Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Magnificent Moodies Rejuvenated
Forget the all too average 'Night At Red Rocks' DVD. The band as seen on this new DVD - 'Lovely To See You' is The Moody Blues completely rejuvenated and on magnificent form. Gone are the strained vocals of Justin Hayward as heard on the earlier DVD - here his voice sounds as fresh as the day they recorded 'Nights In White Satin', and his...
Published on 20 Mar 2006 by M. Ash

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars time to call it a day lads
As a life long "Moody Blues" fan who has seen the band several times as well as owning a fair sized collection of their albums on both vinyl and c.d. I have sadly, to say that I was so disappointed in this "Live" HD-DVD.
They have always been my favorite band, and, will continue to be my favorite band,my favorite time being pre "Blue Jays" days when the band were at...
Published on 26 Mar 2008 by J. Sniegon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Magnificent Moodies Rejuvenated, 20 Mar 2006
By 
M. Ash (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Forget the all too average 'Night At Red Rocks' DVD. The band as seen on this new DVD - 'Lovely To See You' is The Moody Blues completely rejuvenated and on magnificent form. Gone are the strained vocals of Justin Hayward as heard on the earlier DVD - here his voice sounds as fresh as the day they recorded 'Nights In White Satin', and his guitar playing has been subject to some serious workout. Here is the man all Moodies fans grew to appreciate for his superb musicianship and he is completely back on top, showing why The Moody Blues have survived all these long years when many other bands have fallen by the wayside. John Lodge, too, is on great form and its so good to hear 'Talking Out Of Turn' from the 1981 album 'Long Distance Voyager' performed so beautifully.
The set list is extremely well chosen and provides a really successful balance between classic tracks and great songs that have sometimes disappeared from their sets.
Sound and picture quality are both top notch, with the DTS 5.1 surround providing a particularly atmospheric soundscape through a decent home cinema rig.
Watching this DVD I am so glad we've got tickets booked to see them in October - if they are as good as this its going to be a night to remember!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars moodies just keep getting better, 25 April 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have been going to see the Moodies for more years than I care to remember and watched the lineup change and their hair (and mine) get greyer, but their musicianship and songwriting ability never seems to diminish with the passage of time.

Saw them play virtually this set a couple of years ago, and was so impressed that I thought I'd add this DVD to the collection. I bought it with some trepidation, as none of us are getting any younger, but I can only agree with M Ash in the previous review - the angel-voiced Justin Hayward is on peak form (as are the rest of the band), the sound quality, especially of Justin's famous 335 is brilliant and Norda Mullen's flute playing is nothing less than wonderful.

Roll on the next tour!!!

Well the next tour has indeed rolled on. Saw them at Nottingham a couple of weeks ago and again the quality of the performance was breathtaking - wonderful sound, note and word perfect and Justin Hayward definitely has a picture in the attic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Moody Blues Lovely To See You, 23 May 2006
By 
Kelly G (Cincinnati,ohio) - See all my reviews
This is a excellent video of The Moody Blues performing songs from their older albums that they have not sung live for over 30 years. "The Actor","Are you sitting Comfortably" and "Higher and Higher" are some of the many highlights of this concert. The Moody Blues have not lost any of their "electricity" on stage, and the addition of Norda Mullin on flute is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A live album that catches the spirit of the Moodies on stage, 20 Dec 2005
Not since Caught Live + 5 has there been a Moodies live album without an orchestra. The quality of this recording is phenomenal and so is the playing and singing. It's a real treat for Moodies fans and anyone who appreciates good music. Justin Hayward is in fine vocal form and plays lyrical guitar, while John Lodge's base is rich, deep and melodic. Support flute-player Norda Mullen is a fine replacement for Ray Thomas, who retired due to ill-health, and her energy is obvious on such classics as The Actor and Are You Sitting Comfortably, two tracks from the "Core 7" albums recorded in the 1960s which sound as fresh and lively as if they had been first written and recorded last week. Then there's Graeme Edge's thundering Higher and Higher, a tremendous rip-roarer of a track. After 40-odd years, you'd think a band would be tired and washed-out, but for all their critics, the Moody Blues are one of the best live acts around today. Please let's have a new studio album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They just get better and better!, 30 Nov 2006
I was lucky enough to see the MBs at the Albert Hall on two nights during their 2006 UK tour, and well what can I say, they had the crowd on their feet sharing a great night of music. I was so glad that I bought this DVD, so at least I can relive the music (with a couple of changes from the UK tour) and the enthusiasm of the band. After having seen them again prior to 2006 with and without an orchestra, I must admit I much prefer the band nowadays as they are (exc. orchestra). They seem to just 'enjoy' the night more and it seems a more personal relationship with the fans. Their voices and musicianship just seem to be getting better and better. I wish though the cameras could have been at the RAH videoing the fans 'in sync' with their lightsticks to'The Other Side of Life', a joy to watch! This should keep us all going until we meet the MBs again during their next tour. I admit that I have only come back to listening to the MBs in the last 10years since my introduction to them in the 1970s (shame on me!) - What a re-discovery, they have my utmost respect for their songwriting, musicianship, love of music and great live performances, plus their honest repsect and appreciation of their fans. A great DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, 30 Oct 2006
By 
Roger Jeynes (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been a fan of the Moody's from the beginning, and despite the passing of time, their music is as fresh as ever. This DVD highlights the great musicianship and talents of a unique band, and is a must have for inclusion in any Moody Blues fans' collection. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong, Tight & Psychedelic!, 16 Nov 2005
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
After seeing the Moody Blues many times, I have to say they are just getting better. Although this ‘live’ recording has no orchestra, it still brings back the feelings of the older songs. “Lovely To See You” might be an odd choice to open (other than its obvious title), but it is pitch perfect and a great prelude to what is to come. The original sound of the mellotron on “Tuesday Afternoon” and Nights In White Satin” is more like the original than the orchestrated ones. Hayward’s voice is in fine tune on great renditions of “The Actor” and “Question”. “Higher & Higher’ Is a great treat with Graeme Edge giving a chilling rendition exactly like the original. “One Life To Live” was unfortunately not included here, but played at some shows, thunderously. The entire feeling and sound is more of a trip back in time than any of the other live recordings. Ray Thomas is missed here along with “Legend Of A Mind”, but the replacement flutist does a remarkable job. They are still the Moody Blues and are strong, tight and psychedelic to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Autumn is best..., 30 May 2008
By 
D Deacon "pixist" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What truly excellent songs! What an excellent concert! It does not get any better than this. Today's bands should watch this in awe. This is how you do it. Forty years on they are as fresh as they were as young men in 1964. Time takes its toll, of course, but adds maturity and that's what is on show here along with buckets of talent. These are amongst the best songwriters ever heard. Winter will never arrive on these songs - they are forever Autumn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Moody Blues - Lovely to see you - Blu-ray DVD., 2 May 2012
After witnessing their excellent live concert in Bradford 4th October 2008, I was eager to purchased their Lovely To See You (DVD) a.s.a.p. I found that the sound quality of the DVD virtually replicated the sound quality that was experienced at the live concert. Like all concert DVD's it helps when good quality audio equipment is used to playback the soundtrack, this one is ultimately equipped with 5.1 DTS. The visual quality is also very good. I must say that I prefer this DVD to their earlier Hall Of Fame DVD, which was recorded live at the Royal Albert Hall in 2000. I feel that it's all very well for bands to be supported by an orchestra, but if they are capable, rock bands should remain true to their basic form. The Moody Blues do this with absolute ease. The three original members of Edge, Lodge and Haywood are supported brilliantly by Marshall, Bliss, Barlow and not forgetting the delightful Norda Mullen, who adequately replaces (as flautist) the retired founder member Ray Thomas. However, for any Moody Blues fan that may never get the chance to see the band perform live, I can highly recommend this DVD as the next best thing. What's more - you've got the DVD forever to play over and over again. However, the only way that this DVD can be improved upon, is to upgrade from the standard DVD version to Blu-Ray. - From a Moody Blues fan who kept the faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moodey Blues lovely to see you Blu-Ray, 3 Jan 2010
By 
Excellent! what more can one say, picture quality fantastic along with the moody blues music we enjoyed the whole experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live: Lovely To See You [DVD] [2009]
Live: Lovely To See You [DVD] [2009] by The Moody Blues (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: 39.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews