Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva Jamie !!, 8 Sep 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kings & Queens (Audio CD)
Now here's a very talented young man to be sure.
Jamie T. (nee Treays) second album 'Kings and Queens'
is, from top to tail, an entertaining and highly
original body of work.

The 11 songs in this new collection build on the strong
foundations laid down in his 2007 debut 'Panic Prevention'.
There is considerably greater maturity in both writing and
production but his raw energy and wit are undiminished.

Sure there's a pinch of this and peck of that in evidence
but Mr T wears his influences and musical loves lightly.

'368' is a powerful opening track.
Dark, disconcerting and electrifying.

'Sticks 'n' Stones' is alone worth the price of the album.
A raucous, driving, pogo-inducing blast of a performance.
Full of hoots and whoops and blistering conviction.
An absolute joy in every way !!

His collaboration with Mr Coupland has resulted in music
of truly exhilarating complexity and imagination.

The calamitous chorus and vigorous vocal delivery of
'The Man's Machine' is a rousing and affecting anthem.

'Emily's Heart' is a stripped down, powerful ballad with a
timelessly convincing quality conveying brutally sculpted emotion.

The finger-picking hokey charm of 'Spider's Web' is funny and smart.
This lad delivers more words per square inch than The Oxford English
Dictionary and Roget's Thesaurus combined.

'Earth, Wind & Fire' is a surreal highlight.
Disjointed, unpredictable but strangely, wonderfully coherent.

Closing track 'Jilly Armeen' is a crazy little masterpiece.
Eccentrically English yet delightfully unconventional.

A riveting and mind-bending achievement.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good, if not better, 8 Sep 2009
By 
A. R. Heather (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kings & Queens (Audio CD)
Bought this on the day of release after thoroughly enjoying his debut album Panic Prevention. This album is as good if not better than his debut. The upbeat melodies and genius lyrics work perfectly well to create an album that in my opinion gets you in a good mood and is happy, but underneath the upbeat are the lyrics which need to be heard for Jamie T to be appreciated. Its not without a couple of surprising songs either, which seem to come out of nowhere, which makes them even more so pleasant. Since buying I have hardly stopped listening to it, just so I can hear the lyrics again and properly.
I highly recommend this album if you enjoyed his first, or just fancy listening to something happy and meaningful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 9 Sep 2009
This review is from: Kings & Queens (Audio CD)
I bought this after listening to Jamie T do his thing in the live lounge. To be honest I was only interested in Chaka Demus and wasn't really expecting much from the rest of the album. How wrong I was. This whole album is fantastic, I am so pleased I went for the whole album and not a single download. Kings & Queens has earned it's royal place as one of my favorite albums bought this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shows great maturity, 17 Dec 2009
By 
I. K. Anderson "CJ" (Manchester, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kings & Queens (Audio CD)
I was a fan of Mr. T's first album, and in my opinion this, his second offering, shows how he has matured. 'Chaka Demus' is my favourite track, but there are many other really good ones, including 'Sticks and Stones', 'Spiders Web', 'Earth Wind and Fire', and 'British Intelligence'.

If you liked the first album you'll definately like this one, I feel his sound has become fuller and more interesting. His lyrics are great and of course full of wit, and will have you singing along in no time. Just buy it and see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kings & Queens (Audio CD)
Arrived as described. No problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I <3 Jamie T, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. Nicole Mcintosh "Brodie Bruce is God" (Nairn, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can't wait for the new Jamie T album to come out but until then it's Panic Prevention and Kings and Queens on repeat. Not one bad song on either album. I can't wax lyrical about his songwriting or musical prowess, I'm not a music reviewer, all I know is his music speaks to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bangin' Choons, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kings & Queens (Audio CD)
Jamie T is an artist who does not perform anywhere near often enough. He has done two albums which I adore and each has a quite different selection of sounds on. Would definitely recommend if you like Panic Prevention, even though it is quite different. The melodies are very different but the prose follows in a similar yet evolved way. His lyrics are less formulaic than many other more successful musicians and he requires properly listening to in order to get the most out of it. If you're thinking of getting this, I'd say buy his first album beforehand because it's an enjoyable journey to follow the progression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not heard it, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kings & Queens (Audio CD)
My son gave it 5 stars.
i have to write gibber, because this makes you do it , its really annoying, but hey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kings & Queens - Jamie T, 5 May 2011
This review is from: Kings & Queens (Audio CD)
nice to hear something a bit different from indie world. i really like this album its got some realy intresting and gr8 songs to listen to. fancy hearing tru inpired and creative music, then u shld think of buying this gr8 album by Jamie T :) Kings & Queens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius, 16 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Kings & Queens (Audio CD)
Never out of the CD player! And since my other half lost my first copy, he's not allowed anywhere near it! I need this in my life, and so do you...Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kings & Queens
Kings & Queens by Jamie T. (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews