Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Soul
The very disappointing thing about this Blu R'ay is the small amount of the actual concert/festival footage. The restoration of the main film is great and audio faultless. The stuff that is included is totally funky brilliant stuff, this catches and Sister sledge when they were doin' the funk before they went over to disco. James Brown - do I really need to say...
Published on 11 Jan 2010 by C. J. P

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
This is a movie about making a musical festival Zaire 74, which accompanied the fight Ali-Foreman. It is nowhere near When We Were Kings. And there isn't a lot of music here. And those extra features with some of the performances are not in HD video nor audio.
Couldn't whatch all the way.
Published on 14 Jun 2011 by Vladimir Malusev


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Soul, 11 Jan 2010
The very disappointing thing about this Blu R'ay is the small amount of the actual concert/festival footage. The restoration of the main film is great and audio faultless. The stuff that is included is totally funky brilliant stuff, this catches and Sister sledge when they were doin' the funk before they went over to disco. James Brown - do I really need to say anythang! After watching the extras the director explains that the lack of concert footage is due to the lack of funding available and that he hoped interest in this film would encourage the wheels of capitalism to fund the editing of the rest of the festival if he could prove there would be a market for it.....come oooon.... thats lame..like there is no market for James Brown, BB king, Maceo Parker, Fred Wesley, Bill Withers and Ray Barretto!!! Get the rest of the footage packaged up and released NOW! This film left me wanting....no needing to see and hear the rest of it! Worth watching but it needs the rest to be released to be complete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Power, 23 Sep 2010
This review is from: Soul Power [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
An important record of what took place. It's all about African culture. Nice to see on and off stage shots of my own favourites - Ali, JB, Ray Barretto, Nicky Marrero.
Nice to see informal shots of Sister Sledge rehersing.
Some interesting footage of the logistical problems in setting up the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Concert But Not Much Else, 29 July 2009
By 
H. meiehofer "haroldm" (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soul Power [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Zaire `74 the subject of this documentary was a three day music festival held in Kinshasa some weeks before the famous "Rumble in the Jungle" when Ali regained his title.

The festival combined the best of American soul with an eclectic mix of music from across the African continent.

The film is a bit slow to start to be honest, with a long lead up to the actual concert. But it is worth the wait.

Outside of the concert the film frankly is not all that interesting, aside from when Ali is on screen (his wit never fails). George Foreman is entirely absent. The film also fails to explore the political context; other than showing one poster of Mboto and a rather disturbing scene of primary school children drilling one would have no idea this was all happening under a dodgy regime.

Despite all this the film is worth seeing for the concert. The performances are brilliant. One slight quibble is that the performers are not identified until the end credits. I did not know some on sight and I have a reasonably good and wide musical knowledge. Might have been better to have quick captions when they were introduced.

If you do watch this then hang on right to the end of the credits; it's definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another missed opportunity by out of touch wallies - as ever!, 16 Jan 2010
This review is from: Soul Power [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Controversy rages.... a scandalous oversight. As soon as it was known this DVD was in the pipeline, REAL music fans were already asking the big question - FRANCO. It's well known that Le Grand Maitre Franco played this gig - it was his home city after all. But what do we get? Just 1m40s of the clearest live footage you'll ever see of Franco and TPOK Jazz at their very peak. AAAAAGGGGHHHH! Talk about a missed opportunity.......

C'mon Masters of Cinema - have some guts for goodness sake. Go and have a chat with Sterns or somebody and put out an entire DVD of the Franco footage which must exist... go on, you know it makes sense!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 14 Jun 2011
This is a movie about making a musical festival Zaire 74, which accompanied the fight Ali-Foreman. It is nowhere near When We Were Kings. And there isn't a lot of music here. And those extra features with some of the performances are not in HD video nor audio.
Couldn't whatch all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars soul power zaire 74, 8 Jan 2010
By 
Peter Ainger (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Power [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
got this dvd , the picture is grainy unless you have blue ray to much time looking at men putting up a stage the artise who appear you dont know who they are , worth getting for the james brown footage ,even that dont go on for long , i have the audio cd this piece covers 4 tunes if you include the bonus track , i would say stricly for james brown fans only , the others get to perform just one song each , it also dont playback on all dvd recorders? just top of the range players , for the money worth a shot i guess .Soul Power [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] [1974]the sound quality is fabulous picture iffy , run it to stereo system ans wow the speakers move with the beat .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soul Power [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] [1974]
Soul Power [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] [1974] by Jeffrey Levy-Hinte (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: £9.67
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews