Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value and works for HS10
I was desperate for a protective filter for my newly bought Fuji HS10 and also really wanted a circular polariser but was staggered by the high prices for the mainstream brands. Took a chance on this set as the CPL would be for occasional use and so, if it did vignette at 24mm, it wouldn't be too much of a problem at the price.

Tried today - NO VIGNETTING - so...
Published on 16 Nov 2010 by Darth

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No comparison for proper kit
I bought these along with my camera, and they don't compare with proper kit in the least. The only useful filter is the CPL, because white balance is automagically fixed by basically any modern digital camera and UV filters are of dubious usefulness. I know that some photographers promote sticking one on the lens and leaving it there to protect the glass, but the UV...
Published 6 months ago by Michael


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value and works for HS10, 16 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeikos ZE-FLK58 58mm Multi-Coated 3 Piece Filter Kit (UV-CPL-FLD) (Electronics)
I was desperate for a protective filter for my newly bought Fuji HS10 and also really wanted a circular polariser but was staggered by the high prices for the mainstream brands. Took a chance on this set as the CPL would be for occasional use and so, if it did vignette at 24mm, it wouldn't be too much of a problem at the price.

Tried today - NO VIGNETTING - so anybody else with a similar wide zoom lens should be able to buy with confidence.

Only slight niggle with CPL is lack of an index mark on the rim to aid alignment - no biggie, but would have made the set perfect. UPDATE - NEW READING GLASSES HELPED BUT THERE IS AN INDEX MARK - A RAISED TRIANGLE ON THE INSIDE OF THE RIM [WHERE IT'S NOT BRILLIANTLY EASY TO SEE] SO NIGGLE RETRACTED - VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - HAVE NOW BOUGHT TWO MORE SETS FOR THE TEENAGERS TO GO WITH THEIR HS10'S [OUCH].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filtrs that work, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: Zeikos ZE-FLK58 58mm Multi-Coated 3 Piece Filter Kit (UV-CPL-FLD) (Electronics)
I purchased these for an HS 10 and they really work well - fit for purpose.The filters come in a handy protective case and the polariser is a circular model so it work well.
The service ,delivery and price were all very good.
A satisfactory purchase all round
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars suprising good, 27 Feb 2010
This review is from: Zeikos ZE-FLK58 58mm Multi-Coated 3 Piece Filter Kit (UV-CPL-FLD) (Electronics)
Before purchasing these filters I read alot of reviews about it (on amazon.com).
Most people said their made of plastic, have spots on them and are really bad quality. What do you think you'll get for this price?
I wanted the cheapest UV filter on the market, only for the protection of my lens. This kit included an fld and a cpl filter and I always wanted a polarizing filter, so it was a pretty good deal.

To be honest, these lenses are great. Their made of glass, they come with a handy case and it was just what I needed.
I would recommend it to anyone, except professionals ofcourse. I'm using a canon 450d with a 50mm prime lens and it fits perfectly in my bag and in my budget.
Now I'm off to buy some cheapie ZEIKOS close up filters for macro-photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Glass Filter Set at a Great Price, 30 Jun 2013
By 
GT (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zeikos ZE-FLK58 58mm Multi-Coated 3 Piece Filter Kit (UV-CPL-FLD) (Electronics)
Gave this product 5 stars because I believe that the product itself is excellent and the price is excellent too (as was the delivery service and packaging).

Having recently bought a Fujifilm HS30EXR I wanted to buy something to protect the lense, but seeing the £69.98 price tag of just a plain glass protector

from Fujifilm's UK webshop ( [...] ) I decided to look elsewhere and found this item.
Echoing other reviews on here I was very sceptical that they would be any good at £6.66, but after weighing up all the positive reviews decided to risk it

(it is only the cost of a packet of cigarettes after all). Have to say that I'm very glad that I did risk it. The filters are all very good quality and all

made of glass (not plastic as some people have thought) and having looked very carefully through each, they all appear to be optically perfect as well with

no distortion at all that I can see.

I have used all the filters in test pictures of differing subjects, with the filters both on and off the camera for comparison. The pictures confirm that

there is no optical distortions.

The rotating CPL filter works really well and reduces reflections and glare from glass and water surfaces perfectly. It also means you get several more stops

of aperture to play with. In numerous test shots I got 3 more F stops available with the CPL filter on that were not available without it fitted. The sky and

clouds have much more contrast with the CPL filter fitted too with a deeper blue sky and considerably more defined clouds which were normally washed out

without the filter fitted. I found that the best way to set the rotating CPL filter to maximum polarisation was to point your camera (with filter fitted

obviously) at an LCD screen (my digital watch is ideal and always with me) or laptop screen and rotate the bezel until the screen goes dark.

The Fluorescent (FL-D) filter also gives good results indoors under fluorescent lighting and not using flash. There is a marked difference in the colours of

the produced pictures. With the filter on pictures are much more natural looking, whereas without the filter pictures have that greenish tint which you then

have to correct using photoshop.

As the advert picture shows, the filters come with a neat little faux leather case, which is a bonus, as I would have been pleased with just having the

filters at this price. Tip - Keep the protective plastic resealable bags that the filters come in and put the filters back inside these bags before placing

them back in the very snug fitting compartments inside the case. This will avoid getting bits of the case's red internal lining sticking to the filter

surfaces and also prevents finger smudges.

All in all I'm extremely pleased and very impressed with this filter kit and very happy I took the 'risk'. Trust me, there is no 'risk' involved here. This a

rare and genuine bargain and a useful addition to anybody's camera kit that I would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camera filters, 30 Nov 2011
This review is from: Zeikos ZE-FLK58 58mm Multi-Coated 3 Piece Filter Kit (UV-CPL-FLD) (Electronics)
Excellent quality they work great on my Fujiflim HS20EXR
So far used the UV filer to enhance sky's and clouds and general protect the camera lens on occasions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 1 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Zeikos ZE-FLK58 58mm Multi-Coated 3 Piece Filter Kit (UV-CPL-FLD) (Electronics)
These filters are great value for money. Even the case they come in is worth the money I paid. They fit great on my Fuji HS10 and are made in Japan from glass. The UV filter is pretty much a piece of glass to protect the normal lens and stays permanently fitted.
The polarizer filter is great for pictures of fish or through highly reflective glass (shop windows etc), you just rotate it until the reflections disappear.
Not sure about the flourescent light colour filter's usefulness, as this is something you can do in any graphics program, however I expect many purists to butt in here.
Even with both the UV and polarizer filters fitted, I've taken wide and 30 x zoom images with no noticeable difference in quality. Just a slight drop in brightness.
Overall, a great investment even if just to help protect that all-important bit of glass on the front of your camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No comparison for proper kit, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeikos ZE-FLK58 58mm Multi-Coated 3 Piece Filter Kit (UV-CPL-FLD) (Electronics)
I bought these along with my camera, and they don't compare with proper kit in the least. The only useful filter is the CPL, because white balance is automagically fixed by basically any modern digital camera and UV filters are of dubious usefulness. I know that some photographers promote sticking one on the lens and leaving it there to protect the glass, but the UV filter in this set is completely uncoated and creates horrific glare, making it unsuitable for even this slightly dubious use. In fact, none of these are anti-reflection coated, and it results in more glare and lens flare than a JJ Abrams movie.

If you're desperate for a CPL filter, this *might* be useful for you, but when I'm using one, I tend to be shooting in bright sunlight, and these lenses are no good for it. I'd recommend saving your money and going for something with an antireflective coating. I ended up with a Marumi DHG CPL, which I decided on after reading some detailed reviews at Lenstip - they did a variety of objective tests, and it came near the top for both performance and value. Unfortunately, it does cost eight times more than this set of three lenses, but on the plus side it's >> 8 times more useful.

In favour of this set, it does come with a nice case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 58mm lens filter kit, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Brad Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeikos ZE-FLK58 58mm Multi-Coated 3 Piece Filter Kit (UV-CPL-FLD) (Electronics)
Very good value for money.

I can see no difference in quality between these and exactly the same type and size filters I already have for another camera, which individually cost me much more than this set. The case may not be the best quality that money can buy though more convenient than the usual round plastic cases in which these type of filters are usually supplied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Do a quality check before fitting them, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeikos ZE-FLK58 58mm Multi-Coated 3 Piece Filter Kit (UV-CPL-FLD) (Electronics)
New to digital fotography, I decided to develop my skills using low-cost equipment.The price of this set of filters was just right. I use the UV filter to protect a zoomlens. But the CPL filter did not fit good. Looking closer under magnification I found between the threads a few small lumps about 1/3 size of the thread-thickness. Tiny drops of aluminum with a thin layer of black lacquer on it. Manufacturing faults. I could remove them using dentist tools. Now it works fine. But be warned. Some other reviews also report a bad fit. Such bad threads could damage the thread in your lenses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zeikos ZE-FLK58 58mm Multi-Coated 3 Piece Filter Kit (UV-CPL-FLD), 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zeikos ZE-FLK58 58mm Multi-Coated 3 Piece Filter Kit (UV-CPL-FLD) (Electronics)
I purchased these for my Fujifulm HS30 EXR, very good value for money, brilliant for sunny conditions I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews