Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katamari...I love you <3
Ahhh Katamari... how I love you.

Once again the utterly bonkers roll-and-collect game is upon us and despite being more of the same is still fantastic fun.
The flailing legs and terrified screams of passers-by as they get rolled into a massive Katamari never fails to amuse but this time it's in glorious HD.

For the uninitiated: You are the...
Published on 22 Sep 2009 by G. Thomas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the king of all cosmos
Good fun wacky Japanese game, It's not something you can pick up and play straight away, like the controls but one you've mastered them its a lot of fun rolling up everything
Published 18 months ago by Neale Melville


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katamari...I love you <3, 22 Sep 2009
By 
G. Thomas (Canterbury UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Katamari Forever (PS3) (Video Game)
Ahhh Katamari... how I love you.

Once again the utterly bonkers roll-and-collect game is upon us and despite being more of the same is still fantastic fun.
The flailing legs and terrified screams of passers-by as they get rolled into a massive Katamari never fails to amuse but this time it's in glorious HD.

For the uninitiated: You are the Prince (of all cosmos) and you roll a Katamari (a kind of sticky ball) around levels collecting all the objects left lying around. As you collect more objects the Katamri scales-up and you can roll up bigger and bigger things evenually rolling up skyscrapers, ocean liners, trains and other huge objects. There is usually a time limit and a size-needed but some levels impose more stringent targets. My favourite level (Ring-Out) involves rolling a Sumo wrestler and picking up food until he is big enough to bounce the other wrestler out of the ring.

You've got your mad-as-a-box-of-frogs storyline (as usual) concerning the King being hit on the head by an asteroid. A Robot-King replacement is built who promptly eats all the stars then has an attack of conscience and wishes us to replace them all. Meanwhile the King recovers and has lost his memory so we must roll some highly defined Katamari to help it's return. Last but not least are the intermission-style TV cutscenes that absolutely defy all attempts at any rational description.
The menu pages are in the style of a pop-up book and work beautifully within the context of the game allowing you to switch levels, change character, view your collection of rolled objects or even visually customise your character with presents you find on each level.

"Katamari Forever" is almost a collection of greatest hits mixed with some new ideas. The older levels are black and white but colour-in as you collect more with your sticky ball of doom. Two new features are a jump button which proves extremely useful and the broken-hearts that when collected cause all nearby objects to be sucked into your Katamari for a limited time. Other than that it's business as usual.

This is a tremendously inventive and visually amusing game which is unlike anything you've played before (unless you're a Katamari veteran of course) and proves to be highly addictive when you surrender yourself to its undoubted charms.

Anyway...I could rattle on about all the things I love about Katamari games but I have a Katamari race to win and this time when I pass the starting line I'm determined to catch that Tarzan as he swings temptingly from right to left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best. Game. Ever., 26 Oct 2009
By 
S. Dean "TheGreatStudini" (High Wycombe, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Katamari Forever (PS3) (Video Game)
Nah-n-nah-na-na-nah-nah-nah, Katamari Damacy!

Having never before played (or indeed, heard of!) any of the Katamari series previous to stumbling across this little gem, i was completely astounded as to why i hadn't. Quite simply, this game is awesome.

The idea is simple. You play 'The Prince' (or one of his cousins), who's job it is to go around collecting items by rolling a sticky ball (known as a Katamari) round each level at the request of his majesty the King or the Robo-King. The larger your Katamari becomes, the larger the objects you can pick up.. You will often have some sort of mission to complete, be it picking up certain types or a certain number of objects, reaching a target size within a set time-limit or simply making your Katamari as big as possible.. If you fail, you are punished, and then you try again.. and that's basically it.

The game looks cute, sounds fantastic and plays like a dream.. It has satisfying, simple to learn yet hard to master controls meaning that when you delicately curve your Katamari round a corner, following a line of items and hit every single one, you feel like a million bucks - even with the King's put-downs!! (seriously, you have to perfect a level to even get a compliment out of that guy!! ;^)

Warning, you may find yourself singing the soundtrack to yourself in the most inopportune places - i've been caught at work on at least two occasions already!!

Also it's the scale of the game, there are several levels where you start out at a size where you can fit through mouseholes, but end the level the size of a planet, picking up entire cities, mountain ranges or even continents!! Simply brilliant.

I have never played anything quite as addictive as Katamari Forever, and i'm not sure i ever will again. I have already lost a lot of sleep - and it doesn't look like i'm going to be getting any for the foreseeable future!

So, yes... All-out Japanese madness. It makes no sense, and in my opinion, the game KNOWS it makes no sense, which i think is why i love it, pardon the pun, but you just have to 'roll' with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hypno-Toad says buy it buy it buy it buy it........, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katamari Forever (PS3) (Video Game)
If that title of mine didn't turn you right off you MIGHT just be up to this bizarre gem of a game- bust first turn off reality & immerse yourself in a land where sense no make fish.........its bonkers! Sometimes amusingly so, other times just 'whaaaaaaaaaaat the fudge was that about/for/at?!?'
The gameplay is quite original too, your game character rolls a super sticky ball (called, surprisingly, a katamari!) around various scenarios (that are as well thought out pleasing to look at & play as micro machines v.3 settings). The bigger the ball, sorry, the katamari, the bigger the objects your katamari can pick up: so remember that thing you bounced off to start with, or that one who kept bumping into you? Well grow yourself a big ball & you can pick them up! (note that though you can get hit this isn't a game of damage/health bars etc, you are mostly timed whilst 'having' to acheive a certain size to progress- I say having because unlike most games I'm happy to do same levels over & over just because its fun!)
If you played this on ps2 then this is more of the same: I don't remember ps2 graphics so can't compare, but camera occasionally loses you & the controls aren't always as quick as you'd like- but these are the only (minor) gripes I can think of- if bizarreness & complete randomness don't put you off!
If you like games fun, then this is a gem of a game that I know will give me pleasure for years to come........do i recommend it? What do you think?!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boggles the mind..., 3 Mar 2011
By 
Greeny "Game, Book and DVD Collector" (Ebbw Vale, Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katamari Forever (PS3) (Video Game)
Ok, this is one of the strangest games you will ever play. You roll around making things stick to your ball. The more you roll, the bigger your ball gets and the larger the range of things there are to roll up.
The graphics are great; cartoony and HD.
The soundtrack is so catchy. You'll be singing the main theme for days after, at least.
The gameplay is addictive. You've got to beat your score on every one of the many levels! Of course, the trophies encourage you to do this even more. The controls are a bit fiddly, but you get used to them.
The game will last for ages, but some of the levels will are quite frustrating. Once you get the hang of everything, it's amazingly fun to play.
It's different from the prequels for the following reasons: HD, hearts that absorb all available items in your area and the ability to jump (either with R2 or by shaking the controller a bit). There are also trophies. Whether this is enough to buy what is a very similar game to the prequels is your decision to make.

Overall, I'll give this a 4/5 because of the slight difficulty curve, but that's only if you're going for the high scores as soon as you start. This game is a must buy, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Nostalgic, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katamari Forever (PS3) (Video Game)
Katamari in 1080p remixed... pretty graphics, good music, fun gameplay,,,, nuff said. ;) Recommended for new to the series .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katamari Forever (PS3) (Video Game)
The game was in good condition and my only issue is that it was the north american version. The title image suggests otherwise. Amazon should specifically state as often it is quite importaint. In this case it wasn't since the PS3 is not region locked, but sometimes additional content like DLC is only linked to the correct version of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly unique. Utter madness., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katamari Forever (PS3) (Video Game)
From what I've gathered Katamari Forever is an enhanced remake of the PS2 classic Katamari Damacy.
From what I've gathered the developers were on a constant high and 'rolling a Katamari' was more than intentional.
But ultimately Katamari Forever lives up to the hype by providing incredibly addictive score attack gameplay in a uniquely creative format all the while simulating the effects of psychedelics for us uninitiated folk.

Controls are fairly tight with both sticks coming into play as a tank-track effect. Push both forward to move forward, push left-stick forward to rotate to the right and vice-versa. You have an occasional tendency to get stuck in the gaps of your environment so the added jump is a god send. Simply shake the controller to activate it and spring clear into freedom.

The art style is simple but charming and wonderfully crisp in native 1080p. Soundtrack wise is fitting to the game and adds a lot to the Katamari experience. There is some endearing humour splashed throughout the dialogue and cutscenes. Borderline nonsensical everything except maybe the main gameplay itself will be hard to grasp for a new player. It gets to a point where I felt scared, confused and almost abused like a small ape attempting to dance for the circus while a jeering audience pelted me with monkey nuts.

I can see why the series is such a cult hit, anyone who has been into this hobby since at least '95 needs to give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this game!, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katamari Forever (PS3) (Video Game)
Bought this game for my boyfriend the Christmas before last (2012) and we both still play this game. Very fun and addictive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very lovely game, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katamari Forever (PS3) (Video Game)
The Game arrived quickly and in a good condition.
I will def recommend my friends to get this game, the graphic is sooo lovely and cute.

Love it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the king of all cosmos, 9 Jan 2013
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Katamari Forever (PS3) (Video Game)
Good fun wacky Japanese game, It's not something you can pick up and play straight away, like the controls but one you've mastered them its a lot of fun rolling up everything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Katamari Forever (PS3)
Katamari Forever (PS3) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation 3)
18.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews