Customer Reviews


421 Reviews
5 star:
 (370)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


176 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sopranos Will Feel Like Your Family
There is no question that The Sopranos achieved an astounding milestone in television history. Every episode has the aura of a feature-length film, from the inter-weaving plots and interesting character arcs to the flawless wide-angle camera work.

The Sopranos rises above great television to become great art because the characters, plots, even the beautifully...
Published on 23 Jan 2009 by P. Foster

versus
47 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show, shame about the box.
For the actual show itself, The Sopranos is undoubtedly 5 stars. Fantastic cast, great storyline's and unlike no other show to hit our screens. Each episode is like a mini-film, and the direction in certain episodes, particularly Season 3, is incredible. However, my peeve is with the boxset itself. Despite looking great with plenty of good photography splashed across the...
Published on 16 May 2009 by Mr. M. M. Harper


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

176 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sopranos Will Feel Like Your Family, 23 Jan 2009
By 
P. Foster "Pete" (Somewhere Near France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There is no question that The Sopranos achieved an astounding milestone in television history. Every episode has the aura of a feature-length film, from the inter-weaving plots and interesting character arcs to the flawless wide-angle camera work.

The Sopranos rises above great television to become great art because the characters, plots, even the beautifully shot scenes of the not-so-beautiful New Jersey, become embedded in your mind. Once you're hooked, you cannot go one day without thinking about the Soprano universe and exactly what is going to happen next.

When it comes to the characters, don't be mislead: these are horrible, ruthless people who, when all is said and done, are always thinking about themselves. However...you'll like them. You'll cheer at the screen when Tony Soprano gets one over on an enemy or the Feds; you'll laugh your socks off when Silvio impersonates Michael Corleone. This is the genius of the series - here are mobsters who fight, steal and kill for a living, yet they go to PTA meetings, worry about the mortgage, put on a smile when they meet their children's friends.

The 18-rated themes of violence, sex and corruption are dealt with carefully and realistically. There are no stylised depictions of mob life - it is made clear that people fight back when someone tries to kill them, drugs and alcohol ruin lives and hardly anybody, when push comes to shove, actually likes what they sometimes have to do. The side-by-side rendering of domestic and mob life makes The Sopranos the most believable Mafia story ever committed to screen. Yes, even more so than Goodfellas of the Godfather.

The cast do the writing every inch of justice - James Gandolfini dominates every scene that Tony Soprano is in: even his breathing chews the speakers and reminds the viewer who is in charge.

Quite simply, no review can fully describe how ground-breaking, addictive and joyous The Sopranos is. Buy it, watch it and re-watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


145 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD set - Best TV Show ever., 29 Oct 2009
By 
O. Morad (Central London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sopranos - HBO Complete Season 1-6 (New Packaging) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I can't add anything new to all the praise that's been handed upon this show apart from saying that it's all deserved. Instead I'm going to talk specifically about this DVD set.

The content:
In case you were confused about which box set to get - this one is the full series over 28 discs which include all of the special features in the individual seasons.

The Packaging:
All 6 seasons are presented in 7 individual amery cases in the lovely black box - an apparent improvement over the "deluxe box set" but I'll come back to that later.

Versus the Deluxe Box Set:
There is also a deluxe box set out with 2 extra discs of extra features which are NOT included in this box set but it's composed out of a cardboard digipack case which is easier to damage and the housing for the discs leaves them open to lots of scratches.

It's also about 60 more expensive and the extra features don't seem good enough to warrant that price tag - even for a Sopranos purist.

Verdict:
In terms of value and packaging - I'd definitely recommend you go for this box set over the deluxe one - especially at the prices it's going for now but if you really want to see those extra features - here is the link for the other box set -
The Sopranos - Complete HBO Season 1-6 - Deluxe Edition [DVD] [1999]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent set, 26 Nov 2008
This is a review of the box set itself, since obviously the show gets 5 stars and we all know how good that is - so in response to an earlier review calling for comments on the packaging, here's my take.

There's an outer sleeve showing all the characters lined up as you can see on the product image. Inside this you pull out the oblong box which is also shown. This has the words "The Sopranos" along it. This box splits in two and reveals two sides, with 15 discs on each. Each disc is on its own sleeve and is tucked away to reveal just a number, from 1-4 (since this is how many discs are in each season - season 6 is in two parts therefore 8 discs).

My only gripe lies in the way in which the discs are stored within the sleeve. The sleeve is all just cardboard, there's no plastic holder, no fabric to stop it from scratching and no clip to make sure it stays in. To take the disc out you have to get your finger inside the sleeve and slide it out, which isn't particularly awkward but may leave you wondering if you're doing any harm to the disc. (You aren't)

Having said all of this, despite the usual faults which I thought would accompany the cardboard sleeve system - it doesn't seem to have any. There was definitely no damage in transit, I doubt they even moved because they are very secure in their sleeves. I checked every single disc and the only marks i found was a slight fingerprint which was left after I slid it out. Although I haven't done much of the sliding the discs in and out, after roughly 10 times I couldn't find any scratches on the discs, just the usual fingerprint in the same place. I'm fine with this because it can easily be removed with a cloth - whereas if there were any scratching then that's probably not reversible.

I'd say this is probably the best solution for this set since 30 discs is not to be scoffed at, and most other sets with that many would be a lot bigger. It's easy and quick to access and looks good on the shelf. Each disc has a number which is visible while it's in the sleeve, but this is just the disc number and doesn't show the season number. It would have been nice to have seen what disc and what season without having to remove the disc, but I'm fussy like that.

I can't comment on whether the set is an improvement on the individual seasons since I never owned any of them, so I couldn't even tell you if the menus have been upgraded or not. If you already have all the sets then I'm not sure it's worth over 90 just for the two bonus discs, but if you're new to the Sopranos or haven't bought the sets then I'd definitely recommend you buy this deluxe edition - especially since there doesn't even seem to be a Blu-ray on the horizon. (Sort yourself out Warner!)

I'd say it's a fabulous collection, with the only slight drawbacks being the fear of damage in the cardboard sleeves and the lack of visible season numbers in the sleeve - but don't let these put you off. All of my comments regarding the wear of the discs by removal from their sleeves and the state of them after transit is purely subjective, and it wouldn't surprise me if someone found the complete opposite to be true; but I certainly know I'm happy with it and if you're undecided I advise you to take the plunge, especially with Christmas looming.

Regarding size, it's difficult to place but I'd say smaller than an Xbox 360 but bigger than one of those big hardback books.

Someone asked about subtitles, so I've detailed them in one of the discussions below.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV Drama. Redefined., 22 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos - HBO Complete Season 1-6 (New Packaging) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Despite being a fan of mob movies, I never managed to catch The Sopranos when it was broadcast on TV (I'm always too busy to properly follow a TV station's schedule). Nonetheless, I heard it was a good show, so I took the plunge and purchased the complete box set.

Boy, am I glad I did.

The Sopranos is compulsive viewing. I managed to watch all six seasons over the course of one month, because when one episode finishes, you're simply dying to watch the next! Each episode is crammed with interesting characters, cutting dialogue and first-rate acting. And although classified as a TV drama, there is a lot of humour injected into each episode, so its not all downbeat and grim - you'll be laughing during scenes as well!

For fans of mob movies, The Sopranos is essential viewing. For casual fans, it still makes a great TV show. I know because my wife could care less for mob movies but even she would sit there watching episodes with me... Because its not just about the Mafia. Its about family and relationships as well - but certainly not in the "boring" way you may think it is.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV Drama. Redefined., 15 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite being a fan of mob movies, I never managed to catch The Sopranos when it was broadcast on TV (I'm always too busy to properly follow a TV station's schedule). Nonetheless, I heard it was a good show, so I took the plunge and purchased the complete box set.

Boy, am I glad I did!

The Sopranos is compulsive viewing. I managed to watch all six seasons over the course of one month, because when one episode finishes, you're simply dying to watch the next! Each episode is crammed with interesting characters, cutting dialogue and first-rate acting. And although classified as a TV drama, there is a lot of humour injected into each episode, so its not all downbeat and grim - you'll be laughing during scenes as well!

For fans of mob movies, The Sopranos is essential viewing. For casual fans, it still makes a great TV show. I know because my wife could care less for mob movies but even she would sit there watching episodes with me... Because its not just about the Mafia. Its about family and relationships as well - but certainly not in the "boring" way you may think it is.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First The Godfather. Then Goodfellas. Now The Sopranos., 27 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. Tristan Martin (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
New Jersey mafia drama, The Sopranos, has been deluged with praise. Anyone approaching this for the first time might be expecting to have their expectations unrealistically raised - The New York Times called it possibly the finest piece of American television "in the last twenty years." However, this modern classic fully deserves every plaudit that has been laid at its door. The Sopranos is in the same rich vein of epic Italian-American storytelling as both The Godfather and Goodfellas, two classics of cinema; The Sopranos is easily a modern contemporary that can proudly take its place in the same pantheon.

The initial conceit of The Sopranos, as envisaged by creator David Chase, is that Tony Soprano, family man and Family man, is indulging in that quintessential middle class American crutch - psychotherapy. This calculating, cynical, mid-level mafia boss, is plagued by feelings of doubt and lack of self-esteem, `issues' that were inculcated in childhood and that have now blossomed in to full blown neuroses; these psychological problems are now starting to diffuse into both his personal relations with his family and his `business' decisions within organised crime.

The second conceit, one that is mostly played for laughs, is that the mobsters in The Sopranos are not only aware of films like The Godfather, they positively revel in their cinematic ancestry: mobster Silvio Dante repeatedly does terrible impressions of Al Pacino (from The Godfather Part III), other mobsters misquote or discuss various films and their similarities to the events that are happening around them; other scenes are based on sequences from Goodfellas et al but given an ironic twist. This could easily become so much post-modern rubbish in lesser hands, a one-joke routine spun out to encompass several series but this is most definitely not the case. A modern mob drama could not ignore those films previously mentioned, to do so would have been simply unrealistic; similarly, in recent FBI wiretaps, real life Mafioso have been recorded discussing The Sopranos and asking each other if it's based on them..

The writing of The Sopranos straddles that most difficult of genres, the comedy-drama. The series is frequently laugh-out-loud funny and yet at the same time we believe in the seriousness of the characters and the gravity of the dilemmas they face. Like certain other classic mob dramas, The Sopranos sucks the audience in: we cheer when Tony gets the better of his enemies, even though that means that innocent families get broken and others on the sidelines get killed. This brings us to the very essence of the entire series, articulated during a conversation betwixt Tony Sopranos' psychotherapist and her divorced husband: "Eventually, you're going to get past your psychotherapy with all its cheesy moral relativism and finally get down to good and evil. And he's evil."

As somebody who watched The Sopranos from its initial broadcast to its abrupt finale, all superlatives are fully justified. The whole six series establishes a high water mark for television. A landmark programme that redefines the medium's possibilities, each series stands alone as an epic movie. I have not singled out any particular member of cast or crew for special praise, as the entire ensemble is uniformly outstanding and all involved will probably never hit such heights again. If The Godfather and Goodfellas represent pinnacles of cinematic artistry, The Sopranos, it can now finally be written with certainty, can be added to such a rostrum. If expectations have been raised, they will be fully satisified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Packaging is the tops!!!, 22 Sep 2009
By 
An Avid Rock Fan (South Wales. U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos - HBO Complete Season 1-6 (New Packaging) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I won't bore you with more talk about this amazing piece of television gold, as enough has been said about how wonderful and great it is.

Rather I just wish to say how amazing the new packaging is.

The old red and black boxset was huge...even for a shoebox, and the individual sets were pretty chunky as well....but this new packaging is simply divine.

A beautiful compact box with all seven series(including series 6 parts 1 and 2)individually housed in slimline cases...just like the individual series should be housed.

One of the best box sets I've ever seen as far as packaging goes...as for the show....well just enjoy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never be beaten, 30 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perhaps one day, many moons from now, somebody will pen a script, mould a story, acquire a magnificent cast and somehow create a television show that will better The Sopranos. Perhaps. I doubt it. This boxset is of course the entire set of Sopranos episodes and its utterly fantastic. Its as close to perfection as I could ever imagine television getting. Its sure to be more to somes taste than others but I just find it compelling to watch. Hilarious one moment, almost shocking the next. Utter genius. For those not yet aware of this masterpiece Tony Soprano is the main protaganist in this show. He is the boss of the New Jersey 'Family' and we view him plot his way through incident after incident. Fight after fight. Woman after woman and death after death. The best way to appreciate this television programme is to purchase the boxset and watch it. I have no doubt that it will be the best 100 quid or so you ever spend. If you like television and you like a story that will grip you then look no further. Within the red and black cardboard box is the finest piece of television ever made. Simply magnificent. Get it now so you don't have to regret not owning it anymore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be honest, 2 Feb 2011
By 
Anthony Kelly (Wicklow, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
... you're really only looking for an excuse to get this so let me give it to you straight, 'it really is as good as you've been told' and if you saw it when it was originally aired then 'it's still as good as you remember'. Now enough faffing about and press the BUY button, it's worth it!!

Oh and before you ask the answer is Yes you should get the Complete West Wing set as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best entertainment in a box!, 22 Feb 2011
By 
Lynne Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sopranos - HBO Complete Season 1-6 (New Packaging) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I missed this series when it first hit the screens and when this offer came up I thought I would find out what the fuss was all about. From the opening of episode one of the first season this has been compelling viewing. Its so much better than anything else thats on the box at the moment - fantastic entertainment - I cant believe I could have seen this years ago and didnt. The acting is second to none, the writing is utterly brilliant - how its possible to create such empathy and liking for such unlovable creatures is amazing. Every episode leaves you wanting to see more, the music (even just snatches of tunes) is marvellous - I've already bought the CDs so I can listen when I'm not watching.
One of the best things you can buy, and great value for money, I cant recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sopranos - HBO Complete Season 1-6 (New Packaging) [DVD] [2007]
73.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews