Customer Reviews


542 Reviews
5 star:
 (295)
4 star:
 (117)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad I bought this and not the upgrade version.
I won't bore you with all the details about this software. If you've ever used a PC then you'll most likely know what to expect. It's much more stable and user friendly than Windows Vista and easy to see why it's such a big seller.

Initially I couldn't decide whether to buy the full version or the upgrade version. I was upgrading from Vista so could have bought...
Published on 7 Sep 2012 by Emma

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Counterfeit product
An extremely convincing couterfeit product. The PID and activation key worked for over two years before being identified by Microsoft as 'not for resale' version. The discs provided have hologram stickers which should be intrinsic to the disc, and the box seal has incorrect 'made in USA' wording. The reseller has been notified.
Published 22 months ago by Gs Lovell


‹ Previous | 150 51 5255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Windows 7, 24 July 2011
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Full Version (PC DVD), 1 User (CD-ROM)
I have used many different versions of Windows since Windows NT, some very good, others were horrendous (ME for example). Windows 7 has to be the best yet. I bought a new laptop earlier this year which came pre-installed with Win7, I was so impressed that I wanted to upgrade my main PC because of the 6 min plus boot time and shutdown could take as long as 20 minutes, this machine was running 64bit Vista with 6Gb Ram and i7 Intel processor.

I used the MS Compatibility tool to make sure my PC configuration and hardware was suitable for this new version of windows, apart from a question mark about my Canon printer - iP4600 (which has now proved to be wrong) all was okay to proceed. After a 4 1/2 Hour upgrade process the machine rebooted and told me that the upgrade was not possible and had failed... No option then, it had to be a clean install.

The clean install took a little less than an hour. Now I've got all my previous software installed and files transferred (previously backed up to a separate internal HDD) it was well worth the work. Boot time is down to 1 Min 26 seconds and shuts down in less than 2 minutes and no more of those infuriating system hangs.

If you're not sure, why not take the plunge and go for it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 15 Jun 2011
By 
Mr M. A. Bedford (Fleet, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Full Version (PC DVD), 1 User (CD-ROM)
Being neither a fan nor critic of Windows in general I am mainly happy with Window 7. It is clearly faster than XP when it comes to start-up etc. Overall this is a solid OS that takes a little getting used to if you were an XP user for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars computerware, 17 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Full Version (PC DVD), 1 User (CD-ROM)
ive still got this under my own review/test ok so far no
real problems or issues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Vista mac'ed (2 stars), 25 April 2010
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Full Version (PC DVD), 1 User (CD-ROM)
i installed windows 7 on a clean hard drive, previously have vista ultimate 64 bit.

good points:

*Better memory management so less memory hungry
*Faster boots

Thats it to be honest.

i'm deeply dissapointed with the interface, it's horrible. it's incredible slow to switch windows unlike vista where you press the box you want, many user may experience the window bar was squashed in vista but if you make it duel bar, it's so much better, i can fit all my commonly used programmes on quick launch toolbar and yet have plenty of room for windows. the worst part is when your switching file folder's, they all merge into one on win 7, and you can't even tell which one it is, so you end up flicking through them all ...

Features has exactly the same features as vista, it's outrageous. Just to confirm Direct X 11 is offically avalible for Vista from microsoft update.

The layout, well first you have to fight to the teeth to get the layout of your windows reasonable good for optimal use, i had to google for help multiple times to get simple things like quick launch on...

now to the point of the title.

i had to use my sisters mac when i was on holiday to type some work up, and i realised how damn similar they, i hate the mac OS with a passion, and the interfaces are now similar, its shocking.

So if the windows 7 has the same features as vista, it is in fact windows 7 = Vista MAC'ed

Please discuss my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EU wide use?, 14 Sep 2009
By 
W. Krill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Full Version (PC DVD), 1 User (CD-ROM)
does anyone know if it is possible to use this specific version in the netherlands? just wondering if there are any restrictions/codes etc that make it so that u can only use it in the UK (ordering this in the netherlands is twice the price almost). thx for any help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spyware under a different name., 24 Oct 2009
By 
Sonic (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Full Version (PC DVD), 1 User (CD-ROM)
Read the EULA before installing, it's asking you to give Microsoft a lot of personal data in exchange for an operating system that decreases in speed with time, needs constant defragging. This is before having to protect your computer from malware thus tying up more precious resources. It can run on laptops for about a week before becoming slow because of the crapware you have to install. Validation is a bad joke, pirates find their way around it anyway and running as Administrator is a practice to be avoided like you'd avoid a crocodile infested pond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whats to say it is microsoft windows 7 :), 22 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Full Version (PC DVD), 1 User (CD-ROM)
whats to say it is microsoft windows 7 :)

its windows 7 :)P

good product as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy but incomplete, 15 July 2009
By 
Peter Fisk (Eastern England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Full Version (PC DVD), 1 User (CD-ROM)
I found the free RC version very easy to install recently. It shares my HP Compaq 6735s with Vista and Suse Linux. Windows 7 works fine with only minor problems. I had to install the Vista drivers to get the trackpad to work, and certain keyboard functions don't work yet. Brightness control can be a problem, too. So windows 7 won't be perfect for this popular laptop unless better drivers are included in the full release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Windows 7- a dissapointment, 22 Oct 2010
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Full Version (PC DVD), 1 User (CD-ROM)
I have spent some time using Windows 7 on my friend's computer. Whilst its general operation is OK, I have a number of specific complaints. Firstly a change of icons from previous editions is rather confusing. More importatantly, quite a lot of the earlier programs will not work with Windows 7, particularly if you purchase the new 64 bit system. This means it is often necessry to buy new software. In addition, quite a number of hardware items are not compatible and it is not possible to acquire updated drivers. Windows 7 is not for me, I will stick to my Windows Vista and even better, Windows XP. The real problem is that when it is necessary to update/upgrade to a new computer, to get more memory, bigger hard-drive or built-in extras, such as web cams, card readers and Wi-Fi etc, to avoid a lot of trailing wires, they are all being supplied with Windows 7, whether you want it or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Royal Scam Rolls On..., 22 Oct 2009
By 
Kid Fist (Doncaster, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Full Version (PC DVD), 1 User (CD-ROM)
I was looking forward to upgrading to Win7 as the initial reports were that it had a vastly sped up boot up and was easier to navigate than before. These claims are absolutely unfounded! My system (which has a very high spec) has seen an extra minute added on to the time from power up to when I can actually commence work. Most of the hardware I have is no longer recognised despite the fact that the system's only 6 months old! The graphics card (ATI Radeon 4350) no longer has a functioning HDMI output as Windows refuses to search or install any drivers for it at all! The frustration of having no audio outputsl after 24 hours of trying to rectify the problem has led me to re-install XP SP3 as I would rather have a system that works than a work in progress.

If you're thinking of buying, don't. This is a product that isn't even finished before it's launched. Maybe in a year or so, it might work, but certainly not yet.

That's yet more money that I've been robbed of, thanks (again) Microsoft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 150 51 5255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Full Version (PC DVD), 1 User
£184.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews