it at the front of the book and to my mind use it if you are going to name your chapters, but I really don't see the point taking up a page or two just with a load of chapter numbers

Editing for Kindle: 3 out of 5
Reading Enjoyment: 4 out of 5
Plot: 5 out of 5
Overall Rating: 4 out of 5
Chapters: 31
Page length: 304 apparently but not evident on my kindle or iPad app - just % read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Rock Fiction, 8 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Homicide (Rock & Roll Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It's the first in a series of murder/mystery books. As the title suggests, this is Rock Fiction. Doberman's Stub are a successful band who have somehow become embroiled in a battle over the contract for their new CD. Their record company is quite shady to say the least. The explosive start to the book really drew me in and the story kept me interested. After the death of a talented member of the band, Terry Tucker, PI Jason Duffy is called in by the rock star's wife, Chelsea, to investigate. Chelsea Tucker, however, is a prime suspect in his murder. Jason Duffy is a believable and very realistic character, as indeed are all the characters in this book. From the secretary with OCD and the photographer with Tourette's Syndrome, to the members of the band and the Police staff and criminals, and even the various restaurant staff, and Duffy's family and girlfriend, all the characters are well drawn and come across as real people. There is a good dose of humour in this novel along with insights into the music industry and how it works. It is obvious that a lot of research has gone into writing this book.
As Duffy continues in his search for the truth and his attempt to clear his client's name, he becomes entangled in the dangerous world of the Russian Mafia and Irish Orangemen, putting not only his life at risk, but the lives of those close to him. The tension increases as the story progresses. This is a well written and entertaining book, and I'm looking forward to the second book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 31 May 2012
By 
Ladydriver (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Homicide (Rock & Roll Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I found this to be a light read but with enough depth, novelty, structure and well-developed characters to make it quite enjoyable. The whodunnit aspect of the story wasn't terribly complicated but there were enough red herrings that the culprit wasn't too obvious! It was also nicely written and after I finished the last page, I looked immediately for more by the same author (preferably with the same characters) - a recommendation in itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Homicide (Rock & Roll Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book I've read by this author but I will certainly be reading more in this series.
This is a book that keeps you interested enough to want to finish it in one sitting. The author obviously has some experience in the music industry. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good read, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Homicide (Rock & Roll Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was a free book and I was not expecting a great deal I have to say I was pleasantly surprised, this was well written, very entertaining. It is as the title suggests rock and roll, but would be a good read for anybody. Although this was free I would not have been disappointed if I had paid for it. The characters are what you would expect within the rock and roll world the plot is very good. I will be reading other books by this author, I would recommend this book to anybody not just those with an interest in the world of rock n roll. Very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it's good, 17 Dec. 2014
By 
Cathy (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Homicide (Rock & Roll Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An easy read. A budding private investigator, formerly a member of a rock and roll band, looks into the death of the leader of a rock band. Terry was killed in a most gruesome manner, presumably according to the police by his wife, Chelsea. Was it her or perhaps someone else...? read it and see what you make of all the in and ours of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars another mans meat, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Homicide (Rock & Roll Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Started off well then by 60% I was wanting it to finish. It just seemed to go and on with pointless questioning without adding much the story. Seems like trying to reach a word count no matter what. By the end I couldn't care who had done it, I had lost all empathy for anyone in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, 7 Jan. 2015
By 
Elizabeth J. Moore "Jane M" (Caerphilly County, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Homicide (Rock & Roll Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I bought the next book in the series. I like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Homicide (Rock & Roll Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Good fast moving story. Hard to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Roll Homicide (Rock & Roll Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Good Holiday Read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews