Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Origins of a Hero!
This is a great trilogy, leading on from the Icewind Dale trilogy R.A.Salvatore introduces us to Drizzt Do'Urdens dark past and the vast caverns of the underdark. From the evil Dark-elf city of Menzoberranzan to the surface of Toril, this trilogy leads you on a great adventure. Book One : Homeland is perhaps one of Salvatore's best work, introducing us to the double...
Published on 24 Oct 2001 by V. PANESAR

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably good but could have been better
The weakest book in the Dark Elf Trilogy but still fairly good.The story involves Drizzt adapting to life on the surface and the prejudice that he has to face as a dark elf.On the plus side,there are some good enemy monsters such as the barghest whelps, the nimble quickling- Tephanis and the stone giants.The first half of the novel is really good,unfortunately this is...
Published on 15 Jan 2000 by Marco Busani


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Origins of a Hero!, 24 Oct 2001
By 
V. PANESAR (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a great trilogy, leading on from the Icewind Dale trilogy R.A.Salvatore introduces us to Drizzt Do'Urdens dark past and the vast caverns of the underdark. From the evil Dark-elf city of Menzoberranzan to the surface of Toril, this trilogy leads you on a great adventure. Book One : Homeland is perhaps one of Salvatore's best work, introducing us to the double dealing, back-stabbing ways of the Drow; he carves a civilisation and then shows it to us through the eyes of one untainted by the evil of Menzoberranzan. Exile follows Drizzt as he forsakes his people, again another fantastic book; lightly touching on the philosophical elements of what it means to be a reasoning creature and the power of the soul. Sojourn the final book follows Drizzt out onto the surface as he struggles to find acceptance amongst a people who fear his heritage. The trilogy gives us great characters and great places and most of all it shows why Drizzt is how he is in the Icewind Dale trilogy and why he hates Artemis Entreri with such passion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUCH BETTER THAN HARRY POTTER!!, 25 Oct 2001
By A Customer
After playing the video games based on the forgotten realms I felt that in order to advance more in the game that I would have to have a better and wider knowledge of the characters. So I decided to read the 'The Dark Elf Triology.' After the first page I became addicted the to the book and couldn't put it down. The shere extent of Salvatores description of settings and characters allow you to build life like profiles of the characters, which easily caught my imagination. Another thing that I liked about the book was the rapid tension that Salvatore so easily and regularly uses, which also makes the book even more addictive and exciting. After reading the book I decided to give the computers games a rest and instead buy the book one of the 'Icewind dale Triology,' - 'The Crystal Shard' which so far is equally as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cult fantasy classic if ever there was one..., 12 Mar 2004
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I still feel that after years of writing, nothing R A Salvatore has written can match the passion and character development on show here. Whilst the books in the Paths of Darkness section of Drizzt's life perhaps win on the excitement level, seeing the early days of Drizzt's life is an enlightening and exciting experience. It is very well written, and consolidated Drizzt's position as the star of the Forgotten Realms.
In the days when widespread success of The Lord Of The Rings, Harry Potter and His Dark Materials have made the fantasy genre popular, Salvatore and The Forgotten Realms are still over-looked. This is probably rightly so, as they are not particularly original in terms of the races or ideas on show, but this does not stop them being thoroughly engrossing and enjoyable reads. Especially when presented by the gem in the Forgotten Realms' crown, and when focussed so solely on such a character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Salvatore gets back on track and finishes strong, 12 Jun 1999
By A Customer
Given how impressed I was with Salvatore's first installment in the Dark Elf Trilogy, Homeland, and how disappointed I was with Exile, Book two of the series, I didn't quite know what to expect when I began reading Sojourn. I am pleased to say that while Salvatore wasn't able to immerse me in his world of fantasy as completely as he did in Homeland, he was able to get the bad taste of Exile out of my mouth with this final installment in his wildly popular trilogy detailing the early, formative years of the Forgotten Realms' most famous drow elf, Drizzt. By removing Drizzt from the Underdark, and his close proximity to the fascinating drow city Menzoberranzan, and depositing him on the surface world, Salvatore was able to abate (somewhat) my yearning for the focus of the storyline to return to the city of the drow (with which I am admittedly enamoured). Drizzt continues his do-gooder ways on the surface as he once again tries to find a niche. The misunderstood drow is faced with adversity and rejection at every turn as he tries to prove that he is not like his devious and murderous kin. Drizzt's resolve and faith are sorely tested as false accusations are leveled against him and he is relentlessly pursued by a brutal, revenge-driven human bounty hunter. Only by adhering to the tenents of the Ranger and keeping faith in the goddess Mielikki will Drizzt be able to survive and prove his worth on the surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably good but could have been better, 15 Jan 2000
By 
Marco Busani "Proven Intellect" (Edgware, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The weakest book in the Dark Elf Trilogy but still fairly good.The story involves Drizzt adapting to life on the surface and the prejudice that he has to face as a dark elf.On the plus side,there are some good enemy monsters such as the barghest whelps, the nimble quickling- Tephanis and the stone giants.The first half of the novel is really good,unfortunately this is not maintained throughout.The Montolio section in terms of combat and characters is quite poor.However,this book forms an important prelude to the Crystal Shard with Drizzt settling in with his new friends;Bruenor the dwarf king and Cattibriethe human orphan.To sum up worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Prequel To The Icewind Dale Trilogy, 10 Mar 2002
By A Customer
I found this book to be an great read, especially after reading the Icewind Dale trilogy. It tells you exactly how drizzt came to be the "heroic" drow elf he is at the start of that trilogy. How he and Gwenevhar became friends all those other details you wondered about Drizzt. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, extraordinary, breath taking, 28 Jun 1998
By A Customer
Never have I seen such a skilled and passionate author such as R.A. Salvatore. His indepth descriptions of the characters and battle scenes make this book extraordinary. Only Salvatore can bring a Dark Elf from the Underdark to the surface and be accepted by anyone. Salvatore deserves great credit for the hard work he has put into this book. I have read all of his Drizzt books about 5 times each and they keep getting better every time. I own them all and would not let go of them for any price. Hopefully Passage to Dawn will not be his last writing he does on Drizzt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest fantasy novels ever written, 1 Mar 1999
By A Customer
I have never played D&D or AD&D so I was a bit sceptical when i started to read this book that one of my friends had raved about for months. Would i get lost in world i knew nothing about? Would i need to know of previous events to fully understand what was going on? The answer to these and many other questions was, amazingly, No. Salvatore introduces characters masterfully, he is gentle on first readers yet is amazingly descriptive about a world beyond most people's imagination, the way he builds the underground world around you while you read had me fully engrossed from the very first page. The main character's plight throughout the books is dealt with wonderfully and his emergence into a prejudiced world is truly insightful. A wonderful novel which any and all fantasy fans should be proud to have in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Also A Star, 11 Jan 1999
By A Customer
As I read throw the reviews of other readers I discovered a Fact About the dark elf trilogy, you can not put the book down and as You stay up all night. one has to admit the briliance of Salvatore. I think his books must be banned for they tend to keep his readers up all night. As it did me. Sincerly thought I do hope that we will read more of Drizzt's adventures And why not for he has the life span long enough to make more of those sleepless nights adventures. I hail Salvatore and wish him good fortune with his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The Drizzit", 11 Aug 2009
By 
Excellent book. My favourite out the of trilogy.

This is fast paced and introduces a lot of different characters throughout the book. I also like the way Salvatore doesn't overly stretch out the characters over the course of the story arc, when you believe you have been introduced to a main character of the novel they suddenly come out of the story altogether.

I am now looking forward to the continuing adventures of Drizzt and will be promptly buying the first installment of the Icewind Dale trilogy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sojourn: The Legend of Drizzt, Book III
£3.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews