Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game
Had the game when I was much younger and loved it then,decided to treat myself to the Gold Edition and was once again not dissapointed. The graphics of the game, especially during the video sequences havent aged particularly well but considering the age of the game it isnt a major gripe to have. The only other small reservation I have with the game is the relative...
Published on 8 Sept. 2010 by Mr. C. Brown

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Struck GOLD with Age of Mythology
My youngest wanted to get this back after playing it a long time ago and selling his disk. It is great value to buy this Gold version and sometimes it's just good fun to go retro and play a faithful friend from the past. He has clearly enjoyed himself, and it all fits well together in a Gold edition. - Great value.
Published on 10 Nov. 2010 by Fraggle


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 8 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. C. Brown "Chris Brown" (Chesterfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Mythology Gold Edition Game PC (CD-ROM)
Had the game when I was much younger and loved it then,decided to treat myself to the Gold Edition and was once again not dissapointed. The graphics of the game, especially during the video sequences havent aged particularly well but considering the age of the game it isnt a major gripe to have. The only other small reservation I have with the game is the relative shortness of the Titans expansion pack but that could be more to do with how much I enjoyed playing through the campaign I just didnt want it to be finished as quickly.
All in all a classic, with a much easier control system than the previous Age of Empires games providing hours of entertainment, both throught the campaign option and the random map section. A must-have for all fans of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game but not for Windows 7, 19 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Mythology Gold Edition Game PC (CD-ROM)
I love this game to pieces but was very upset when i found that its not compatible with or Windows 7 which we got fairly recently. I can open the game and play for about 5 mins then it freezes saying its not compatible. I just hope a newer version will come out so I can buy that! I have also liked this game enough to give it as presents to others who are all hooked.

I would highly recommend this to any one with XP or Vista but its not for you if youve got Windows 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love it, but shock-horror!!!, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Mythology Gold Edition Game PC (CD-ROM)
When I started the game, it wasnt FULLSCREEN! EEK!

This is easily fixed, however:

Load the game.
Click on options.
Set graphics detail to high.
Set resolution to 1024x768x16 (there will only be 3 options anyway)
Click apply/save/ok.

Now exit the game completely, shut it down!
Right click on the desktop icon.
Click properties.
On the Shortcuts tab, look for the box next to Target.
It will say something like this: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Age of Mythology\aom.exe"
At the end of the line, press the space bar and type xres=xxx yres=xxx - the xxx being what your current screen resolution is, for example, mine is xres=1366 yres=768.
When that is done, it should look like this:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Age of Mythology\aom.exe" xres=1366 yres=768

Now click apply.
You may be prompted to make the change as the administrator, just click ok.

Now load the game and there you have it!

It will stretch the opening logo/pictures and make them look horrible and pixelated, but when you get to the actual start menu for the game, it will just work and be fullscreen :)

Enjoy all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Mythology Gold Edition Game PC (CD-ROM)
I used to play this game ages ago when it first came out, and thought I'd give it a go again. What a good decision! Though this game may not exactly be the most graphically intense like most of the newer games, it is very fun with a great plot line. Can't recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agfe of Mythology Gold Edition, 8 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Mythology Gold Edition Game PC (CD-ROM)
I was so pleased to get this as I lost my previous version some time ago and thought it was out of date. Although I have Windows 7 I had no problem installing it and it plays ok but it does occasionally crash so you need to regularly save your game, not having any other programmes running seems to help. The game itself is a wonderful addition to the AOE stable, it has more variety and sophistication than the standard game and the mix of different Mythologies - Norse, Greek, Egyptian, and Atlanta in the expansion, makes it more interesting and challenging. The graphics are good. You do need to read the manual !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best strategy of all time!, 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Mythology Gold Edition Game PC (CD-ROM)
In my opinion, these games are the greatest strategy games ever made (while the Total War series comes pretty close) they need to seriously make a sequel to the Age of Mythology series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hh, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Mythology Gold Edition Game PC (CD-ROM)
great games, play it every weekend and it has neverbothered me once with a problem. i would reccommed it to you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Age of Mythology Gold: excellent!, 26 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Mythology Gold Edition Game PC (CD-ROM)
It's an excellent game itself but what I enjoyed the most was the service: It arrived in few days and it works perfectly with windows 7! No problem at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just like the old days, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Mythology Gold Edition Game PC (CD-ROM)
I had a real hankering for playing this years since I last had. Great price, rapid delivery, and it works on Windows 8.1 (both the original and expansion). I had to do a little altering as it didn't like the integrated graphics of my laptop but soon had it up and running at top levels.

A real classic that never gets old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just as fun to play now as ever, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Mythology Gold Edition Game PC (CD-ROM)
this game was one of the most used in my collection at one time it set me on the path to such games as I play today like the warcraft genre and though some would say these games are now a little dated, the fun you can still have playing them literally makes the time fly by. A great way to kill a few hours on a slow day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Age of Mythology Gold Edition Game PC
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews