Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GRID Off-road
The Colin McRae rally games took a dip with every subsequent release from the first one way back on PS1. The long running series returned to form with the excellent Dirt. The sequel though, bears little resemblence to its predecessors.

This is essentially Grid off-raod. Obviously using the same engine, it looks, feels and plays like Grid. As a stand alone...
Published on 7 Sept. 2010 by Duncan McDonald

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great.
As said, this sequel is a good racing game but no more than that.
It has magnified the worst parts of the original: the annoying american voiceovers and pubescent styling find it hard to enjoy the driving. Thankfully all voices can be muted so the eye-gouging artistic style in between races is your only main annoyance.
Back to the driving itself and it is...
Published on 26 Jun. 2011 by R. Wild


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GRID Off-road, 7 Sept. 2010
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: Dirt 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The Colin McRae rally games took a dip with every subsequent release from the first one way back on PS1. The long running series returned to form with the excellent Dirt. The sequel though, bears little resemblence to its predecessors.

This is essentially Grid off-raod. Obviously using the same engine, it looks, feels and plays like Grid. As a stand alone title it is very good. The graphics, whilst embellished with a golden hue are top notch as is the sound. The menus take a bit of getting used to. You get a huge variety of different off road style racing and plent of different vehicles accompanied with the usual unlocks. However, it is simply a collection of off-road challenges across the globe plus a multiplayer.

What is glaringly absent is a rally championship mode. A staple of all of the previous CMcR games, it is missing in action. How you can have a CMcR game and not do a proper rally is beyond me.

Overall, this is a very good racing game and well worth your money, especially if you like to mix things up off-road. If you want to do a proper rally then you should get Dirt or the forthcoming WRC title.

As for the americanisation, we are used to that nowadays. You just have to look at the choice of nicknames; Dude, 'Donut', JR. Just remember to shout "Yee-ha! god darn it" every time you get an achievement and you'll get into the spirit of things.

:o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dirt 2, the most fun driving game ever?, 17 Sept. 2009
By 
S. Rowe (Scarborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: Dirt 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the first time I've submitted a review about a game, I felt the need to after reading some of the other negative and misinformed comments on here.

I have never bought rally driving games before as tended to go for the driving sim style like Forza and Grand Turismo.

The best way to sum the game up is FUN FUN FUN, there are loads of varied beautiful looking tracks and cars, plenty of game options and excellent online multiplayer options

You can mess about with the car settings if you want but TBH get a life and just play the damn thing, the cars barrel along the tracks a break neck speed and when you inevitably bin it in to the crowd/rock face/barrier, just rewind the time and try again.

The cars handling are somewhere between arcade and simulation style, once you get used to hand breaking round hairpins you'll soon be picking up those first places.

When rally driving the co driver is clear and concise and I found that it really helped me get round the track faster.

You cannot apply the same logic you use to play sim racing games to this game, It's different, looks fantastic with no frame rate issues, plays beautifully and is just so much fun to pick up, jump in and tear up some dirt..... Yee haaaa!

If you want a sim go buy Forza 3, If you want laugh out loud driving fun? BUY THIS GAME NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent controls, but strays too far from its rallying pedigree., 23 Jun. 2010
By 
J. Gartland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: Dirt 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As a big fan of GRID the driving in Dirt2 came very naturally. I believe it strikes the perfect balance between arcade racing and a driving simulation; you can push cars harder than real life would permit, but the game is realistic enough to give you a smack on the wrist when you try to take advantage. I originally purchased Forza3 over this, a decision a later regretted. Not because Forza isn't a good game, but because I found Dirt2 to be much more exhilirating as there's a greater sense of speed, tighter controls and a diverse range of tracks and terrain. I would give the game 5 stars, but sadly it comes up short in a few areas. My main problem with the game is the American Extreme Sports theme it has taken on, an area Colin McRae was looking to penetrate before he passed away, but I feel it takes away from what the game should be concentrating on; Rallying! If I wanted to race laps of a circuit, I would have bought a street racer and while the rallying events and tracks which are in the game are fantastic, the street circuits can make the game a chore to complete. Hopefully the next Dirt will go back to its rallying roots. The game is also obsessed with Ken Block (whose car is on the front cover), while I'm sure he's a better driver than myself, there are much better rally drivers out there more deserving of the limelight than a rookie such as Block, I wouldn't be suprised if the next Dirt drops Colin's name to slap on Ken Block.

All in all I've thoroughly enjoyed Dirt2 and would recommend it to any fan of arcade racing, especially those who have played and enjoyed GRID. If you can look past the american nonsense you'll find a fun and rewarding racer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Off Road GRID, 23 Sept. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: Dirt 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is by far the best off road driving sim that I have played in the last 25 years,(yes I'm going back to Spectrum/Com 64 days!)
It adapts the Drift section of GRID and throws up challenge after challenge in a large range of vehicles and on all types of terrain.Increasing the difficulty level once used to the controls and vehicle handling will keep anyone entertained for hours as each race becomes very hard to win,particularly the rallying sections.
To obtain maximum brain damage from the game it is essential to connect to the HD input of your screen and use the optical surround sound facility through the appropriate amplification/speaker set up.
Anyone who likes sliding cars around will love this game and unlike the real thing there are no expensive repair bills or headaches when you hurtle down the side of a mountain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant can control, but gets repetitive, 31 Jan. 2013
By 
W. Noble "MesonW" (uk,n) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colin McRae: Dirt 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The graphics engine was a few years old when I played this, but it still looks magnificent. Detail, effects and smoothness are all top quality.
The controls are intuitive enough to become really adept at the game, and the handling matches that for almost peerless car control. Pretty much as controllable as in DiRT3 even, the game that brought gymkhana in to show how flexible it was.
The event types available don't vary a great amount (and I personally hated the big clunky off-road events, where a singel knock can meant the difference between a win and a bad lose); you've explored most of the locations after the first several hours; you've even reached the game's achievement-earning Level 30 by the time you're only about 30% through the available events, meaning the long stretch towards 100% would offer very little in terms of variety. Opponents and events can get more difficult as you progress up the tiers at each location, but the moment this becomes tiresome, you can offset it by lowering the game's difficulty. The financial punishment for doing this is so little, that it kind of negates the point of the game getting more difficult... or at least, it would take an iron will to decide that you've met your match on the skill level you started on and that lowering it to continue is beneath you :s

Cracking game, with fewer of the rubbish event types that DiRT 1 had, but lacking the messing about DiRT 3's Gymkhana mode offered. You'll enjoy the driving for the most part, which is handy as to get right to the end will take a hefty level of endurance, as each race feels like the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun if you're a jack of all trades, 18 April 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: Dirt 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Dirt 2 offers the best in off-road racing games, with a wide mixture of styles and vehicles from small light buggies through rally cars to Paris-Dakkar trucks, and single driver time trials over rally stages to tight "fight your way through the pack" races around twisting tracks.

This is both the appeal and the downfall of the game: With all the combinations of styles and locations you're never bored and the game always has something you've not seen before, but you also have to be good at EVERYTHING to progress properly. I found the trucks and buggies particularly frustrating, but the Trailblazer (rally stages without the co-driver, basicaly) very easy, a friend found the reverse to be true. This talent-based difficulty level often leads to long periods of trying repeatedly to beat the frustrating events, followed by the relief of enjoying events that are fun, but can sometimes be beaten too fast.

Often winning a difficult event is simply a case of finding the right car for that particular event: For example buggies are great for some tracks, but if the track is tight you will rapidly, repeatedly and frustratingly find yourself going from second or third to facing the wrong way in last place after being shunted off the track by a larger heavier truck. The Mitsubishi rally car is better for firm part-road tracks but lacks grip and control on loose or uneven tracks, the new Scooby is better for tight stadium circuits but spins easily on mixed circuits, and the classic Scooby is better for loose desert type tracks and is hard to spin but is slow on anything else.

Despite the frustrations this is a brilliant and varied game; you never feel really stuck and the commetary and music positively demand that you feel "AWESOM, DUDE!!!!!!" (with the extra excailmation marks). Even when you're struggling, you don't feel (as with many racing games) that the game just made it harder in later levels by putting the other cars on rails or giving them more power; you always feel you failed because you could do better and you always want one more try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best racing game on ps3 & Xbox, 14 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: Dirt 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Dirt 2 is awesome. No joke, its graphics are better than GT5, the gameplay is class with loads of cars to choose from and lots of levels of gameplay to challenge yourself.

Online racing is the best, except sometimes you obviously get screwed over when some guy tries to take you out most corners. Often though, you can have really good races with people. There's 3 different types of races on online, there is non contact racing which is all about skill as every other car is a ghost. But contact racing (skimrush or something like that) is the best. You will know what I mean if you get it. The most annoying thing though is when people know glitches on certain tracks, as there is no point in cheating. But most tracks there is no glitches and most people don't know them anyway, it's just the 1 in 1000 person that does. Btw if you get the game go to China and the Li River Descent and look 97th in the world because that's me, no cheating, promise.

Career Mode is just as good, make sure you find a good enough level though because it's alot more fun. You can get really pissed off with mistakes you make sometimes but flashbacks is an aboslute genuis idea which help loads. You can restart the race as well, and it can quite annoying if you keep repeating the same track again and again but you need to be persistent.

Obviously if you are competitive it can get frustrating but drifting cars and trucks is so much better than games like F1 where you need to stick to the racing line to win. So Dirt 2 is definately worth getting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Whoever thought getting a car dirty would be so much fun?!, 21 Jan. 2010
By 
R. Rhoades "Rob" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: Dirt 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm going to keep this review short, mainly because i'm at work right now! I'm a big fan of the colin mcrae series, my first being colin mcrae 2 on the playstation which was truly awe inspiring back then and i have to say that inspiration continues to this day! Codemasters have developed a true masterpiece racing game, a constant assault on the senses, an adrenaline pumped ride that i think we all hope never ends! Todays graphics are just amazing, the level of detail involved is just incredible, from individually mapped gravel stones being flicked up from the wheels to your windscreen getting covered in muddy water temporarily blinding you just before that crucial hairpin turn, things really have moved on from the old playstation days!

The game shouldn't be mistaken for a rally sim however, that it most definitely isn't, codemasters designed the feel to be forgivingly arcadey, now while this will put of some diehard rally fans i welcome it as if anything it makes the game more enjoyable, i'm drifting corners perfectly instead of bashing my controller to bits because i can never get it quite right, some times a game can be too realistic! Another welcome change is the inclusion of more multicar races, instead of its predecessor which consisted mainly of rally stages and hill runs, good fun... but nothing can beat the satisfaction of drifting past a rival.

I do have a few gripes, there still isn't any split screen multiplayer which spoils it a bit since this game would make an epic multiplayer game, they do include xbox live sessions however i never really got on well with those, most of your opponents will just try and ram you off the road, or wallride which spoils the fun of the game i feel, also i wish the game was more focused on the rally car aspect since i'm not really a huge fan of the buggies, they tend to bounce around too much!

In conclusion this game would make an excellent addition to anyones collection, it's a lot more fun than the forza's pgr's n GT's of the world.s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great., 26 Jun. 2011
By 
R. Wild - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: Dirt 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As said, this sequel is a good racing game but no more than that.
It has magnified the worst parts of the original: the annoying american voiceovers and pubescent styling find it hard to enjoy the driving. Thankfully all voices can be muted so the eye-gouging artistic style in between races is your only main annoyance.
Back to the driving itself and it is rewarding, thankfully the rewind system allows you to stop making the same error over and over.
If you enjoy a short, hectic rally style of racing game this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Rally Game Out There, 2 Feb. 2010
By 
A. Collings (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: Dirt 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This has turned out to be the best racing game I have played in a very long time. Purchased it expecting much of the same as the older games in the franchise and have been pleasantly surprised. The biggest thing Dirt 2 has going for it is its superb festival atmosphere and graphic realism. Recommended for any lover of racing games or even music fans due to its quality soundtrack, must buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colin McRae: Dirt 2 (Xbox 360)
Colin McRae: Dirt 2 (Xbox 360) by Codemasters Limited (Xbox 360)
£19.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews