Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SETTLERS YOU CAN PLAY THIS OFFLINE!
With the newest Settlers being,rightly,trashed due to it'd draconian DRM I purchased this title,I mean it's five and a half quid what the downside? And I'm glad I did,you know a game's good when you lose five hours of your life and it seems like five minutes,it's style is exactly like the old city building Caesar and Pharaoh games although in comparison Settlers is on a...
Published on 1 Jun. 2010 by Paulie

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very restrictive, a step backwards after Settlers V
Playing this shortly after replaying Settlers V was a mistake. The graphics in the game are very beautiful, and superb animation, but the gameplay is full of tedious annoyances.

In a sense it is a return to the old Settlers games in regards the way you have to have a storehouse, and the limited types of army. All the complex upgrade paths for promoting armies...
Published on 23 Aug. 2010 by G. M. Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SETTLERS YOU CAN PLAY THIS OFFLINE!, 1 Jun. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Settlers - Rise of an Empire (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
With the newest Settlers being,rightly,trashed due to it'd draconian DRM I purchased this title,I mean it's five and a half quid what the downside? And I'm glad I did,you know a game's good when you lose five hours of your life and it seems like five minutes,it's style is exactly like the old city building Caesar and Pharaoh games although in comparison Settlers is on a smaller scale (you never really build more than a small town) the combat is also very simple and as with most of these games it's generally a case of building a bigger army than your opponent and piling in.This is probably one of the few games I have played that will have genuine universal appeal to all ages and sexes.Overall recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Settlers VI runs on Windows 7, 4 Aug. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Settlers - Rise of an Empire (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Just like another reviewer I too bought this game from inetvideo-uk and they also sent me the gold edition which I thought was an unexpected bonus because it contains the expansion pack, I also installed it onto my windows 7 pc and it runs perfectly with no fixes or tweaks at all.

The game itself is great with good graphics and story line, I am only up to mission 4 at the moment but have not encountered any problems at all.

Overall a great game and a nice surprise from inetvideo-uk, you can't go wrong at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Made significant other's day, 22 Oct. 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers - Rise of an Empire (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Bought this game for my boyfriend as a gift and he loves it. He says it's challenging and that makes it enjoyable. So I consider this money well spent. It's a great game for yourself if you like strategy games or as he says games in which the main thing is "controlling and manipulating people". Is working well with his computer; he is still using XP so that feature is a plus.

The suppliers sent it pretty quickly considering how far they were from me.
Couldn't be happier with the service all around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very restrictive, a step backwards after Settlers V, 23 Aug. 2010
By 
G. M. Phillips "goldhart" (In a deep dark cave) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers - Rise of an Empire (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Playing this shortly after replaying Settlers V was a mistake. The graphics in the game are very beautiful, and superb animation, but the gameplay is full of tedious annoyances.

In a sense it is a return to the old Settlers games in regards the way you have to have a storehouse, and the limited types of army. All the complex upgrade paths for promoting armies seem to have gone out of the window, and it's all very basic - even simpler than the original Settlers games in that you don't need the sawmill to get wood, and you don't need to work the metal before getting swords - and there's nothing so complex as geologists - just stick a mine down near a clearly marked resource.

Game play is at times very frustrating. In Settlers V, you had a real sense that the army you built was winning or losing - it's all just vague in this one, and there's no way to make the army stronger, and they don't even heal when they return to base. What's the worst aspect of armies is the incredibly bad siege equipment, which just doesn't work in any expected way - when you get to level ten and are forced to attempt to knock down an opponents gate, you will most likely just give up. And you have to earn the right to use siege equipment by the seriously tedious tasks of promoting your "hero" to an advanced level.

The game play is very restrictive - follow the campaign instructions exactly, usually providing some of your hard-earned resources to some other game character. This is all very limited and dull - in previous games you could do the game in your own sweet way. Also annoyingly inept are the heroes - forget the useful skill such as Erec and Dario had in Settlers V - these heroes are wimps who die very easily and have hopeless skills that are only vaguely useful. Resources are low in this game - hundreds of units rather than tens of thousands - and buildings that are far from base take ages to return goods back to camp. All the pleasures of earlier games of seeing the goods pile up is gone. All the pleasures of building a thriving community have gone. Also the storehouse gets full way too early - ludicrously early. I'd count that as a design bug one of many - did no-one point out how seriously bad all aspects of game play are?

Still, all said and done, you can pass some time with this game, and get vague satisfaction in following the precise campaign orders. Bluebyte don't seem to learn by mistakes, so expect an annoyingly complicated way to exit the game when you just want to get out with two keypresses. Apparently Settlers 7 is worse...

If you've not played 5 before, then go get the gold edition of that, and if you've done all the previous games then perhaps give this a go at least to see the pretty cut scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Compatible, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Settlers - Rise of an Empire (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I bought the game, (It arrived as advised which is why I'm giving 2 stars) waited expectantly as it was installed only to find it isn't compatible with my laptop. There is a disclaimer on the back of the game that advises it won't work on all laptops but not in the description so I now have a game I cannot play. The seller really should specify in the description so people can check before they buy to avoid disappointment and not waste money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best of the Series, 18 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. Frazer R. Snowdon (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers - Rise of an Empire (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Rise of An Empire is a great game, and one of the best of the Settlers series. The graphics are great and the interaction is easy and intuitive.

The only down-side is the military aspects, which are simpler then previous Settlers. All soldiers are the same grade, whereas in previous versions you could promote them with gold. You also only have swordman and archers, whereas it would be nice to have one or two others (like spearman, for example...) However, this doesn't affect the gameplay that much.

If you like to concentrate on economy, then this is perfect for you. However, if you like the military aspects of Settlers more, then I wouldn't recommend this.

Another point to note is that it isn't a timeless game. What I mean by that when resources run out, you can't get any more. You can't build foresters, or trade for more iron or stone, like you could in some previous versions of Settlers.

But for around a fiver, you can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the casual or novice RTS solo gamer, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. J. S. Winter "Snarkly Boojam" (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Settlers - Rise of an Empire (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
A nice version of Settlers. As usual for the series, more focused on resource management than combat and with an easy learning curve, and kinda cute as well. It can run on fairly low spec Windows XP machines at lowest graphics settings and still looks okay. The game play is the thing anyway. So, hours of solo RTS fun at a cheap price.
I needed to download the latest Tages patch [...] and game update [...] to get it to run on Windows 7, but it was easy to find this advice on the web, ant the game update means you don't need the disk in to play.
I doubt that Ubsoft are still supporting playing against others online, but you could try Settlers Online for free, if that's your bag. You could set up to play against others at a LAN party, and you would only need the one copy.
Hey, I like it and am having fun. What more do you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but with a short life span, 5 Mar. 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers - Rise of an Empire (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This has to be one of the most attractive looking games I have played. It is not complicated to play and the difficult ramps up slowly. A great experience.

However, after a while the gameplay starts to become more important, and it starts to become somewhat repetitive and annoying, there are only so many times 'friends' can ask for supplies before you want to burn down there settlement and unfortunately lose the mission in campaign mode.

Definitely worth the money now its not at a premium, probably best played in short doses so that the beauty keeps the repetition in check. A game that could be recommended to anyone, would say that the 12+ age guide is unnecessary as the military aspect of the game is fairly clean cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I was surprised!, 1 July 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers - Rise of an Empire (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Bought this out of boredom one rainy Sunday afternoon. Didn't expect much of it at all. Got home and played non-stop for about 8 hours. I was surprised at just how much work had gone into making the game. The graphics are brilliant, the gameplay is both challenging and addictive. Overall, a pretty awesome game.
Admittedly however I did get bored of it after a couple of weeks but I do go back to it now and again.
It's definitely worth giving a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as the previous game, 5 Sept. 2010
By 
R. D. Mcleod "ricknevaria" (cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Settlers - Rise of an Empire (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Graphics are ok, not the best, but certainly not the worst either, but the general aspect is lacking compared to the previous game where settlers had something to say, the military aspect could be better too.

Overall, the game is good, just not as good as Settlers 5, it is quite challenging sometimes, but you soon get the idea of a basic tactic that ensures victory in the mission.

However, if anyone can help me on mission 15, would most appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Settlers - Rise of an Empire (PC DVD)
The Settlers - Rise of an Empire (PC DVD) by Focus Multimedia Ltd (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews