Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Budget jollies
This is a budget set of B grade movies at a great price. If you are looking for Kubrick or Kurosawa then you are undoubtedly setting yourself up for dissapointment. If you enjoy cheesy B movies from the 70s and 80s then you will doubtless be amused. I have only watched half of the films on this set so far and they have more than justified the price. Heres a few thoughts...
Published on 6 May 2011 by the santa cat

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So wanted 2 watch Tomboy again as haven't watched since I was young
My fault dint look at where I was buying from so as it's region 1 & US I can't watch it on any of my DVD players, & I waited nearly 3weeks 2 receive it my daughters were gutted!!!!
Published 1 month ago by Mrs Ruth Romain


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Budget jollies, 6 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Cool for School Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a budget set of B grade movies at a great price. If you are looking for Kubrick or Kurosawa then you are undoubtedly setting yourself up for dissapointment. If you enjoy cheesy B movies from the 70s and 80s then you will doubtless be amused. I have only watched half of the films on this set so far and they have more than justified the price. Heres a few thoughts on them.

Cavegirl is an oddball film, very obviously very low budget and made in quite a primitive and predictable manner. However there is something fundamentally likeable about this film and it has a strange air of pathos that made keep watching and felt bizzarely satisfied by it. Thats not to say that it wasnt in turns embarasing and uncomfortable, but something about it hit the spot.

Beach girls is light on story line but fairly well made. The predictable storyline is not without laughs and the makers were wise enough to include breasts at every possible opportunity, usually about every 30 seconds. You could technically class this as a stoner film for the second half.

Coach is a comedic take on gender prejudice in the field of sports in the late 70s, again not top notch but entertaining and also somewhat inapropriate :)

Jocks is the only film I have ever seen with Christopher Lee and Richard Roundtree in the same shot together. Its an odd idea, Shaft and Dracula united at last in a teen tennis comedy. It also has that animal guy from revenge of the nerds.

Equally, the van is another piece of entertaining 70s fluff where a nerdy teenager gets a pimped out 70s van and instantly his life is transformed into adventure and sexual conquest.

You get the idea, this is an incredibly cheap box set of 12 films. the prints I have watched so far are all in good shape, the packaging is good. I havent found a catch with this. Go ahead, if old cheesy comedies float your boat then this will likely keep you amused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girl Power Rules?, 29 Oct 2010
This review is from: Tomboy (VHS) [1985] (VHS Tape)
Tomboy is about a Girl who takes on the boys, and wins in her high powered car with her engine design in it! Good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars too cool for school collection, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Cool for School Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
excellent 12 films, i just wish someone would release, more of the 70's & 80's films & some of the latter part of the 60's decade, this is where you will find the best of film history, sex,nudity,horror,cult & many more, i think "shameless" are doing quite well at the moment, but there were hundreds of great filns made from these 3 decade's, & should be found, digitaly transferred to dvd for film buff's & classic film buff'scollectors like me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So wanted 2 watch Tomboy again as haven't watched since I was young, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Cool for School Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
My fault dint look at where I was buying from so as it's region 1 & US I can't watch it on any of my DVD players, & I waited nearly 3weeks 2 receive it my daughters were gutted!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE MUST SEE, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I WATCHED TRHIS MOVIE WHEN I WAS A TEENAGER AND WANTED TO SEE IT AGAIN . . .
I WOULD SAY THAT EVERY TEEAGER SHOULD SEE THIS MOVIE . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless 80's classic, 29 July 2010
By 
Mr. Paul Sutherland (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a really fun movie from the 80's. It has the cheesy music, ,love storyline, classic one liners. This was a movie I used to watch on video. Unfortunately is only available on dvd from the USA but at a very expensive price. I was glad to see this movie on Amazon de. I just typed in Tomboy and up came the movie. You can purchase this movie for only 7 Euros and it's about 6 Euros to post it. Once you try and manouvre around the options. All you have to do is select the option below film starten and then you can change the language to English. A great movie for a fraction of the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't do it!, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Cool for School Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
US import that wouldn't play on 3 of my DVD players. Soft, soft porn very dated and just not worth the effort. Be warned!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Too Cool for School Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
3.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews