Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good album
All the reviews giving this album anything lower than 3 stars have kind of missed the point a bit. Yes, it has a commercial feel to it as jay-z tries (arguably a bit too hard) to cover the full spectrum of fans. However, this does not diminish the quality of the tunes or the lyrics. Tracks like 'Venus vs Mars', 'A star is born' and 'Thank you' contain very impressive...
Published on 23 Jan. 2010 by MusicalProdigy

versus
28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointment...
Contrary to what I just read the 'Blueprint 3' is far from "absolute quality"...The supposed follow up to 2001's critically acclaimed 'Blueprint' & 2002's 'Blueprint²: The Gift & The Curse' (though in truth the three albums have little if anything in common other than their name) comes after a long wait. In September 2008 'Swagga Like Us' was released - a great single...
Published on 5 Sept. 2009 by D101


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good album, 23 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Blueprint 3 (Audio CD)
All the reviews giving this album anything lower than 3 stars have kind of missed the point a bit. Yes, it has a commercial feel to it as jay-z tries (arguably a bit too hard) to cover the full spectrum of fans. However, this does not diminish the quality of the tunes or the lyrics. Tracks like 'Venus vs Mars', 'A star is born' and 'Thank you' contain very impressive wordplay while 'on to the next one' is a good track to dance too. Maybe where the album falls down a little in my opinion is the inclusion of 'reminder' and death of auto-tune'. 'Brooklyn we go hard' , 'History' and 'Jockin Jay-Z' may have worked better. But that's just my opinion! All in all, this is a very enjoyable album which I would recommend to anyone. It is nowhere near as bad as Kanye West's '808s and heartbreak' but is not as authentic as the original blueprint or Talib Kweli's Beautiful Struggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointment..., 5 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Blueprint 3 (Audio CD)
Contrary to what I just read the 'Blueprint 3' is far from "absolute quality"...The supposed follow up to 2001's critically acclaimed 'Blueprint' & 2002's 'Blueprint²: The Gift & The Curse' (though in truth the three albums have little if anything in common other than their name) comes after a long wait. In September 2008 'Swagga Like Us' was released - a great single which we were led to believe would appear on both 'Paper Trail' & 'The Blueprint 3'. This was followed by 'Jockin' Jay-Z', 'Brooklyn (Go Hard)' & 'History' - the latter a wonderful Kanye West produced track in homage to the newly elected President Obama. The signs looked good for the forthcoming album...but this proved to be a false dawn.

The album starts off well enough - 'What We Talkin' About' is a solid track featuring flavours of the month Empire of the Sun. One of the album's best tracks 'Thank You' precedes the two lead singles 'D.O.A.' & 'Run This Town'. 'D.O.A.' is a great song but for me the radio friendly 'Run This Town' is weak. I usually love pretty much anything produced by Kanye but for me this is a pop song put on the album to sell records. 'Empire State Of Mind' brings me to a recurring problem with the 'Blueprint 3' - namely good verses, bad choruses! Alica Keys' hook doesn't work for me at all. Similarly the hooks on 'Venus Versus Mars' & 'Reminder' are dismal. As a consequence these Timbaland produced tracks are two of the album's worst. The other track produced by Timbaland 'Off That' featuring Drake (another flavour of the month) is probably the best of the three but in truth none of these songs are worth remembering. They sound like something Timbaland had left over that took him 5 minutes to produce. It is hard to believe this is the same person who gave us 'Dirt off Your Shoulder'.

The album cover alone conveys the move by Jay-Z to try & come out with some 'futuristic sound'. 'Hate' is a great example of how this doesn't work. This is not the typical "chipmunk Soul" we are used to from Kanye. More filler tracks include the Swizz Beatz produced 'On To The Next One' & The Neptunes produced 'So Ambitious'. It's not all bad though! 'Real As It Gets' featuring Young Jeezy is a very solid tune, whilst 'A Star Is Born' & 'Already Home' featuring Kid Cudi (another flavour of the month...but the real thing in my opinion!) are two of the best tracks on the album. Perhaps the song that will split opinion most on the album is the Kanye West produced 'Forever Young' featuring Mr. Hudson, which samples the 80s song of the same name by Alphaville. With this song you are either going to love it or hate it. Right now I am of the opinion that it is a good song but I do think I could get sick of it very easily.

Overall the `Blueprint 3' is a solid album (probably 3.5 stars but definitely not 4). You put it on and you will enjoy it. But is it a masterpiece?! Is it a fitting end to the Blueprint Trilogy that started so well 8 years ago?! Probably not! This album is a step forward from the abysmal `Kingdom Come' but a definite step backwards from `American Gangster'. In terms of `Reasonable Doubt', `The Blueprint' or `The Black Album...it doesn't even come close! I'll end with something another reviewer said on another site..."Jay-Z's like a classic rock group (like, say, U2); we expect him to keep delivering same-old, same-old new music, but are we going to like the Blueprint 3 more than we liked the old classics?! No!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theres a first for everything, 23 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. Jordan Williamson (Jarrow, North East UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blueprint 3 (Audio CD)
Perhaps its because of all of the stars that feature in this album, but this album is a piece of genius, there is not one song i dislike, obviously i like more than songs than others but to anyone pondering the purchase of this album I personally suggest that you listen to a few tracks on spotify and make your decision, if you dont want to use spotify then just buy the album, afterall nothing ventured...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a classic by a long shot, 14 Sept. 2009
By 
B. Thomas (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blueprint 3 (Audio CD)
You've got to respect Jay-Z's success and he's impressive live, but only Reasonable Doubt, The Black Album and, at a push, The Blueprint 1, can be viewed as essential amongst his mass of albums. The Blueprint 3 follows his habit of producing overly commercial, hit and miss albums. You get the impression that he doesn't have that much input in the beat making process and is too reliant on the likes of Kanye West and Pharrell Williams producing him radio-friendly hits. I'm also not enjoying Kanye's recent trend of using a voice vocoder, someone needs to tell him that it's extremely annoying!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Spent Force, 20 Sept. 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Blueprint 3 (Audio CD)
Mr Carter has produced nothing of any real worth since 2003's
'The Black Album' (and then only just....his 1996 debut
'Reasonable Doubt' remains his finest hour by a mile).

'The Blueprint 3' is but a pale shadow of his finer achievements.
The braggadocio sounds increasingly vacuous.
Coasting on automatic and going through the motions.
Am I alone in being fed-up with artists whose reliance
on celebrity friends to bolster their own lack of creativity
thinly masks their own vulgar egotism.

The album is clogged with humdrum rhyming and soggy beats.
The production is uniformly and unforgivably flabby.
First time round I had to stop for a while after 'Real As It Gets'.
Young Jeezy's sanctimonious rant is just plain nasty.

In 'On To The Next One' Mr Carter professes to be pushing the edge
(hence The Blueprint - once again - I assume). New territory ?
Swizz Beat's mindlessly unpleasant intrusion corrupts any real sense
of lyrical progress made in the genre over the past 10 years.
A little more positivity, a little more humanism would not go amiss.

Don't get me wrong here - everyone loves a bad boy once in a while
but the posturing and monotonous thematic repetition has now
well and truly passed its sell-by date.

If any further evidence were needed the collaboration with Kanye West
(yet another narcissistic braggart and spent force) on 'Hate' demonstrates
just how far a once edgy and credible performer has moved from his roots.

Final track 'Young Forever' is nothing more (or less) than a hollow death knell.

At Your Own Risk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars back to his best, 25 Oct. 2009
By 
C. Okoye "meks" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blueprint 3 (Audio CD)
im going to keep this short and sweet and very much to the point!! JAY - Z is back to his very best!! lets put it like this. If this album was released say in the mid 90's it would have gone down as instant classic! they say your only as good as last your last peice of work and in this instance jay has a lot to do to top this album when he releases his next album. the punch lines through out the album are consitently amazing, and literally force you to go back an double check that you heard correctly! the beats are far from commercial and his flow - well thats just from a different world!! anyone that doesnt rate this album neither knows jay or hip hop!! this is easily the best hip hop album of the year and maybe jays best piece of work!! i put it up there with my favourites the black album and off course the blueprint! and if you still disagree i suggest you listen to track hate for all the haters out there!! welcome back jay welcome back!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best of a bad year really., 20 Sept. 2009
This review is from: The Blueprint 3 (Audio CD)
Jay-Z raps in this album "People say they like my old music, then buy my old albums" this rings ironically true - not just for this album but for the rap game in general.

We all know that rap music is no longer what it was in the glory decade of the 90's and that most rap artists that used to be on fire, now cant release an album half as good as they used to, no matter how hard they try! Possibly due to A&R's controlling what they release so that every song has a chart topping "hook" on it to please the masses (i.e put Rihanna on every chart song!) good for slaes, bad for real fans.
However this album is like I say, probbably the best of a bad lot as of late.

The album itself falls victim to A&R hell in places by throwing on people who back in the "classic" days you wouldn't really see on any great rap album such as previously mentioned Rihanna and strangely enough Mr Hudson?? Now I'm sure Jay-Z like everyone else will just say that they are trying to evolve rap music and bring it forward which is the same excuse most rap artsists come up with today, but is something aint broken, why fix it?

This album has the standard Pharrell, Jay-Z collabo on here which is as always a stand out track (not as good as 'Allure' or 'I know' in my opinion though) and also the swizz beatz produced 'on to the next one' is a persional fave as it is genuinely catchy and truly a head nodder.

Timbaland comes through with some tracks but as I feel with most timbaland beats these days, it sounds worn and tired and nothing like some of his orginal gems such as 'Snoop Dogg - Whats my name pt 2' and alike.

To sum up, as Jay-Z himself is always promoting 'Reasonable Doubt' as a classic, why release albums that are so different? Reasonable doubt didn't storm the charts or have catchy hooks but is known and repected as an undeniable classic in the rap industry. Something he will get a lot more repect for than the massesd will give him for throwaway chart topper. Why cant Jay produce something else in that style, get DJ Premier back on board (as I cant reember the last time he came out with a banger for a big artist as of late) and give something to the REAL fans of this genre.

Look, I'm sure most of you will agree, I dont really care if the game is moving forward, backward or evolving into anything.... I just wanna hear some classic beats, with classic flows, plain and simple. The last album to really do that for me was 'Nas - Lost tapes' and guess what, it was an album full of songs that were deemed 'not good enough' for his real albums but ended up being better than most of them!

Hip-hop, I'm still waiting....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Album, 23 Feb. 2010
This review is from: The Blueprint 3 (Audio CD)
Jay done well with this album - compared to the other 2 Blueprint's i can listen to this start to finish.

Well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 28 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blueprint 3 (Audio CD)
I am not a massive hip hop fan-this is v good though and v original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars PFFF..............., 15 Sept. 2009
This review is from: The Blueprint 3 (Audio CD)
This album is so boring & un-inspiring that it doesn't even deserve a review to be honest.
Nothing new here, beats are mostly dry and IMO D.O.A was way over rated. I keep reading comments(on the net) about people expecting another Blueprint, but he can't because he's moved on from that sound etc.. He could have made a better album with a better choice of producers. Don't waste your money on this, instead buy "Cuban Linx Pt.II" a way better album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blueprint 3
The Blueprint 3 by Jay-Z (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews