Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtitle information for "Celebrating 400 years of Monty Python"
Important information if you are a foreigner

"And now for something completely different" - English Captions
"Life of Brian" - English, Italian, Arabic, Danish, Finnish, Hindi, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish
"Monty Python and the Holy Grail" - English, French, Arabic
"The Meaning of Life" - English
"Monty Python Live at the Hollywood Bowl" -...
Published on 3 May 2011 by Miguel

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Other product reviews on this page are not for this item.
Excellent but the other earlier reviews on this page are NOT for this item ? I wonder if the box set has been changed but the reviews have not been updated ?
Published 24 months ago by friartuck9999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtitle information for "Celebrating 400 years of Monty Python", 3 May 2011
This review is from: Monty Python: 40th Anniversary Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Important information if you are a foreigner

"And now for something completely different" - English Captions
"Life of Brian" - English, Italian, Arabic, Danish, Finnish, Hindi, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish
"Monty Python and the Holy Grail" - English, French, Arabic
"The Meaning of Life" - English
"Monty Python Live at the Hollywood Bowl" - English, Italian, Dutch, Dannish, Finnish, Hindi, Norwegian, Swedish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Other product reviews on this page are not for this item., 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python: 40th Anniversary Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent but the other earlier reviews on this page are NOT for this item ? I wonder if the box set has been changed but the reviews have not been updated ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great if you have £100 - or go to amazon.de, 11 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. C. A. Richardson "CameronRichardson" (By Loch Ness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Right. this boxset (judging by this page) is AMAZING. if you're happy to spend £100 for it, buy now. however, if you simply want to see the program and films, buy the boxset of the films, which is around £30 i think, and go to amazon.de (germany) and buy their monty python's flying circus boxset. it has no t-shirt, no parrot, no fancy drawer-thing box, but its all in english, and costs about £40 posted. but still, if you have none of the dvd's, and want to start collecting, if you buy this, you're done, and you dont have to keep translating pages with google!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves its labelling as "fabulous", 27 Dec 2008
As none of the precedent reviews actually refer to the product itself, I feel impelled to indicate that this is the greatest boxset ever released. The T-Shirt is in L-size and shout fit to most people. Mine is yellow and has the quotation "My Brain Hurtz" on its front. The lifeless parrot is made of inflatable PVC. The bonus material is overwhelming - no need to mention the quality of the movies and series. This really contains everything ever done by Monty Python, in best quality. 55£ is a fair price for 16 DVDs full of art and humor that never palls. Buy this, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monty Python Boksset... The Great Bok'n'Roll Swindon?, 5 April 2011
By 
Mr. L. Palmer "Lee B" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A bit of fun, really! Good to have all the movies and TV show in one OTT package (made out of three of the world's finest rainforests), designed to look like a rather large Quality Street.

Two gripes here, really...

1. The TV series is all included, but unlike the TV series boxset (sold as a separate entity from all god purveyors of naughty videos), it doesn't contain the 'making of' DVD, much to one's annoyance, leading me to conclude that this package ain't nearly as definitive as it proclaims to be. The inclusion of the Python's Best Bits seems a bit pointless, as the entire series is included, Adam Waring the brilliant 'Parrot Sketch Not Included' is... not included.

2. This package is also lacking definitiveness buy not containing a number of things including the Monty Python albums and boks (although given the size of the Life of Brian bok, the boksset would take up a fair chunk of one's living room). Having said that, although lovely though the blow up parrot and T-shirt are, I can't help thinking that the albums would have helped with the 'definitivity' of this non-boksset.

3. An almost fanatical devotion to the Pope...

Our THREE gripes are -

"STOP THAT, IT'S SILLY"

"GET ON WITH IT!!"

Etc...

All in all (for the price, under £50 in my case + P&P) one mustn't gwumble. Plus I got the 'My Brain Hurts' T-shirt in yellow (exactly what I wanted!) so, this helped a great deal.... So it was in fact... a great deal.

And now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, get the German one!, 8 Sep 2008
By 
N. C. Bateman (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'd just like to add my voice to Gary Richardson's. If you want an awkwardly-shaped box, an inflatable parrot and second copies of all the Monty Python movies that you already have on DVD, then this is for you. If you just want the four series of Monty Python's Flying Circus and no fripperies and fol-de-rol, the box from amazon.de is unbeatable. It's compact (seven discs in a digipack about the size used for US TV seasons) and really nicely done - the menus are like old pages from the Radio Times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value for money, 22 Nov 2009
By 
M. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this for my partner for christmas because he loves monty python. I couldn't wait till then for him to open the box so I've given it to him already. He couldn't believe the price and how many DVD's were in the box and the extra's, like the tee-shirt and the blow-up bird. The box is great too. We've watched a film and some of the T.V. series and the quality is really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all Python fans, 8 April 2009
By 
K. Skov (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazing box. You get so many hours of entertainment out of this boxset that it alone is worth the price, but it's not just entertainment, it's Monty Python.

The plastic parrot isn't worth much and the t-shirt is XL. I got a Romnani Ite Domum shirt and the quality is what you would expect (nothing special). The box itself is by far the coolest DVD box ever, and it's actually really well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for Money, 4 Nov 2009
By 
A. Edwards (NW England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python: 40th Anniversary Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this to watch and enjoy with my daughter who hasnt seen Monty Python. I thought it was good value for what it say's on the box. I'd recommend as a good present for anyone who enjoys a laugh. Grab your Popcorn and join in with "He's not the messiah! He's a very naughty boy!", and "It's only a flesh wound!". great fun for all adults.........dont forget the bring a shrubbery! :P

Av
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monster, 9 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a wonderful boxset. It came to me a bit scrubed in the corners but I guess it's normal with a intercontinental trip.

The boxset is great. My shirt said Welease Wodger and it's green.

I have almost all of the dvds in it, but it's very nice to have it compiled in one item with great artwork and presentation. It's also good because I can keep this dvds just for me and loan to friends the others. This way I can have always the dvds in good shape, without risks and working properly.

5 Stars, again, to the greatest comedy group of all time. Monty Python, tank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monty Python: 40th Anniversary Collection [DVD]
£18.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews