Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Singing Your Soul, 13 Nov 2005
By A Customer
An Absolutely fantastic book. All Singers, but particularly young ones, or those in need of encouragement, should read this book. Anyone who has struggled to get to know their voice, or break through, can appreciate the story she tells, and ultimately what a singer with talent, perseverance and artistry can achieve. I would also recommend it to any conductor working with singers. It is a window into the emotional and physical world singers inhabit, and explains the behaviour which from the outside can appear irritatingly neurotic. Explanation= understanding, and who better to explain. A must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read for singers, 20 Oct 2010
By 
Silvergold (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm even more of a fan of Ms Fleming now that I have read this wonderful little book. I couldn't put it down and read it pretty much in one day. Highly recommended for singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Jan 2010
Really enjoyed this book and read it at one sitting! A lot of insight into what it takes to be a singer and the early days when you think you're never going to get there! Would recommend this to anyone interested in singing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for singers and singing teachers!, 19 Feb 2010
The Inner Voice, as the sub- title implies, is an account of "The Making of a Singer". Miss Fleming tell us how she devoured autobiographies of singers, hoping to find guidance on how to improve her singing. What she found, however, were mostly accounts of celebrity lives and entertaining anecdotes. Here, by contrast, we find an honest account of the making of a singer.

In the first part of the book Miss Fleming takes the reader on the long, hard road to becoming an opera star, she shares her insecurities and fears, how she fell apart completely in one of her first auditions, her battles with self-conciousness and stage fright and how she had to fight to find her thrilling top notes - a heartening read for young singers at the beginning of their careers.

The later chapters of the book give the reader an invaluable insight into
what it takes to manage and market a modern-day opera star.

The Inner Voice is a joy to read and packed with technical detail any
singer or singing teacher will find indispensable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read!, 3 Jan 2011
This is such a great book! Renee tells her story in a highly read-able way, and what a fascinating story it is! I'm an aspiring singer who still has a long way to go to becoming a professional, but there was a lot in this book that I could relate to, and I think that non-singers would like the book too, if they had even the slightest interest in opera, singing or Renee Fleming.
The book doesn't cover all of Renee's life like a narrative, rather it includes periods that were important to her development as a singer and includes a wonderful insight into the industry that is opera. It is full of little gems of information and observations that are relevant and interesting for singers, other musicians and human beings in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of The Inner Voice:The Making of a Singer. Renee Fleming., 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very educational for singers and non singers. Fleming is very down to Earth about her extraordinary talent. The book is a very realistic account of what it's like to be a professional classical soprano. The book is sometimes sad, very interesting and at times downright hilarious. This book is a must for people interested in the lives of classical singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved this book! Renee Fleming has given an invaluable insight into the world of an opera singer. A fantastic read but particularly if you are a singing student in which case I would say it is essential!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very inspiring, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really inspiring book written by the operatic legend Renee Fleming. I can recommend it to anyone who has ever wondered what the life of a top operatic singer is really like and what it takes to get there. I absolutely loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating insight, 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is divided into sections covering different aspects of the singer's life such as training, business, longevity - that makes it sound dry but it's a fascinating biographical read and a real insight into the world of a modern opera singer covering areas that the opera going punter doesn't necessarily consider. Renee writes well, and her sense of humour comes through - it's a great read, very entertaining and difficult to put down. Thoroughly recommended. (And volume 2 is eagerly anticipated!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 29 May 2011
If you like operas and of course Renée, you'll find this book to be an absolute page turner. It is quite technical, and not being a singer myself, I found some parts difficult to grasp, but I was still fascinated by the miracle of a soprano voice. Well written it takes you as close as possible to experiencing a diva's voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews