Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cole Porter album lives up to the title
As a Cole Porter fan I am always looking for new compilations but more often than not they are very similar. This one is different and that's why I find its 51 tracks so entertaining. The performances come from a wide variety of sources with the earliest being 1931 and the latest 1958. The public domain law allows for the likes of Eydie Gorme to delight us with "Let's Do...
Published on 9 Nov 2009 by C. FULLER

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing collection.
I'd been looking forward to buying a decent Cole Porter compilation, as I just love his songs. The songs are still brilliant but the particular performances selected here are, in the main, not. If you're looking to buying a Cole Porter compilation look for another one. Don't buy this one!
Published 4 months ago by STEPHEN W


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cole Porter album lives up to the title, 9 Nov 2009
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cole Porter - The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
As a Cole Porter fan I am always looking for new compilations but more often than not they are very similar. This one is different and that's why I find its 51 tracks so entertaining. The performances come from a wide variety of sources with the earliest being 1931 and the latest 1958. The public domain law allows for the likes of Eydie Gorme to delight us with "Let's Do It" and "Alwya True to You in My Fashion" with Don Costa's orchestra; the UK's Alma Cogan with Frank Cordell's orchestra open CD2 with "You Do Something to Me" and Lena Horne sings "At Long Last Love" with Lennie Hayton's orchestra all from 1958.
The mix of British and American recordings adds to the appeal and interpretation and the sound quality is excellent. Avid always seems determined to give value for money and a total running time of approx 158 minutes certainly makes this a huge collection time wise. Another excellent Hugh Palmer compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRIGHT AND GAY - HE WAS THE ONE, 20 July 2009
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cole Porter - The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
This 2-CD set is an update of Avid's 1996 Cole Porter album, which harks back to the golden age of Broadway and the Hollywood musicals, as well as extending to the late fifties. It carries 51 classic tracks, the earliest being Libby Holman's poignant delivery of "Love For Sale" from 1931. The star-studded compilation includes two songs by the composer at the piano, and a welcome reissue of the "Rosalie" selection, which features Al Bowlly with the NMDO. Prize for the most unusual track must go to "Swinging The Jinx Away" by the mysterious Tempo King. This is a sparkling reissue which is a joy to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL!, 5 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cole Porter - The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
It's all there in the title!Essential is the only word for it! Nothing much more to add at all!
A history of great songs and the singers who made good use of them. His words and melodies are witty, intelligent,
and astringent when required. Not least "Miss Otis regrets". Over 50 such. If you are a Porter fan or don't know his work at all, then these discs are for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i like it but...., 25 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cole Porter - The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
the sound could be better on some of ther recordings. its a trade of between "original" artists and sound quality i supose some songs i'd like better sound because to be quite honest the recording is rather bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful sound, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Considering that these recordings are decades old when made, the remastering has brought out the best in them. If Cole Porter were alive today he would he on top of the world's hit parade with his quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this, 25 July 2013
By 
Mr. B. A. French "bazzafrench" (Hampton Hill, Middx) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cole Porter - The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
I thought I knew the music of Cole Porter, but I didn't. He wrote far more than I ever imagined. This CD is long overdue. A brilliant collection of his works by original artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Buy!, 6 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cole Porter - The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
Great buy loved it. Can be played over and over again. Huge amount of songs. A really good buy for anyone who likes show stoppers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cole Porter - The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
An excellent for people who like the sound of Cole Porter's music.It has all the old favourites and was an excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cole Porter - The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
I love the songs of Cole Porter and never cease to be amazed at the brilliance of the lyrics as well as the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cole Porter - The Essential Collection (Audio CD)
A superb collection of Cole Porter's music, sung by a wide range of excellent singers (with the exception of Frank Sinatra!) I hadn't realised how influential was his repertoire. I can't stop playing this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cole Porter - The Essential Collection
Cole Porter - The Essential Collection by Cole Porter (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews