Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it
poor reveiews IGN but I don't listen to the any more tell me a game is great, get it and it is rubbish. make your own mind review on you tube
Published 11 months ago by moodymark

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear me - really, really, really bad FPS
First things first, Rogue Warrior does nothing right. Even male genitalia references are handled poorly, making you think protagonist Dick Marcinko is hitting on the enemy rather than taunting them. With the gunplay being as bad as it is, and the story coming across as a six-year-old's interpretation of Cold War events, the only fun comes from the possibility of stepping...
Published on 21 Jan. 2010 by MisterDerp1975


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear me - really, really, really bad FPS, 21 Jan. 2010
By 
MisterDerp1975 (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Warrior (PS3) (Video Game)
First things first, Rogue Warrior does nothing right. Even male genitalia references are handled poorly, making you think protagonist Dick Marcinko is hitting on the enemy rather than taunting them. With the gunplay being as bad as it is, and the story coming across as a six-year-old's interpretation of Cold War events, the only fun comes from the possibility of stepping into the shoes of blatantly homoerotic Rambo.

Voice actor Mickey Rourke embraces this puzzling profanity to a degree that makes it seem like he just landed a movie role that could win him an Oscar. Listening to this guy abuse the f-bomb and coherently talk about polar bear testicles is the only reason to venture into this game. I'm not kidding, folks. The remainder of the content, even Marcinko's obsession with knifing enemy crotches and throats, brings no joy, no laughs, or even the faintest of hope that the game could get better as it goes along.

The game doesn't even display enough realism to convince me that it's based on our planet. I'm not sure what kind of alien technology is used in the machine guns, but whatever it is, it removes that pesky thing called "recoil." When Marcinko fires, he can keep it steady on an enemy's face without it inching up a hair - not even a hair!

Most enemies can not see more than 50 feet, and the sound of hurried footsteps (created by Marcinko sprinting across a room) does nothing to alert them. If you run across a sniper rifle, you can pick them off one-by-one uncontested, as they are oblivious of your presence. The ability to sprint undetected can also rack up a lengthy chain of stealth kills, which are usually accompanied by a one-liner.

While it may seem like I'm cutting this review short, that's pretty much all this game offers. It's short, repetitive, and crappy all the way through. I tried to find a multiplayer match 22 times over the course of two weeks, but have yet to find one person who is trying to do the same thing. If you decide to play this game or buy it, then you need your head testing.

It is truly terrible and should be avoided at all costs. Do NOT buy it. Please trust me on this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay Away, 1 Jan. 2010
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Warrior (PS3) (Video Game)
Bad Graphics, No Boss, Bad Storyline, Too short, No Variety, All you do is shoot and do close up kills this game was a rushjob there are worse games but this is awfull my advice rent it and complete it do not buy unless extremely cheap and do not listen to anybosy else that ses this game is good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Warrior (PS3) (Video Game)
poor reveiews IGN but I don't listen to the any more tell me a game is great, get it and it is rubbish. make your own mind review on you tube
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Game Ever....Definitely In The Top 100, 16 July 2011
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Warrior (PS3) (Video Game)
With a Metacritic score of 27, Rogue Warrior has been called the worst of its kind, with some sites calling it the worst game ever. Originally developed as a tactical FPS, Rogue Warrior was re-imagined during its lengthy production by Rebellion as a "personality focused" action game. It seems to drop any relevance to the Dick Marchinko licence simultaneously, ruining any chance of establishing a franchise to rival Tom Clancy.

The single player campaign lasts just 2 hours, split across 10 levels. Set in 1986, the plot is supposed to be loosely based on Marcinko's real life exploits in Korea and Russia, with him attempting to stop the Cold War single handedly. Mickey Rourke voices the protagonist, and although he delivers a total hack job, it does lend the game a bizarre quality that is truly unique. The cursing is so over the top it's unintentionally hilarious, with 90% of dialogue being swear words. The end credits music is actually so bad its almost good, and features Rourke rapping over some elevator muzak.
Kill moves are the one standout. Context sensitive executions can be performed by approaching an enemy and pressing the X button. This activates a brutal kill move, with around 20 in total. These range from stabbing an enemy in the crotch, eye, neck, spine etc. These are pretty fun... when they work. The prompt can appear on screen but the kill moves do not always register. In addition, Marcinko is invincible while a kill animation is being performed, which makes it easier to simply run around performing melee kills, rather than trying to use the games broken cover system or underwhelming gunplay.

Online has no redeeming features, despite the inclusion of kill moves. It's an absolutely wretched experience, easily the worst this generation. This is due to some infuriating design choices that destroy any potential. Game modes are split into Ranked (Deathmatch & Team Deathmatch) or Custom (same game modes). Region 1 (North America) players cannot play with Region 2 players (Europe), yet everyone can wait in the same lobby. 4 players are needed to start a Ranked match, and if 2 players are from 1 region, and 2 from another, the game will pair them off, allowing them to start a match below the required number. The maps during multiplayer are adequately designed, large and tactically diverse (especially `Projects'). But they are built for more players, and the game can degenerate into hide and seek, depending on who has the most kills. However, if 3 players are from 1 region and 1 player from another, the game will leave the solo player floundering in the menu screens, unsure of what has just happened, without even an explanation for solace.

Region play even affects custom matches, where the game actively encourages, and allows you to invite friends, despite the fact you will never be able to get a game going. It renders the party system useless. Invites only work sporadically. The game kicks you out of the entire multiplayer after 90% of games. Bullet damage is wildly inconsistent. It leads to trophies that are unbearably frustrating, and there is no ability to track records because the leader boards are embarrassingly inaccurate. It's this technical incompetence that is most upsetting, especially as it would be fixable in a patch (something Rogue Warrior has never received after 18 months on general release). If the developers dont care, why should anyone else? Considering the lack of people playing this, splitting online play into regions is an unnecessary chore. Whoever thought of this is an absolute moron. Yet players I have met are a much better crowd than the usual online fare.

The enjoyment gained from Rogue Warrior will depend on the price paid. As a full price release, Rogue Warrior is thoroughly deserving of its critical savaging. As a bargain bin title, it's still impossible to recommend. A notoriously bad game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rogue warrior ps3, 1 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. H. Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Warrior (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is better than i expecterd i would highly recomend it.
The service was great delevery is perfect thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ive give 5 star as I like this game its easy to work out and understand ..., 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Warrior (PS3) (Video Game)
ive give 5 star as I like this game its easy to work out and understand the controls are simple to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Violent and Full of Swearing and Shooting whats not to like?, 1 Oct. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Warrior (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a first person shooter (fps) based on a navy seal team that get wiped out leaving only one. You play the rogue warrior who is a stereotypical 'hollywood' type navy seal. Lots of swearing and macho bs - which for me makes the game. I don't know how this can get bad reviews - it is what it is. I'm half way through the game and am thoroughly enjoying it. The attack scenes are violent and bloody which really emphasises how violent hand to hand combat can be. It plays smooth and without glitches so I'm happy with it. It feels different from the 'standard' fps games like Bioshock and Call of Duty so is a nice change. I would totally recommend it - especially as its so cheap now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE WORST GAME EVER!!!!, 4 Mar. 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Warrior (PS3) (Video Game)
I was really looking forward to playing this game which made my disappointment all the more severe. Anyone who gives this game more than one star must surely work for the company that made it!!! There are no redeeming features about the game and I fail to see how anyone could be proud to produce such a poor product.

DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Erm..., 1 July 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Warrior (PS3) (Video Game)
Nice first person shooter if you need to practice your shooting and don't want to pay much for it.
The game never rises it's pace and there are no bosses :(
Plus, if you're an American you'll probably enjoy it even more due to the badass character and killing communists :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful!, 11 Jan. 2010
By 
LEP "LEP" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Warrior (PS3) (Video Game)
Received as a Christmas gift. Really dreadful graphics. So bad can't see guns to shoot. Avoid purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rogue Warrior (PS3)
Rogue Warrior (PS3) by Bethesda (PlayStation 3)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews