Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good comedy
In music there is easy listening and on TV there are shows like Monday Monday, unchallenging, but entertaining at the same time. It's nothing but a bit of fun but at least the writers had the decency to create a believable and clever script, to flesh out their characters so that we wouldn't be faced with cardboard thin people but with complex men and women moved and...
Published on 23 Feb. 2010 by H. Lacroix

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Monday MondayI
I sent for this DVD because Miranda Hart is in it.Although I am a great fan I must say that I did not feel that it was not on a par with her later work e.g. Not Golng Out and Miranda.
Published on 4 Mar. 2012 by Mrs. Margaret Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good comedy, 23 Feb. 2010
By 
H. Lacroix (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday Monday [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
In music there is easy listening and on TV there are shows like Monday Monday, unchallenging, but entertaining at the same time. It's nothing but a bit of fun but at least the writers had the decency to create a believable and clever script, to flesh out their characters so that we wouldn't be faced with cardboard thin people but with complex men and women moved and thwarted by wishes and desires, ambitions and fears. In a word it rings true! What's more they even hired actors, real actors, people who can give gravity, density, warmth and pathos to a character, not just pretty faces with no more than three or four facial expressions! What a treat! this is what makes watching Monday Monday a real pleasure. It's not that deep, it's not that clever but it was honestly and painstakingly honed and crafted with respect for the watcher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun in the office, 4 Feb. 2012
By 
B. Russell - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday Monday [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
So much now days is that everytime we switch on the TV there's always a tensious drama or a rubbish talent or reality show on... so I can tell you now this really was a breath of fresh air! With a star studded cast 'Monday, Monday' is about the daily going's on in the office's of fictional supermarket brand Butterworths. While having its dramatic and reflective points, this drama does have exactly the right mix of tension and comedy, and therefore in my eyes in a real success.

With a cast including Miranda Hart, Fay Ripley, Tom Ellis and many other big names you would expect a really good programme... and trust me you really won't be dissaopinted. The performances by everyone were extrodinary and makes this drama-comedy the gem it is. I believe this drama works so well because each and every episode has the correct mix of drama and comedy, you want to follow the advetures of these charecters, but at the same time you are laughing. It's simply extrodinary.

I think that it was such a shame that this was not reccomisioned for a second series because I believed it was a real arc de triumph - and I must say a must buy for everyone - you won't be dissapointed. 10/10 :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok !!!, 3 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Monday Monday [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A very likeable comedy show of 7 episodes but not too much happens in the first 5. And then in the 7th and last episode it all ends but so could have continued with a second series as those last 2 episodes showed there could have been a lot more. Good show for a bit of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyment, 24 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday Monday [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this series. The casting is excellent across the board (in particular Fay Ripley & Neil Stuke) and having worked in an office for years, I thought it was very realistic indeed. The storyline is good and although the romantic element is a bit predictable, it's generally light hearted and the characters are believable. I just loved this and would thoroughly recommend it. I was so disappointed to see that a second series wasn't commissioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the fun side of office life, 29 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday Monday [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a delightful comedy of the staff of an office transferred to the north of England. Recognizable characters from office life, it is a romantic comedy, lighthearted and fun. I saw it on TV, missed some of the episodes and was so pleased to find the whole series. It arrived within two days, so there was none of the agony of waiting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars False advertising, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday Monday [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Using Miranda Hart as a drawcard for purchasing this DVD seems a bit strange when she is almost an 'extra' in the cast list.

Having said that, the program is a constant source of 'who is that?', 'what else have they been in?' questions that remind you of other programs you enjoyed.

I found this to be a slow moving, but ultimately satisfying series - undemanding, with a wry humour probably best understood by those of us who have worked in an office and can recognise the stereotypes portrayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Office politics and personalities satirised, 5 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday Monday [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
An acutely observed satire of the characters found in a UK workplace that will be recognised by anyone that has had to work within a team. The humour is mostly gentle (with some slapstick and a few belly laughs) and benefits from some excellent characterisations from the cast. The writers should be commended as the story line of each episode is well crafted and believable. The actors are nearly all familiar which makes it all the more surprising that it passed me by when this series was shown on peak time television. Apparently it was not shown on TV until two years after being made.
Morven Christie is outstanding as the problem-solving unsung hero of the office and Fay Ripley creates a character that is inept, funny but evokes some sympathy too. Above all it is the accurate observation that rewards the viewer because we see people and situations that are common to us all. Watching these happy episodes will bring a smile to your face, it is a worthy purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, watch it, watch it again!, 16 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday Monday [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is such a great series. It's really funny, understated, a bit dramatic and really watchable. Great performances all round and a very sharp script. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series - Great fun, 23 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday Monday [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Excellent great fun series with a star cast. Fay Ripley, Jenny Agutter, Holly Aird, Morven Christie and Tom Ellis are the main characters and the interplay between them provides the comedy and romance. Supermarket Butterworths is struggling financially and have relocated their Head Office to Leeds from London. This means all the staff have been uprooted from their family and friends and are looking for new relationships. They are all having a fresh start.

Fay Ripley is excellent as the disorganised alcoholic Head of Human Resources aided and abetted by her PA played by Morven Christie.

The series ran to seven episodes of sixty minutes each.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Monday MondayI, 4 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monday Monday [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I sent for this DVD because Miranda Hart is in it.Although I am a great fan I must say that I did not feel that it was not on a par with her later work e.g. Not Golng Out and Miranda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monday Monday [DVD] [2008]
Monday Monday [DVD] [2008] by Morven Christie (DVD - 2009)
£7.38
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews