Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coraline Real 3D Blu-ray version
Just for the record there are two editions available of Coraline on Blu-ray - one has '3D' in a bubble on the leftmost side of the package and states that glasses is included, and is the anaglyph 3D version (i.e. a poor substitute for real 3D). THIS one (the one with 3D written in a bubble on the right side of the package and with 'Blu'ray 3D + Blu-ray' at the top of the...
Published on 5 Jan 2012 by Paul WJM

versus
79 of 90 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Attack of the Red and Green Glasses!
It is a bit odd that the majority of the reviews of this dvd are reviews of the film, not of the product you're thinking of buying. Like everyone else, yes, I'm a fan of Neil Gaiman, love his work, saw the film in stunning 3-D at the cinema and loved it.
When I saw that the DVD was going to have a 2-D and a 3-D version I was ecstatic! As the rest of my family had...
Published on 13 Oct 2009 by Damo


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coraline Real 3D Blu-ray version, 5 Jan 2012
By 
Paul WJM (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Just for the record there are two editions available of Coraline on Blu-ray - one has '3D' in a bubble on the leftmost side of the package and states that glasses is included, and is the anaglyph 3D version (i.e. a poor substitute for real 3D). THIS one (the one with 3D written in a bubble on the right side of the package and with 'Blu'ray 3D + Blu-ray' at the top of the front cover consists of the Real 3D version (i.e. you need proper 3D TV with compatible glasses, 3D Blu-ray player, and HDMI cable) AND it contains the conventional 2D version which plays on any Blu-ray player, plus extras in 2D. Therefore if you're going to buy Coraline this is the version to get - you can watch 2D now and legitimate 3D when you buy appropriate equipment later on.

The image quality is stunning and highlights the beautiful details of the models used for the film (this is stop motion rather than computer animation, hence is more 'physical'), plus there's about an hour worth of extras. Great disc of a highly imaginative film that is okay for kids but features a few darker moments that may exclude it from the pleasure of much younger viewers. As an adult I enjoyed the film. Henry Selick (the director of this and Nightmare Before Christmas) is a truly talented person with fine understanding of animation.

Paul (The Grim Cellar)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little gem!, 6 Aug 2011
Well I was a little apprehensive about seeing this film when it first came out .. I had kinda lost interest in stop motion movies. But when I bought a 3D TV and material was drying up, I decided to plump for this after reading rave reviews. Well I am glad I did! Do you like the feeling when you find a hidden gem of a movie that has slipped you by and suddenly you think to yourself "how on earth did I miss this in the first place!"

Anyway, I won't bore you with the story, but the direction, script and of course the animation is first class! It is one of those movies that leaves a warm feeling inside.

Now onto the 3D ... well I have read reviews that state that the image is really flat .. well it is far from it! It could be the other reviewers equipment, cos the depth and separation is perfect from the outset. It does however come to life when Coraline goes through the little door into the other world. Image when you first saw Wizard of Oz and it turned from b/w to colour. Well this is the same with the 3D ... the depth is incredible in the other world with some lovely pop out moments. Don't be put off by thinking that the 3D only works for part of the movie, cos it is just not true. You get a different feeling of depth in the other world.

This is a must buy for, not just for families but for adults as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - except for 3d perhaps?, 10 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of all

I'm 22, and male. And I loved this film. It was quite eerie, and the dark undertones were brilliantly conveyed. I think the film itself is absolutely fabulous.

My review though is going to be mainly orientated around the blu-ray quality/etc.

The blu ray picture is akin to other recent animations like Wall-E... Absolutely fantastic and five star.

The 3-D feature though, as has been discussed a few times before, is a bit of a different story. The quality in the 3-D from the original blu ray is amazingly retained - to me it looked as stunning (of course there are colouration issues from the r/g but so far as the actual resolution, etc, it looked as good). However, the 3-D was quite gimmicky. It worked really well in some parts of the film - it gave an amazing added depth perception which was quite cool to see, but in quite a lot of the film (~50/50 in my opinion) its very miss - giving the same appearance as it appeared in 2d blu-ray. I think the way the 3-D has been brought in could have been incorporated to a much better method - though with technology at where it is at now - e.g. waiting to move onto either polarizing glasses or differential TV sets - it might not be entirely important.

As a side note - I got this product today after pre-ordering off Amazon like a month ago. Hugely impressed - 2 days before the official release date.

All in all I'd strongly recommend this - after picking up my PS3 and 1080p tv I'm really starting to get into genres of films I wouldn't have considered before, for video quality alone, and along the way I'm enjoying the films too. I'd throw Wall-E, Coraline, things like Pan's Labyrinth up there.

----Update: ***********

I re-watched Coraline in 3D the same night, and the quality was bundles better than what I observed in the day.

The 3D is absolutely stunning quality, and you don't depreciate any of the blu-ray quality when watching it in 3-D, absolutely brilliantly worth it. Watch out for the gravy train scene and the performing mice circus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Nightmare!, 5 May 2009
This is a challenging film.I saw it first in the cinema, with a packed house and in 3D. Worth every penny! For parents and children, make no mistake, this is not some fluffy fodder to merely entertain. There is a profoundly atmospheric and emotive core to this film which isn't easy. Some viewers may find that its sombre and dark, almost gothic tone, is disturbing, as well they might, for it is so. That said, this is a wonderfully refreshing, contemporary "fairytale" that is uncompromising and inventive. There has never been a stop-motion,puppet animation film to touch this in technical terms. It is simply, stunningly, awesomely fine. But it is the content,the shift in tone, that makes this more than flimsy, family fodder. Will it scare the kids....? Oh yes! Will it scare the parents...? I think so, because it enters into the terrain of primary fears in a dreamlike way to which only those who are completely anaethetised may be immune. Comparisons have been suggested with "Alice in Wonderland" and they are fair enough. It is an "Alice" for our times, though I consider that such a statement doesn't necessarily do the film justice. This is great filmmaking. Selick is a filmmmaker infused with the drama of passion,style,sensitivity and taste."Coraline" is a complete winner and quite simply, unmissable. Oh, and by the way, don't miss the sensational animation at the end of the endcredits. Most viewers and audiences do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best 3d, i loved it, 14 Aug 2011
It was the best 3d bluray of all i have watched by now.i watched it on my Acer H5360BD projector.
it took me in my childhood.
the scenes are beautiful.very good 3d effects
i can watch this movie again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great 3d title, 26 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this film to try out the 3d effect on my new tv and blu ray setup, plus it had interested me as a kind of offbeat tale that might be of interest. After a slow start it just got better and better. Firstly its a good story and worth seeing in its own right, but the 3d effect is amazing. The quality and creativity of the animated effects had me thinking that this was directed very much with 3d in mind and that you would be missing something considerable if you only watched it 'flat'. I had a friend over who came just to have a quick look at the tv. We put this movie on just to see what the 3d looked like.....and were entranced, ended up watching the whole thing right through. My friend left the house vowing to invest in a similar set up as she was 'gob smacked' by the visuals. As for content, it gets more scary/creepy as the film goes on; ok for most kids as they like being a bit scared but could be upsetting if the kids are too young, hence the pg rating. But for something too show of your 3d kit and entertaining as well, this is a cracker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coraline, 22 Jun 2009
By 
C. MacLellan (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The Plot
After being ignored by her busy parents (Teri Hatcher and John Hodgman), Coraline (Dakota Fanning) finds a doorway in her new home to a happier mirror world, where everything seems perfect. But all is not as it seems.

The Review
With Coraline, Nightmare Before Christmas helmer Henry Selick, immerses viewers in a Dahl-esque world of secret passage ways, talking cats and eccentric neighbours. Despite the pleasures Caroline experiences in the other world - most noticeably, parents who pay attention to her - everything is not as it seems, as Coraline will have to give up her eyes and have them replaced by buttons if she wants to remain in this new world.

Coraline has everything which a good children's film should have - thrills, spills and also some frights, as the belief that children don't like to be scare is a myth. The magical world she is transported to emerges into a tense game of hide and seek, with puzzles and riddles to be solved, all anchored by the smart young Coraline. However, it isn't completely edge of the seat stuff, as there is a distinct lack of peril.

The stop-motion `Other World' that Selick and his massive team have created is beautiful and vivid with great attention to detail, which contrasts with the grey and drizzly real world. The 3D is also stunning, immersing the viewer in Coraline's world. Again though, the 3D in Coraline felt unnecessary, as the story and stop-motion animation are strong enough on their own without the need for the 3D gimmick.

The Verdict
Positively chilling in places, Coraline transports you to a world full of adventure, making for an enthralling film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coraline, 22 Jun 2009
By 
C. MacLellan (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coraline (2D Version Only) [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The Plot
After being ignored by her busy parents (Teri Hatcher and John Hodgman), Coraline (Dakota Fanning) finds a doorway in her new home to a happier mirror world, where everything seems perfect. But all is not as it seems.

The Review
With Coraline, Nightmare Before Christmas helmer Henry Selick, immerses viewers in a Dahl-esque world of secret passage ways, talking cats and eccentric neighbours. Despite the pleasures Caroline experiences in the other world - most noticeably, parents who pay attention to her - everything is not as it seems, as Coraline will have to give up her eyes and have them replaced by buttons if she wants to remain in this new world.

Coraline has everything which a good children's film should have - thrills, spills and also some frights, as the belief that children don't like to be scare is a myth. The magical world she is transported to emerges into a tense game of hide and seek, with puzzles and riddles to be solved, all anchored by the smart young Coraline. However, it isn't completely edge of the seat stuff, as there is a distinct lack of peril.

The stop-motion `Other World' that Selick and his massive team have created is beautiful and vivid with great attention to detail, which contrasts with the grey and drizzly real world. The 3D is also stunning, immersing the viewer in Coraline's world. Again though, the 3D in Coraline felt unnecessary, as the story and stop-motion animation are strong enough on their own without the need for the 3D gimmick.

The Verdict
Positively chilling in places, Coraline transports you to a world full of adventure, making for an enthralling film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film but..., 7 April 2012
This review is from: Coraline (2D Version Only) [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This film is about a young girl who moves to a new house with her busy parents and finds the new place boring and gets fed up by her parents being more interested in their house and job than her, so she goes exploring and finds a secret door leading to "the other world" where she meets "the other mother and the other father", who have buttons for eyes....they show coraline what shes been missing in the real world (love and interest from her parents)...but its short lived after coraline is told that to stay in the other world she has to have buttons sown into her eyes, and you soon find that "the other mother" isnt as nice as she makes herself out to be.

I really think this film is very good, however....Im not sure how much of a childrens film it is. I saw this film with my sister at the cinema, I was aged 18 and she was 21....we both felt very uncomfortable at times watching this film and I nearly had to walk out as I felt very anxious as did my sister. I know adults who have watched this film with their young children who found it upsetting to watch. Dont get me wrong the film is very good, vivid colors and Henry Selick has told the story (based on a book) very well. He has captured the darkness of the story and makes it an intense watch.

It really is a good film and please dont be put off by the review...I am glad Ive seen it and I bought the DVD and book its based on because I like it....I would say though if you have young children....watch the film before they do to see if you think its appropriate for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 20 July 2010
This review is from: Coraline (2D Version Only) [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The story is told in an easy, gentle manner the pace and content are perfect. Add a whimsical atmospheric soundtrack, top rate animation, casting and a hugely imaginative story and you have an outstanding children's movie.

I originally saw this at the cinema with no real idea of what to expect and was left feeling I'd watched something quite special. The children have watched it several times since.

There are a number of moments of menace but entirely contextual and unlikely to cause any sleepless nights.

Highly, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coraline (2D Version Only) [DVD] [2009]
Coraline (2D Version Only) [DVD] [2009] by Henry Selick (DVD - 2009)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews