Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Taa's Torture Hospital
!!!WARNING. MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

When nurse Tawan spies on her supposed husband to be Dr Taa having his wicked way with her sister Nook, Tawan threatens to spill the beans about the profitable organ harvesting scam Taa and his bevvy of impossibly glamourous nurses(no battleaxe matrons to be found here!) are involved in. Bad move Tawan, as soon she's on the...
Published on 27 Oct 2010 by Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars In dire need of resuscitation
It's all in the marketing. Great title and cover picture but unfortunately another average Thai horror that promises much but ultimately fails to deliver. Beginning with an interesting sounding premise; a rogue surgeon and gaggle of nurses involved in organ harvesting and blackmarket selling kill a fellow love spurned nurse who is threating to spill the beans...
Published on 26 Jun 2010 by All of them Witches


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars In dire need of resuscitation, 26 Jun 2010
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sick Nurses [DVD] (DVD)
It's all in the marketing. Great title and cover picture but unfortunately another average Thai horror that promises much but ultimately fails to deliver. Beginning with an interesting sounding premise; a rogue surgeon and gaggle of nurses involved in organ harvesting and blackmarket selling kill a fellow love spurned nurse who is threating to spill the beans. Unfortuntely that plot device is fully utilised and discarded within the opening 5 minutes and the rest of the film falls into formulaic ghost with lots of hair crawls up walls etc whilst in pursuit of screamy female.
It's just not scary or even creepy. The film is just a lot of set pieces revolving around the dead nurse appearing in random rooms around the hospital to scare and then kill those responsible for killing her in very unimaginative ways. Apart from these nurses the hospital is seemingly devoid of all other staff and patients as there is not another soul to be seen.
I watched half of this film a couple of months ago before switching off and decided to finally watch it again from the start in case I liked it any better. I didn't. Be aware also that the synopsis of this film as provided on this site is widely inaccurate and also the running time of this film is 75 mins not the 91 mins it claims. This film is devoid of any creativity which is such a shame given the premise. I couldn't recommend this to anyone though people who have not explored the genre of asian horror may find some novelty value therein. Just about ok if you're truely at a loose end but certainly not as provocative or creepy as its marketing purports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Taa's Torture Hospital, 27 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sick Nurses [DVD] (DVD)
!!!WARNING. MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

When nurse Tawan spies on her supposed husband to be Dr Taa having his wicked way with her sister Nook, Tawan threatens to spill the beans about the profitable organ harvesting scam Taa and his bevvy of impossibly glamourous nurses(no battleaxe matrons to be found here!) are involved in. Bad move Tawan, as soon she's on the operating table,restrained by her one time colleagues as her sister stabs her to death. However, vengeance is possible even from beyond the grave, as after seven days, Tawan returns to Forgiven Hospital to exact a bloody revenge on those who contributed to her death.....
This is a very fine Thai horror, with a great vein of very black humour running through it, and a great visual flair as well. Some of the set pieces when Tawan goes about her ghostly business, using the personal demons of her killers against them, are wildly inventive and contain a couple of very outlandish moments. In what other film can you find a character slicing her own jawbone off with a handful of nails, and subsequently being asphyxiated by a pickled foetus.
Interestingly enough, although the film starts to come across as Carry On Horror Hospital, there is a very human, tragic heart beating just under the surface, as the true revalations regarding Tawan come to light during the climax of the film. Let's just say Tawan had been on the operating table before the occasion of her untimely death. So what had been up to then a very funny, gory supernatural horror suddenly found itself an evocative edge.
Very enjoyable, another excellent Asian horror film. 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars giggly nurses would be more appropriate, 17 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sick Nurses [DVD] (DVD)
what we have here is a good old fashioned tale of revenge
the film is set in a hospital,the doctor and his 7 nurses make a sly bit of money on the side by selling dead bodies for the parts,after a disagreement one of the nurses decides she is going to blow the whistle on them
unsurprisingly they are less than keen on sudden moral change of direction and they decide to do the most sensible thing they can think of at this point in time
kill her
with her dying breath she utters an ancient curse and vows revenge on them within 7 days
the film focuses on the last 25 minutes of the seventh day when she returns to exact her revenge on the reamining six nurses
whhere this film succeeds is its breathless pace,inventive and creepy direction,atmospheric soundtrack,a great black sense of dark and morbid humour and some great perfomances from everybody involved
the plot is pretty basic but its there to serve as a platform to ramp up the tension and some of the nastiest deaths i have seen in some time
add to the film an ingenious twist and you have a short but very effective piece of asian cinema
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT SUB-TITLED IN ENGLISH, 29 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sick nurses (DVD)
I gave this product one star simply to be able to post a warning to potential purchasers that they will not receive the same product as pictured. I know that the product description states that it has French sub-titles, but several reviewers comment on the fact that it has English subtitles & I bought it on the strength of that (These product descriptions are often inaccurate anyway). However the DVD I received was different to the one depicted as it had bold script in French on the front, & when I played it I found that there were two options under sub-titles & BOTH were French! You have been warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Silly and pathetic, 27 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. A. Jones "Dark Humour" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sick Nurses [DVD] (DVD)
Don't let the cover of this film tempt you, it's STUPID and rubbish! Please save your money and spend it on a decent horror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ring meets carry on, 30 Sep 2009
This review is from: Sick Nurses [DVD] (DVD)
Wow! I never thought I would be writing about how much I enjoyed a Thai horror film. This nasty little flick is just so entertaining. It's scary, gory, bizarre and surprisingly sexy. I would probably best describe it as Ring meets carry on. Yes the plot is unintelligent. The nurses are giggling buffoons. Sexy yes, but don't expect to see any gratuitous nudity though. These girls even shower with all their clothes on?!? We have the obligatory Samara like Asian hair ghost dishing out revenge. Each kill is based on each of the nurses' vices. Some of these death scenes are quite creative. Add to this the camp humour and some surprising plot twists. The whole thing is a blast to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Thai sound only -no English subtitles, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sick Nurses [DVD] (DVD)
I don't like to write reviews like this as mine was probably one of those rare discs and you'll probably have no trouble with yours.
I bought this on the strength that it had English subtitles and says so on the box but no matter what selection I used on set up [5.2, 2.0 or subtitles on or off], nothing worked. All I got was a Thai soundtrack, which is a real shame as I'm watching the movie as I write this. Sound and picture quality are excellent and the story does look like 'The grudge goes to Hospital' and certainly seems to have some creepy moments and plenty of pretty Thai nurses in rather pleasing uniforms, but I can't understand a word of it. If it had English subtitles I'd probably rate it 3-4 stars.
I'm fifteen minutes in now and switching off, I have to agree with the review by The Sherwood Sinobi, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disc was in good condition, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sick Nurses [DVD] (DVD)
Disc was in good condition and had no scratches and played with no problems will order from these guys again for sure

Brilliant film a must see and have in your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sick Nurses, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Miss K. Penfold "catcrazy" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sick Nurses [DVD] (DVD)
even thou the language is Thai it was a very good film, I watched all the way to the and it has a good twist in the middle, defiantly worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not so good., 21 Oct 2013
By 
Swiskon (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sick Nurses [DVD] (DVD)
This is a movie that tries to cash in on the horror hype for Japanese and South Korean movies. It's a bad ripoff with sexist, flat portaitation off women. The worst part comes when you see the ghost witch looks like a normal women with halloween makeup on, rather than something scary. Nothing wrong with the idea but the exicution is awfull. I reckomend yoga class/institute instead, even though that movie seems impossible to gett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sick Nurses [DVD]
Sick Nurses [DVD] by Piraphan Laoyont (DVD - 2009)
7.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews