Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Disbelief of it All, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Patrick Cann (Kenilworth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although everyone is familiar with what occurred in the most famous slave labour/ death camp of the Nazi empire, myself included, I knew very little about the camps which this book makes its subjects. After the shock of the first few chapters wore off I found myself utterly astonished that such barbarism could happen. After reading this book these camps had surpassed Auschwitz in my mind as places of horror mainly because they were purpose built to murder humans and nothing else, no salve labour camps here just the chambers for all.
Arad deals with the subject with honesty and clarity and makes the book a rewarding read if one is able to make it past the horror of it all.
The most chilling piece was the assertion from an SS commander that they should not burn the victim's corpses but instead leave plaques stating that they, the Germans, had the strength of character to carry out such a monumental task. That one statement helped me understand the mentality of the National Socialist more than any other I had read to that point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling and involving portrayal of facts., 7 Nov 2000
By A Customer
"My God!" is the phrase that should stand on its own for this despicable era in mankind's history. The author uses statements from original camp survivors to build a completely readable and engrossing insight into the functions of a death camp - as configured by the Nazi regime. The fluent use of original statements realises an almost story like approach to the subject. When dealing with the prisoner rebellions and escape attempts, this approach has you on the edge of your seat eager to read on. This is definitely one of the best, purely factual descriptions of those events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, terrifying yet compelling, 29 Mar 2006
By A Customer
I have read hundreds of books about the holocaust over the years and yet this book still managed to hold my attention - I could not put it down! The author has thoroughly researched his topic and gives an informative, detailed account of Operation Reinhard, the extermination of Polish Jewry. The book impartially details the full history of the 3 death camps, stories from the prisoners who were incarcerated there and the personnel who worked within them. This book is an absolute 'must read' as it accurately describes the extent of the perfectly oiled killing machine that was devoted to destroying a whole race of human beings. Little is known about Operation Reinhard, the holocaust often being synonimous with Auschwitz. This book is a real testimony to all the people who lost their lives in these camps, which were purposely built for human destruction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Anthony Eaton "banjochef" (Aldershot England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belzec, Sobibor, Treblinka: The Operation Reinhard Death Camps (Kindle Edition)
5 stars for the history it imparts. Its not an easy read as its a dreadful reminder of the dark days of the holocaust. I have read many books on the subject and still find it hard to believe. Its a page turner of a book. If you want to know of the start of the death camps, and thats what these camps were, then buy it. No labour in the camps just arrive and " Depart" in less than an hour!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Jan 2013
By 
A stunning, authoritative piece of work. Describes one of the darkest subjects in human history. Is very readable, detailed, and uses witness quotes skillfully. A brilliant piece of non-fiction and tells you every thing to be known about the death camps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The bloody prelude to Auschwitz-Birkenau, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belzec, Sobibor, Treblinka: The Operation Reinhard Death Camps (Kindle Edition)
These three camps did not just witness mass-murder but, as Arad so expertly explains, they were the scene of heroism, tragedy, sadism and debauchery on a scale never before seen.

This book is a must read for anyone who thinks they know about the Holocaust: in reality, like me, they know virtually nothing and we will sadly only ever glimpse a shadow of what transpired in the name of National Socialism. Am YIsrael Chai!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars harrowing account of little known aspect of the Holocaust, 17 Dec 2013
This review is from: Belzec, Sobibor, Treblinka: The Operation Reinhard Death Camps (Kindle Edition)
Belzec, Sobibor and Treblinka are not names that are remotely as recognisable as Auschwitz, but they should be. These camps served only one purpose- extermination- and perhaps they are so poorly reported because there were literally a handful of survivors. Arad's painstakingly detailed account of all aspects of the camps is very difficult to read - in that it is utterly incomprehensible that men could have acted in the manner described. The book is researched in the utmost detail, including extensive first person testimony, and I was so grateful to be offered the opportunity to read the words of those who suffered and in so many cases perished. No book on the Holocaust is anthings other than a challenging read and this book is no exception. We owe it to those who can no longer speak to preserve their memory and Arad's book is so important in giving a voice to the millions annihilated in those darkest of times. A very significant contribution to study of the Holocaust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Belzec, Sobibor Treblinka, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belzec, Sobibor, Treblinka: The Operation Reinhard Death Camps (Kindle Edition)
Recently visited Sachenhausen in Berlin and it made me think about the stark reality of what happened in these death camps. I had to get this book to gain more knowledge of the situation. This book although at sometimes a little over factual on the figures is a gripping page turner revealing the stark reality of the persecuted Jews, it made me step into their shoes which was terrifying. I was also unaware of the extent of the involvement of the governments, local communities and local authorities in Poland, Hungary and other surrounding countries, who quite willingly agreed with the Germans that the Jewish people living in their communities should be rounded up like a herd of cattle and transported to their deaths, it beggars belief that there were no questions raised or interventions taken to stop this atrocity. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of darkest episode in history, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belzec, Sobibor, Treblinka: The Operation Reinhard Death Camps (Kindle Edition)
A well written and researched history of an unimaginable crime that was Intentionally never documented.
Now the survivors and perpetrators have died, this history will probably be the definitive account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the book of evil, 4 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
having read this book these poor souls where sent to there deaths by the hand of evil may god rest there souls and hope that those who carried out this evil deed rot in hell for ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews